We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Excellent hotel for a business trip to Riga. Rooms weren't fancy, but were well laid out and comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a splendid choice. The Albert is themed for Mr Einstein in a witty and intelligent way. But it's more than that. It's an efficient, well-run hotel with high standards throughout, yet rooms are available at very reasonable rates and the price includes an excellent breakfast. You can park underneath the building and the hotel is easy to find if you're driving. Try the top floor bar but get there early if you want a decent seat. It's a bit noisy but, hey, you're on holiday. Chill with the locals.

It's right next to the wonderful Art Nouveau buildings but a little walk from the Old Town - although you could enjoy walking through the parks in better weather (ie when it's not snowing!)

I'm sure the hotel restaurant is decent but (as they are normally boring) you might want to try somewhere else. Standing with your back to the entrance, turn right, then first left and there's a selection including, our choice, the Flying Frog.

Room Tip: As always, higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Tidy, stylish, comfortable, affodable, located close enough to everything.

I would recommend Albert Hotel to anyone wisiting Riga. It´s pricing is very affordable, and it looks and feels like much more expensive hotel from inside, dont mind the outside look. It is also closer to Old Town and other attractions than you think by looking at the map.

Rooms are large enough, very clean and comfortable. WiFi works even in the 9th floor. Dont forget to check the 11th floor Sky bar happy hour also. Nice view over the rooftops of Riga (9th floor) and not too much noise from the street (which is not too crowded). Souvenir shop, money exchange and a nice liquour plus tobacco/cigar shop just accross the street. Also a restaurant "Burga" accros the street, which I do not recommend though.

Room Tip: we were on the 9th floor, wifi worked there, nice view and not too much noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja55e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed two days and one night in the Albert Hotel over the Easter weekend in April.

Hotel: the hotel decor is Albert Einstein themed, which we really liked - the quirky clocks behind the reception desk, the quotations in each room and all over the hotel, even the "Who tall are you" chart by the main lifts made the place special and fun. The interior design is very modern, but not clinical like so many "design" hotels can end up looking - bright colours and great lighting made for a very cozy interior. Also everything was spotlessly clean. The outdoor terrace on the top floor is a fantastic asset and a great place to enjoy a coffee with a wonderful view over Riga's rooftops when the sun is shining. The hotel is located in the Art Nouveau district of Riga, but within walking distance of the ferry terminal and the Old Town.

Service: We were served our whole stay by a delightful trainee called Joanna. She was extremely helpful, very sweet, and took care of every little thing we needed with a smile and a genuine desire to help and make our stay in Riga as stress-free and pleasant as possible: restaurant reccommendations, ordering taxis, suggestions for things to see and do, etc. She did a wonderful job and made us feel very welcome and right at home - I hope she will get promoted, she derserves it!

I would definitely reccommend Albert Hotel for anyone visiting Riga! And at only ca. 50 euros a night for the room, I can't believe you would find a better located, higher quality option in the city. Full marks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Albert hotel is a nice hotel. I have no negative memories to this hotel.

The rooms were clean, we had once a hair on our sheets, but staff immediately changed the sheets. (We came out of our room and there was a staffmember checking the hall, and he asked everything was fine, so we told him about the hair... Otherwise we would never complain about it).

There is also a very nice bar at the upper floor of the hotel. Delicious cocktails and snacks with sweeping views over the city of Riga.
Also the restaurant offers excellent service in a very nice environment. Also a special refer to the waitress who did her job superb.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bram_Snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.3 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 112 in Riga
697 reviews
2 km away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
0.5 km away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#7 of 112 in Riga
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 112 in Riga
990 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $100 - $2,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing