We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful tranquility......”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Nirvana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Liz T
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissful tranquility......”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been taking our relaxation break in September and in the Eastern Algarve for over 20 years now, and have rented many properties, all very different. Casa Nirvana is set in idyllic hillside surroundings not too far from Tavira, a favourite location for us, and about 20 minutes from this beautiful house. It is very secluded and quite remote, this makes it the ideal place to totally relax and unwind, and we did. The property is unique and has obviously been built with love by the owner Dhiren who told us he built Casa Nivana 25 years ago. I think the inside clearly reflects the owner's peaceful character, it was exactly as the beautiful photos on the website indicated. Both my husband and myself slept very well, the area is just so quiet and at night just peace and a clear, clear night sky free from light pollution, the star gazing was incredible. The decor and layout of the house is very unique, Dhiren told us that one of the rooms was often used for yoga, and I can imagine that meditation would be easy in the totally tranquil surroundings, I could feel the stresses of the preceding year just melt away - bliss. The cobalt blue pool was just beautiful and warm days and balmy evenings meant my last swim of the day was often just before supper, a fact that made my sister back in the UK very jealous as she was turning her central heating on back at home! My husband would even swim late at night as he said the cooler night air made the water feel even warmer. It was glorious and totally private. All the facilities were adequate for our needs. We cooked some excellent meals, including fresh fish from the market in Tavira, barbecues of course, chicken, rabbit, pork and fish with lovely salads, and all so cheap compared to English prices. We were mindful not to use the BBQ if it was too windy, but this certainly didn't spoil our enjoyment. All in all, a most beautiful location, unique and relaxing house lovingly restored by the owner. A perfect fortnight thank you, and we're looking forward to returning in Sept 2015 xxx

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was completely remote and relaxing, the house was ideal for just getting away from it all
Liked least: A longer drive than usual to the nearest town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0l60
north west england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Warning be aware”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On the 12th October we arrived along a 1Km track to find Casa Nirvana,this date will be in our memory for years to come,somewhat a nightmare experience.We were shown around by the owner Dhiren van den Bergh,who told us proudly that he had built this Casa.As the weather was not too good Dhiren told us that he had taped some of the window frames as the rain had been coming through.He also had put large rocks at some of the doors so would we not open these.As the day went on the wind and rain started,one of the windows in the Bathroom you could actually sit on the loo and see daylight under that window frame!
Time to eat and cook some Dinner.We had asked Dhiren if we could use a small eletric oven that was in the Kitchen as I am not used to a gas oven,no problem that would be fine.Cooking Dinner was a marathon,the lights kept flickering and the gas hob didn't seem much use.Glad I was using the electric oven as the gas one seemed to be dropping to bits,All in all it took almost 2 hours to do some new potatoes and Chicken Breast.So to bed,the matress was so hard neither of us could get to sleep and at 3am we both got up and sat all night in a chair.There were no drawers or wardrobes in the house and everything seemed damp.Clothes were hung on a rail or put into something like a vegetable rack.When we go away on Holiday we do expect something better than home,this place was totally unacceptable and we realised we just couldn't stay.When you book you are not given the location until all money has been paid,this is not good enough.
We rang Dhiren the 13th October and told him we could not stay any longer.He did come over to the house to see if he could make anything better but what could he do when this house is just unacceptable.This nights stay was very expensive as we would not be getting any refund as Dhiren felt his house was in good order.We obviously won't be booking again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
This is a respond on the review of Mr. Gregory. I am the owner of Casa Nirvana.

We are very surprised at this review giving the information that is provided
by our website and our experience of hosting numerous visitors to the
Algarve in our home.

Mr and Mrs Gregory spent les then 24 hours in my home and their behaviour was
both unreasonable and inconsiderate. I arrived within one hour of discovering
that they wanted to move out. I believe that the unusual wet weather in
October this year, combined with their desire not to be remote, triggered Mr
Gregory into looking for problems that did not exist, to try and persuade me
to return his money.


I have been renting my home to holidaymakers for some time now and to date,
can honestly say we have received nothing but praise from my guests.
It is my intention to write to some of my previous guests and ask them if
they would be prepared to write a review on this site to convey their
experience.

That said, may I address some of the points raised.

My web site clearly states the location as just outside the village of
Estominhos, yet Mr Gregory complains that the location was withheld until he
had paid in full for the booking. This is not the case. This property is
remote and no attempt is made to hide that fact. Indeed the photos indicate
the remoteness as does the accompanying text.
Complaining about the property because of its remoteness when we clearly
indicate that it is remote, surely is not a valid criticism.

Had I known their age, I may have in fact tried to put them off from
booking, but again it is clear from the web site, where it states that the
good local restaurants are 6km away and that a car is essential because of
the property being remote.

The kitchen is well equipped with a gas oven with 4 gas rings, a separate
wok burner with 3 gas rings for high temperature fast cooking and a separate
smaller electric hot air oven.

We use this kitchen daily and we are at a loss as to how anyone could take 2
hours to cook a simple meal in this well equipped kitchen.

The beds are high quality orthopaedic beds. We purchased these beds as I am
a therapist who is well aware of the benefits of such beds to a persons well
being.

Regarding the windows, every winter, I add additional draft and rain
barriers to the property for my own comfort. This is not normally required
when I have guests as they come in the good weather. October this year was
unusually wet, so I brought forward my winter protection. The property is
not damp. I did point out the window protection on the one balcony window
and a door to Mr Gregory and there would have been no need for him to open
these particular doors and windows, given the inclement weather, in the few
hours they were in my home.

Built in wardrobes are not a feature of a typical Portuguese property. There
is plenty of space for storing and hanging clothes.

When I arrived shortly after they had called me to discuss their ‘problems’,
they were already packed and loading their car. They gave me no opportunity
to discuss their concerns. Their minds were already made up and all they
wanted was their money returned so they could move into a hotel in a local
town.

In order to accommodate them, I had move out of my home and paid for
alternative accommodation. In addition, their complaints had no substance.
Their decision to put such a damaging complaint on a website without
allowing any discussion or attempt at resolving any issue indicates the
nature and purpose of their thinking and statements. The aim appears to be
to cause damage rather than to admit any liability in choosing a property in
a remote area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MASSART...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adesfonta...
Albert, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La maison et son environnement
Liked least: Accessibilité et absence d'internet sans abonnement onéreux
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing