We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel, convenient”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel, convenient”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Interestingly named - Riverside: we went in February (circa -15deg during the day and -20 odd deg later) and the river (plus sea) was totally frozen over, with a few locals fishing through the ice.

Hotel compact and nice. Room not large, but fine; cleanen and tidy. Staff friendly and breakfast good.

Location good for us. 15 minutes trudge through snow to the city centre. We walked everywhere; no need for transport within the city. Regular shuttle bus from airport, stopping 15 minutes from hotel.

3 days in Riga was just right. Lots of nice places to visit and coffee shops to pop into to warm up (Double Coffee has become our favourite; we have visited them in Vilnius and Kiev too, and food there is good). We did ice-skating in the open rink, and evening tenpin bowling not far away, and surprisingly cheap.

Enough shops around, and lovely views from the top of the Big Wheel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    82
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
94
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was spacoius and the bathroom recently renovated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Just 15 mins walk to the old town or a 5 minute bus ride.. Not on the fashionable side of town but conveniently located anyway. Very fast interet access (20Mbs up and down). Plentiful and varied breakfast though the cereal choice could use some improvement. Overall a very comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I cannot remember the time when I have stayed in such a super little hotel for such a price! The people, all the people that work there were helpful and always smiling.

If you are looking for a quiet, small hotel, close to the Old City which does not cost a fortune, then this is it. I thoroughly recommend the Riverside.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moscowjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, CT USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel is located on a tiny street named for the former Chief Rabbi of Riga and is located in a bit shabby but conveniently located,short walk from the center of town. Despite appearances, it is safe even at night. The area is the old Jewish quarter of town and a 2 minute walk away is a large Jewish School.
If you are looking for a large full service hotel, look elsewhere but if you want quiet, clean and modern hotel(the building is just a few years old) with spacious rooms (with quality fixtures and construction), bathrooms and friendly, responsive, 24 hour service at a bargain price, this is the hotel for you. We were extremely happy with the hotel.

There is a basic buffet breakfast served n a clean quiet dining room that compares favorably with the cost of a basic breakfast in the center of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frespkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I walked from a conference near the old town to the hotel. The area is a bit dingy but ok. The hotel has no sign on it. There is a sign from the road but none on the hotel. Hence it took a few minutes to find.

The room was nice and clean. They have room service but the food that arrived was cold. Breakfast was basic and I would recommend eating elsewhere.

On reflection if you were coming here for a break you would be disappointed. To save money before going somewhere or heading to a conference, it does the trick.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryndlewindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 km away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
453 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 109 in Riga
592 reviews
3.7 km away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 109 in Riga
180 reviews
1.5 km away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#39 of 109 in Riga
528 reviews
3.4 km away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#77 of 109 in Riga
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Natana Barkana iela 5, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price range (per night): $42 - $68
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is located in a quiet and calm district in the center of Riga. It takes just 15 minutes by bus to get to the airport, just 5 minutes to get to the central train station and 7 minutes to the passenger harbor. Our friendly hotel's staff will make your stay comfortable and pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing