We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
USD 217*
USD 188*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 113*
USD 88*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 238*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta(Riga)(Great Value!)
USD 75*
USD 65*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 211*
USD 186*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 170*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 160*
USD 145*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
USD 83*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 212*
USD 185*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 140*
USD 135*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
104
103
52
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
103
52
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the squareexecutive roomqueens pubold townsister hotelrestaurant downstairsfree wififour nightsbottled waterlocation is fantasticbreakfast was excellentlarge roomcentral locationweekend breakgreat roomthe buscomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 4 nights in June 2017. We had the hotel help us with booking transfer from the airport to the hotel when we arrived, but when we came to the airport there was no one waiting for us. So we got into a regular cab that actually turned out to be cheaper than our first option.

When we came to the hotel and told them that our pick up hadn't shown up they just said 'Oh'

The air circulation in our room was terrible and we couldn't open a window. The last day we looked under the bed and its was so disgusting, tons of dust and a really really old lemon. The place hasn't seen a vacuum cleaner for at least 3 weeks... yuk.

It wasn't at all the standard it said it would be. The shower was broken and the breakfast was lame. The food at the restaurant was at least ok.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

location of this hotel is very good and convenient. We were a party of two adults and two kids at €110 a night plus €25 got valet parking.
We arrived and were given a room on the third floor. When we entered the room, it was too small for four. I was told this was the biggest double room. If we wanted a larger room we would have to pay 200 EUR extra. I refuse it

I was told there was free parking and upon arrival realized it was 20 mins walk away. Not very convenient. However, we could use their valet service for €25 a night. Each time I needed the car it would take them 25mins to get it to me. The wifi was very poor and there was a lot of noise outside till 2am every night.

The customer service was Horrific they only talked Latvian and had trouble understanding me. I travel a lot, and know that you get what you pay for - but the customer service here was some of the worst. As this hotel purports to be a 5*, this is not even close to acceptable.
Avid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. It is expensive and not value for money.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Firstly, the location of this hotel is very good.
Unfortunately that is where the good points end. We arrived and were given a room on the third floor. When we entered the room, it was as hot as a sauna, with the air conditioning blowing hot air. It could not be adjusted to anything lower than hot air, and when I tried to open the window I found that the handle was hanging off of it.
We called reception who sent up the "maintenance" man, who turned out to be a security guard who knew nothing about air conditioning.
The total staff at the hotel at 7pm on a friday evening appeared to be a receptionist, a secrity man and a bar man. We went back to reception and asked to be moved - at which point a 45 minute ordeal ensued. Unfortunately the receptionist was clearly out of her depth and did not know how to resolve the situation. We were told that the aircon was broken and would not be fixed until monday (we were leaving on sunday), so we asked to be moved to a room where the AC works. Apparently of the 30 rooms, the AC was broken in 20. The receptionist clearly knew this before assigning our room, and yet didnt say anything, and then sent the "maintenance" man up for the charade of repairing it.
We were told there were no rooms that they could move us to where the AC works - so we asked to speak to a manager. No manager was on site, and nobody was contactable. We were then offered a room at their sister hotel, but a quick seach on TA showed it to be even worse (and given we had paid more to stay at the Royal Square and no refund of the difference was offered), we refused.
Eventually we were offered an executive room, if we were willing to pay the difference in rate (the exec room was 4 times the price of our standard double!). We refused, stating that we had paid for a room with AC and it was the hotels obligation to provide this to us. Que a lot of talking in Latvian, where we were made to feel very uncomfortable, and eventually after a lot of complaints the manager was somehow called and we were moved.
The standard room we had first is probably the equivalent of a tired 3* in the UK, but the customer service at the hotel was basically non-existent.
We can echo the comments about the breakfast - it was very basic and not replenished. Additionally my partner felt ill all day after eating a boiled egg.

I have traveled a lot, and know that you get what you pay for - but the customer service here was some of the worst I have encountered. As this hotel purports to be a 5*, this is not even close to acceptable.

My advice would be to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zeroquai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We got a standard double room for a good price (€70 a night). For this price that included breakfast and the relaxation room with sauna/jacuzzi, we got a lot of value. On the other hand I would strongly disagree that this is not a 5 star hotel. Check-in was delayed, no bellboy, and at times unmanned reception. The breakfast was adequate but not lavish as you may expect, but If you ask for it, you'll at least get a cappuccino...
My tip to the hotel: drop one star and expect far more satisfied guests/reviewers.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank reisedreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had beer in the bar of the hotel. It was quiet and clean. We were the only guests there, but the bartender was attentive and gave us good suggestions. It was nice to seat there in the middle of downtown and enjoy the sunshine and peace.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews