We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but unbelievably not good!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheap & Good Apartments
Ranked #104 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The first thing I would say is that I had no problem with the staff their at all. They were nice people and helped us with getting taxi's and telling us where places are.

Now the bad part
- Nazi symbol on the wall as you entered the building

- Dirty bathroom, now this goes further into things such as mold growing in the shower, dirty mirror, dirty toilet paper, dirty floor. The toilet brush was indescribable.

- The room that me and two of my friends were staying in only had two single beds and a futon. The futon was mine and was disgusting. It had crumbs and stains all over it and the sheets were filthy. It looked as though they had not been changed since the last person had used it. both me and my friends felt these were too disgusting to sleep directly on, so I put clothing over the pillow and wore my clothes to sleep in. we could not stay anywhere else because their were 10 of us in total.


I cannot advise you enough to stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank theoriginaljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have recently been to this Guest House in the center of Riga.
A few minutes by feet from here and you are at the railway station, and also very close to some big malls. It took my family and I 10 minutes (walking distance) to reach the old center of Riga, Vecriga, the old town, that is simply fantastic!
The owner Yaroslav and his staff were extremely helpful and kind, they will give you some discounts for restaurants and the chance to book a service from the airport to the guest house at a cheaper price. Be careful! In Latvia they have the local currency, 1 lat is 1,41 euros, so I found lots of places to be very expensive (1 coffee = 1 lat). Lido restaurants are good for families and for students, recommended!
Our room was very wide, but some dust had been staying there for the whole stay (under the beds), and our bed sheets did not cover our mattresses, so I felt a little uncomfortable when I thought that my feet and my head were on the same place where the feet and the head of somebody else were...Our shower worked on the very first days and it sometimes the water didn't come out from the pipes, I guess because there was a problem with the water pressure. After a full walking day outside you cannot take a shower! Ans also, consider that the rooms (recently refurbished and new) are at the 4th and the 5th floor of a very old building, and no elevator is there. The staircase is not the best if you have kids or for elder guests.
The windows have not a proper shutter, so you will wake up at 5.30 am as the sun will invade the room with its light!
The place is perfect as it is in the center, but the accomodation is very basic (our toilet paper was over 2 days before the end of out stay, too!).
But you pay for a cheap service, so probably this is what you get.

Room Tip: read the other reviews on this accomodation on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I loved this hotel! It's near the Old Riga, and a bus station ir very near. Room was clean and tidy, provided with all facilities that I needed. Also, the staff was perfect! Showed me all places that I could get a discount and to buy souvenirs and other things cheaper. Even showed me a nice cafe to sit and relax with a huge discount. In this hotel I felt like at home. Hope to come back there soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I think it's a best place to stay if you want to get perfect facilities and be really near to Riga's old town, and also to pay low price. We've got maps and suggestions what to visit and how to get there. We even could choose from night and day program. : ) Also we could get many discounts for taxi, attraction places etc. The owner is really nice, kind and caring person. We were surprised and happy about staying there. : )

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorette6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Юрий К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
819 reviews
0.7 km away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#21 of 151 in Riga
67 reviews
0.4 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.9 km away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
1.6 km away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheap & Good Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheap & Good Apartments

Address: Merkela iela 3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: $25 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheap & Good Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cheap & Good Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheap And Good Apartments
Cheap & Good Apartments Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing