We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We'll definitely be back...is next month too soon?”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Quinta de Agriboa

The Quinta is surrounded by a beautiful valley that catches the sun from dawn until sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quinta is surrounded by a beautiful valley that catches the sun from dawn until sunset.
A beautifully lit 15x8 metre swimming pool is the focal point of the garden. Made for relaxation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Quinta is surrounded by a beautiful valley that catches the sun from dawn until sunset.
A beautifully lit 15x8 metre swimming pool is the focal point of the garden.
Made for relaxation.
Perfect for a dip.
Quinta's barbeque and seating area. Flagstones from the old house make up the table.
Perfect for al fresco dining or simply enjoying the sunshine.
The villa is set in four acres of its own land with it's own small vineyard.
Bright and spacious, with lots of natural light the public rooms are open plan.
Leading off the 3 balconies are views over the Labruja valley.
The Quinta has 6 bedrooms in total, sleeping up to 14 people.
All bedrooms on the lower floor are en suite The bathroom upstairs is suitable for wheelchair users.
The large wooden dining table was made by local craftsmen and can sit 14 people.
The Minho region is one of the undiscovered gems of Europe, dubbed the 'new' Tuscany.
The Minho region offers a diverse range of sporting activities at very competitive prices.
Playing golf at Ponte de Lima and Estella is a highlight of the holiday.
Praia do Cabedello lies along the stunning coastline north of Viana do Castello.
Plenty of opportunity for sunbathing, swimming and other water sports.
Many shops can be found in nearby Ponte de Lima, including small boutiques and coffee shops.
Ponte de Lima offers a wide variety of restaurants, from everyday meals to fine dining.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Ponte de Lima, Viana do Castelo District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alan M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“We'll definitely be back...is next month too soon?”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our first trip to Portugal and most certainly won't be our last. Having spent a few busy days in Lisbon before heading north we were ready to chill out and soak up the charm and tranquility of our new home away from home. Quinta de Agriboa delivered on all counts. The villa is fantastically located and offers a panoramic view of the local countryside. The surrounding vineyards and working farms certainly add to the allure and beauty of the place. We wanted for nothing during our one week stay. The rooms were very well appointed; the kitchen and dining facilities were excellent; and the pool was a welcome respite from the summer sun. The villa is also a great jumping off point from which to visit other local sites. I can't say enough about the closest town, Ponte de Lima. Great atmosphere and wonderful restaurants. There are also several local attractions that are within walking distance and the trips though the old paths and trails are as interesting as the destinations themselves. We also found a fantastic Geocache just one kilometer from the villa. If you don't know what geocaching is just Google it. Our cache was aptly named - Hidden Treasure. Go find it...you'll be glad you did. All in all our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return again soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jandi Y
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quinta de Agriboa is worth coming back to.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

This was our second stay at Quinta de Agriboa, and it was just as lovely as our first. My parents were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in 2013 so eight adults and six kids, 7 -14yrs, congregated at Quinta de Agriboa over 3 weeks of splendid sunshine in honour of the occasion. The villa itself is beautiful, spacious and full of character as features of the original building have been incorporated into the new. We loved to stand and look out from the original balcony and watch the local folk tending their vineyards. The ample pool proved very popular, and the gentle, cooling beeeze in the surrounding garden was delightful. A local lady came and cooked a traditional Portueguese meal for us which was a fabulous experience. When we managed to drag the kids away from the villa we often visited nearby Ponte de Lima, a place of charm with fantastic bakeries, local grocers and shops, many wonderful restaurants and markets. The children even swam in the river with the locals there. There's plenty to do in the area, lovely towns and beaches to discover, or activities to undertake. But the real beauty of Quinta de Agriboa is the villa and its land, a place where family and friends can enjoy good food and wine together, take time together, in a tranquill and relaxing environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the idyllic and relaxing location
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen h
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was our second stay at Quinta de Agriboa - and again it delivered on every aspect of our holiday. It provided a great central meeting point for family situated around the world - London, Glasgow, Colombo, Warsaw, with somethings for adults and chlidren alike.

The villa is huge...so even with 14 of us (7 adults, 7 children), we all had our own space aplenty - living, sleeping and storage.

The grounds are enclosed and enormous, the pool is built to the scale of the house, so the children were able to run about, swim and explore to their hearts content. There were plenty of chairs and loungers for everyone, so we could join in with them...or watch them with a chilled glass of vino verde.

Quinta de Agriboa, whilst secluded in a beautiful valley surrounded by farmland, tiny villages each with their own picture postcard churches, is within 10 minutes of the beautiful village of Ponte de Lima, where you can shop, eat and drink very well for not a lot of money. There are even a couple of takeaways that will deliver to the Quinta!

It's also no more than 30-40 minutes drive to the beach, less than 15 minutes to the golf course and less than an hour from the fantastic city of Porto.

However, with the views from the sun lounger, the beers and wine in the fridge and the ability to let your children play in a safe environment...there really is no need to leave the villa.

Can't wait til the next visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart M
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
“This villa offers a great opportunity to explore a beautiful and less visited area of Portugal.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Quinta de Agriboa provides fantastic self catering accommodation for a large group. The villa is very spacious and is well appointed and has been tastefully furnished. Set within large grounds, there is a great swimming pool ,barbecue , and outdoor seating areas. The rural location of the villa is excellent for a relaxing ,chill out style holiday. There is excellent information available in the villa about local amenities and places of interest. We sampled a number of local restaurants where we had fantastic meals, and local wine at very reasonable prices. We went on some excursions to the nearby towns of Ponte de Lima and Vianna do Costello where there was opportunity for sightseeing, shopping, and visiting bars, restaurants and cafes in historic and bustling towns. Through visiting local bars and shops we met some of the local people who we found were exceptionally friendly ,welcoming and helpful to visitors to their area. All in all the villa and the beautiful location provide location for a great holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the spacious feel of the property so that even with a big group there was lots of room for relaxation.
Liked least: There were no aspects of the villa that we didn't enjoy.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G
Stornoway, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for relaxing or exploring in Northern Portugal”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Qunita de Agriboa is a beautifully appointed villa nestling in the green hills of one of Europe's hidden gems - Portugal's Minho region. For a larger group (the villa caters for up to 14 people), this is an ideal base. The accommodation is excellent, the pool is superb and the large garden area means that there is ample room for everyone to relax. Despite its seclusion, historic towns like Ponte de Lima and Viana do Costello are within easy reach, the Atlantic coast and beaches are only 30 minutes away and there are plenty of activities - golf, kayaking, horse riding, fishing - available close by. For those venturing further afield, the National Park is a stunning attraction, while the Douro region and Spain's Galicia are recommended day trips.
The relaxed pace of life is catching and long, lazy days can be rounded off with a barbecue or a visit to one of the local restaurants, where good food is real value for money.
Roads are excellent and a car is a must to make the most of the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - very private but so much within easy reach.
Liked least: The rough and ready winding track leading to the villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing