We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
24
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
24
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique furniture large room no elevator old style cellar square suite vault
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I visited Levoca in September 2017 for a couple of days. The rooms in Arkada could be modern but there are some rooms furnished in old style. I opted for the old ones and we really liked it. The hotel staff is lovely, very kind and helpful. All our requests and wishes were fully met.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnsn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Where to start ... it was a combination of great and no-so-wonderful. This hotel has a great location right in the center of town. It has several floors, but no elevator that we were aware of. We arrived late and the woman at the front desk kindly allowed us to check in after dinner so that we could get to the restaurant before they closed for the evening. The food was very good, and our waiter, Adam, very friendly and helpful. We had booked their 2 "suites" - what a hoot! We dubbed them the "elegant" one and the "quirky" one. The elegant one, where our traveling companions stayed, was decorated in 1860's style with antique furniture. It wasn't really a suite but rather a huge room with a sitting area and a sleeping area defined by a screen blocking off the bed. The bathroom was very large and decorated in black and white tiles. Our quirky "suite", again just a very large room, but with a vaulted ceiling, was a mish-mash of over-the-top 1960's and 1970's furniture with some antique pieces thrown in here and there (leftovers from the other suite?!). We've never seen anything quite like it - it's hard to describe! The rooms had big-screen TVs, but there were no English channels. The rooms were clean, but showing their age. There was chipped and scuffed paint, doors held closed with wads of Kleenex, burned out light bulbs (which they did replace when we asked), one door had no knob and the bedside lamps were so dim as to be worthless. The duvets were lumpy and there were no mattress pads on the beds, which was kind of icky. The WiFi wasn't password protected, which we didn't like. The bathrooms were very large and had a good amount of storage space. But there were just 2 tiny hooks for towels and the showers had noticeable mold and mildew. The faucet on our sink was difficult to use and needed to be replaced. Breakfast was in their restaurant and was fine with a modest selection of meats and cheeses and cereals with the option of ordering eggs off the menu - great soft boiled eggs here. As for the staff - they could use some work. The one woman could not (would not?) provide any maps, either of the area or the town, despite the fact that I could see them on the shelf behind her. (I finally got them from a lovely lady at the Barbakan Hotel). She was polite, but that was about it. Another man barely acknowledged our existence and seemed put out when I asked for a hair dryer. My dad in the US sent us a fax here, but it was never delivered to us. There was a young man who was friendly and tried to get light bulbs for us. But it was Milan who saved the day. He was very friendly and helpful, eager to see that we had what we needed and that we'd have a good visit. He suggested places to see, filled us in on what was going on in town, recommended restaurants, and was interested in hearing about "what's life like in the U.S. these days?" If it weren't for him, our opinion of the hotel might be less favorable - he was great. The hotel wasn't bad, but I'm undecided as to whether I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Wonderfully extravagant and slightly decadent in a 1950's sort of way - deliciously large room and exceptionally nice staff. We stayed for two nights in mid October and had the hotel, fall foliage, and town virtually to ourselves. Slovakia has not yet caught up to the trend of a coffee pot in every room, so early risers need to wait out the opening of cafes or hotel dining rooms for their shot of joe. Excellent central location to walk the town center, enjoy (relish!) the wooden alter of Master Paul, and visit the several small but well done museums. Evening walks around the virtually complete city wall a must. By American/Western European standards and prices this is a real bargain! While not a "Budget" hotel by any means it is steal, even given the wear of the soviet era bathrooms.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square and bring eye covers, as the street lights and large windows let a lot of light in.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

+ refubrished rooms, very nice
+ free wi-fi
+ location in city centre

- apart from rooms, everything was very old not very representative, including a grandmother behind the front desk
- paid car park between 9-17
- not very comfortable bed
- breakfast was like from 1985, still the same
- reception located in 1st floor, very strange
- no lift

Room Tip: room facing the square
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JAROSLAV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Despite the photos which seem to indicate these rooms are a little tacky, they all feel brand new. Infact, you wouldn't know you were in a historic building with a brand new bathroom, smart TVs in all rooms and all new furniture and carpets.
Breakfast/dinner is served in a cellar, which is also kinda cool, although the breakfast wasn't great (stale bread and pretty limited selection). Nevertheless, this is a pretty solid hotel given the cheap price.
Levoca itself (despite the guidebooks) is pretty uneventful. The main square is interesting, but after a few minutes walking around it, that's about it for the town. Immediately off the town square returns to pretty drab buildings. The main church has the largest (or so they claim) wooden Gothic alter in the world (it is big).

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Jungl3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews