We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
150
268
106
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
268
106
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationold townthe penthousetwo single bedswithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsplace to sleepbottled waterbig windowsnice hotelbuffet breakfastcentral locationreception stafftrain stationroom was largebeautiful cityair condition
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

Everthig was just as we thought it was. Receptionist was most helpful, friendly. We had an room update and everything went smoothly. Breakfast was ample & tasty. I can recommend this hotel. I read some comment, we're people complained about everything, my suggestion to them stay at a 5***** hotel,but the Kolonna is really value for money. I nearly forgot the hotel manageress went out of her way to help us with airline boarding passes and taxi. If we get back to Riga,we sure will stay in the Kolonna again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

This hotel is in a fantastic location but I have to say the rooms are basic as is the breakfast. We were four ladies on this trip and I'm sad to say that two of us were robbed of English Money this was taken out of our purses which were in our suitcases. Both ladies robbed were in different rooms (See response from management on the Facebook page) We did inform the staff on duty who implied that we were liars. As the only person who had access to our rooms was the housekeeper and the management said they checked cctv and our room cards we can only assume who it was. Please ask for a safe as we were not informed of this at all. Lesson learned. We did have a great time in Riga and would recommend going. The fillet steak served in the Queens round the corner is fab.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missvivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

The Kolonna Hotel is situated in an ideal location in the beautiful old town of Riga. We stayed for 4 nights as 4 ladies enjoying a city break. The hotel is basic. Breakfast is basic. Most of the staff are friendly, particularly the night staff. However our experience worsened on our 3rd night when it was discovered that English money had been stolen from both rooms to the total amount of £80. We approached the night staff immediately and was informed they would take steps to look into it. The next morning we approached the receptionist who told us they would check the cctv and the information stored on our electronic door key. However the hotel have basically called us liars and stated "we can guarantee that this can't happen at this hotel" (see our review on the hotel page on Facebook and their pathetic response). Well it did happen and the only other people we know entered our rooms were the cleaners. We were also told by the snotty receptionist that we should have asked for a safe in the reception. We were not informed on checking in that this facility was available and when we said this we were told "it's not our responsibility to tell you, you should have asked". Again dismissive and unprofessional!! I therefore recommend anyone staying at this hotel to not leave money in the room. I will leave it to the reader to conclude who could have taken this money. Poor poor customer services!!!!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank joread2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Kolonna. The room was nice, with a great view of old town and the staff was friendly and helpful and since the hotel is in the middle of old town it's very easy to go sightseeing even on foot, thumbs up!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

This Hotel is in an excellent location. We arranged our transfer from the airport with the Hotel ; this was very efficient - we paid 30euro at reception when we arrived (this is for the pick up and the return trip for two people) - very good service. From airport to room check in 30 Minutes!
Our room was clean and warm and adequate for our 4 nights ; liquid soap, and shower gel , with ample towels were provided. At breakfast there was a good choice of meats, croissants tea/coffee, juices, cereals hot dog sausages and scrambled eggs - plenty of everything.
Staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews