We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but average hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location but average hotel...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is located in the center of Old Riga, very convienient as many tourist sights, restaurants, etc. are in walking distance. However, despite the relatively high price, the hotel was at most average. The reception desk people were nice and helpful but the room was very noisy. I am very rarely annoyed by noise, but this place was very noisy throughout all night. The bed was very small and the restroom didn't have the usual bath foam, shampoo etc. usually offered.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street side as it can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAlhazred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    326
    145
    38
    10
See reviews for
114
228
56
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is in the very center of Old Riga. Just a walking distance from the different tourist spots. Restaurants of different cuisines lies at the back of this hotel too. 200 meters away, you can find a big mall, so shopping will be hassle free. The receptionists were nice and very helpful...The room we had was not so shabby either. It was cleaned and we got new towels everyday during our 3D&2N stay. Breakfast was very simple, nothing too special or latvish about it, well except for their TV programs that was almost dubbed in their language.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiaishines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had to visit Riga for work and this hotel was picked for me by my Latvian colleague, as it was centrally located.
As everybody notes, the location is great, right in the centre of Riga so everything within walking distance. The hotel is opposite a big mall with a large supermarket and close to a number of restaurants and bars (incl. the hotel's own restaurant- the fish appetisers and desserts there are great!). Sadly I was there during the week of the European big freeze so at -20C and even colder I didn't really see much else of the city.
The hotel room was what I need for a work trip- clean decent sized room, fast internet, comfy bed, and English language telly. And with a big freeze going on, well working central heating!
The decor in the room, and especially bathroom was not particularly high design or fancy but as I was there to work & sleep it was fine.
No complementary toiletries are offered in the bathroom apart from soap in the shower and at the sink, so bring your own toothbrush. The shower came with a shower curtain, something I haven't seen in a hotel in a fair few years, it felt like visiting my nan.
My room was on the street side of the hotel, and even though the room has double glazing I could still hear people talking and yelling at night. I always bring earplugs so no problem for me but just something to keep in mind.
The reception staff was very helpful and informative and like most people in Latvia, the staff spoke reasonable to good English.
The breakfast is had in the restaurant. I wasn't too happy with not having the ham&cheese and milk in cooled stands but other than that it was ok. They only have normal filter coffee so we went in the mall afterwards to get a proper espresso. The mall has a few places that do coffee, breakfast and cakes, as well as a supermarket to pick up water (as you can't drink the tap water).

A tip, at the end of the first floor corridor with the hotel rooms on the street side, there is a small but informative exhibition on the history of the building since the Middle Ages.

Room Tip: For the nicotine addicts- they still have smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank synnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Konventa Seta Hotel is nicely placed in one of Old Town Riga's quiet streets. Literally everything worth seeing is within walking distance. Our room was very spacious, with comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. The only disappointment for us was the breakfast, which was rather basic. We ate at the hotel the first two days, but then decided to buy freshly baked bread at the local grocery store instead (about 50m down the street).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

It has really great location - in the heart of Old Riga! And there are very friendly staff. We had great view to the cathedral and Christmas tree in the yard. Room was cleaned up every day, but bed sheets weren't changed for 8 days (we leaved a huge black stain on it during the first night).
I would recommend that hotel to everyone, but there were some unpleasant things -
1) Our room was too dark - we need to switch on about 5 lamps to see something. And there is no central switching-off device (I mean something near the door that helps you to switch everything off just pulling out the card).
2) The problem with canalization in shower - water in the cabin drained so badly. We had only 7 minutes to take shower, because otherwise water started to overflow!

Room Tip: Ask for some room with the view not to the bar in the yard (it's too noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viksss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 km away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 km away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 km away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price range (per night): $56 - $329
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing