We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at the Old City Boutique Hotel on a Tuesday night in a single room. The location of the hotel is, of course, perfect and it was a convenient base as everyone said. The lobby decorations are very nice also and my bed was comfortable. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a few reasons: 1- I think the staff aren't particularly interested in their guests and customer service doesn't seem to be a high priority at all. 2- The room I got had a window facing into, essentially, a wall, and I think it would be fair to notify guests that there would be no natural light (or no privacy). 3- The breakfast, while extensive, was never more than lukewarm. There are some better hotels in Riga Old Town for the same price, so the value argument doesn't make sense here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights over Valentine's day this year. The hotel had more of a modern feel to it than I expected but the room itself was of a good standard and had everything you would expect for a fairly good price. The bed could have been more comfortable but was definitely adequate, and the heated bathroom floor was definitely a plus when you step out of the shower! Location is superb being in the heart of the old town and all of the main attractions of Riga are a short walk away. Breakfast was included in the price and was decent without being spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend decided to stay here as the location was perfect! We didn't realise on booking the holiday that there were two separate buildings both old and modern. We would have preferred to of stayed in the modern part but room 32 in the old part was adequate enough and fairly quiet. The only thing bad about the room was the choice of bed throw and the picture's above the bed stead, but nothing that couldn't be helped (but you get what you pay for). We really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast buffet was really nice and had a wide variety of food to choose from. The bar area and it's staff were great and food/cocktails were excellent. Overall a good stay and would recommend to anyone visting Riga as said before the location was ideal.

Room Tip: We advise room 32 if you decide to stay in the old part of the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights. It was my boyfriend's 1st time in Riga and he was pleasantly surprised with the standard of this hotel having traveled extensively throughout Europe. Great value for money, excellent location, excellent staff especially the reception staff. Although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, the buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety to suit all tastes.

The only minor disappointment was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the street noise when the window is open but apart from that the room was warm and cosy, nice decor, a decent size and we loved the heated floor in the bathroom.

We would definitely stay again and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor at the front for a great view of the surrounding rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank birdieistravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here from 30th Nov - 4th Dec 2011... and we had a wonderful time. Our room was gorgeous with exposed brick work and lovely clean spotless bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar staff were a little sullen - but their lovely cocktails made up for it! Breakfast was delicious and always steaming hot.
Old City Boutique Hotel, is incredibly central to anywhere that you want to get to. Literally a stones throw from the bridge that takes you over the river and park, or a stones throw in the other dircetion to St Peters church or a gorgeous restaurant called Domini Canes, and a friendly little Kiwi Bar! There were x-mas markets setting up on every corner whilst we were there and the next weekend was due to be a very busy one. We found it was very quiet whilst we were there. We loved the hotel, but probably wouldnt rush back to Riga, as you can walk round the city in one day and then there isnt much else to do other than eat. drink or shop! None of which were a huge effort for us!! :-p

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank no_prawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#6 of 111 in Riga
676 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
1.2 km away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
812 reviews
0.2 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 km away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#31 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $77 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing