We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
157
46
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
46
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkfish rice wild boar stew heated swimming pool off the beaten track hidden away well worth the visit breakfast and dinner this wonderful hotel rooms are clean fruit trees stayed for nights hotel grounds perfect stay five nights hire car relaxing break faro airport
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food, brilliant breakfasts and quality evening meals. Service was friendly but efficient. Rooms were in good order and spotlessly clean. Kettle available in room but guests need to bring your own tea, coffee etc. Each room could do with an A-Z directory of amenities, although staff were only too willing to help. Swimming pool a bonus plus well tended garden with numerous shady nooks.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aliduy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helder M, Proprietário at Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

We thank you for your comment :)

We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you used your time spent at the Hotel to explore our garden and the Hotel in its self.
The Country-side, is a magic place!!

Regarding the Kettle in the rooms, it has been all the time more frequent that people bring their own Tee and coffee with them.
But, we have always plenty of verities of Tee and also Coffee in the Bar that you can request whenever you would like to enjoy one of these in your room...

It has also always someone smiling behind the Bar that is ready to serve you.

We really hope to see you again and to welcome you soon in our place!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We first holidayed here in 2017 and in that review I focussed mainly on the hotel and staff; this review is more about the restaurant. The restaurant has been moved to a much more suitable location and makes for a more pleasant dining experience. As always the owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is superb and you can expect it to be fresh. The fruit, veg, eggs and goat's cheese are very locally sourced within the hotel grounds. The menu isn't hugely extensive, but then you wouldn't expect it to be at a good quality restaurant and the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant is also open to the public, so booking is necessary, even if you are staying at the hotel.
As for prices, well it depends what you choose to eat and how much you drink. There is a tempting wine cellar and reasonably stocked bar that could bump prices up, but for a bottle of low end priced Portuguese wine, it is 10 euros and if my memory serves correctly, a vegetarian main course is between 10-12 euros. For a few more euros each there is chicken or lamb (more choices available this is just what we had). My favourite was monkfish rice and razor clams which was a bit more expensive again. I don't remember what we paid for starters etc, but none of it broke the bank and we ate there five nights on the trot.
As other reviewers have said, this hotel is rural, so it's fantastic the restaurant is so good. Expect to drive a least 5km to find somewhere else to eat. The views are amazing too and later in the evening you can hear the owls!

Room Tip: There are new rooms called Panoramic and they look good
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

After touring Portugal for a week, we finished our 2 weeks holidays in this hotel and it was just perfect. The rooms (sparkling clean) on the ground floor are big enough for a family of 4, the staff is faultless, always very kind and very helpful. It was really a pleasure to chat with them everyday. The food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent and diverse (and we stayed long enough to test most of it) with very good fresh vegetarian/pescatarian alternatives. Exhaustive wine list. The pool food was very good too. All very well priced. We liked the fact that the hotel was only 10 minutes drive from Tavira, 30 minutes from Faro airport but well isolated from hoards of tourists, quiet and very restful. The pool area and the animals feeding kept the children well entertained. We will try to come back! Thank you for this wonderful relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Families on the ground floor where the biggest rooms are located. All rooms are similar and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ohmalou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely 5 days relaxing at this small rural hotel. Food in restaurant very good, snacks round the pool delightful and served by the lovely Martina (always helpful and a smile on her face). Lovely ambience. Loved the donkey, chickens, geese, peacocks etc, lovely area for the children to visit. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 450kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Helpful staff who took our bags (they were the cleaners, so not normal for them to take luggage to the rooms), nice rooms, good breakfast, nice dinners (though they did forget our reservations) and a good view across the countryside to the sea. Close enough to drive daily to beaches (Isla da Tavira is special, though it requires a short boat trip ).

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews