We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very simple hotel, open 24 hours”
Review of Starest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starest
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We drove to that hotel at 3 AM due to the big problems with Russia-Estonia border crossing.
We were very tired, and to our happiness, the staff was not sleeping at that time and
gave us keys for rooms. The staying should be payed upon arrival not at the departure
The shower is very simple but sufficient. The rooms are small. Burt what else should car traveller demand for one night ? The minus - The breakfas was not rich, and the rooms were not perfectly clean.
The main advantage of this hotel - the price the lower twice as comparing with other Tartu hotels

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2008

I was headed to Tartu for a business meeting, and was intrigued by the review for Starest from the guest who had a sauna in his room. I absolutely had to try it, and was lucky enough that one of the two sauna rooms was available. The rate was good, much lower than what I would have paid for a hotel in the city center.
It was a little hard to find the hotel - better directions and maps would have been helpful. You'll probably need a car if you stay here, although I noticed a bus stop out front. It's in a residential area, so there are many apartment complexes around. The hotel appears to be a cross between a hotel and a hostel, and so there were lots of young people hanging about. The building seems to have been recently refurbished and so was impeccably clean.
My room was very large, like an apartment. It would have been lovely for a couple. Not sure if the "broken" items were due to the new refurbishment or simple disrepair: the window was cracked, one window was missing the blinds, the toilet seat in the main loo was missing altogether (!luckily there was a second bathroom!). The only internet was a free machine in the reception area and the room phone wouldn't dial out, so communication-wise I was stranded until I bought a local SIM card for my mobile.
I only ate at the restaurant for breakfast - it was ok, nothing special.
But the sauna, the sauna was heavenly. I used it both nights of my two night stay, and as it was the midpoint of a strenuous two week business trip, it was the perfect way to relax over the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarittaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2006

I had some business in Tartu and stayed here for one night in April 2006.

The hotel is a bus ride or taxi away from the centre - don't try walking it. It is set in an area of Soviet-style apartment blocks and is not that easy to find.

My room was very large and included its own large sauna, but limited other facilities.

Breakfast was served in a different building, was very basic and very little choice.

Tartu itself is a nice city, probably as much character as Tallin but in a more subtle way, and less infested with tourists. It is worth a visit.

6  Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Valerija O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер 22:окна выходят не на парковку, в номере хорошие темные занавески
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Светлана С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tartu hotels
5.8 km away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#5 of 22 in Tartu
49 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Antonius
Hotel Antonius
#2 of 22 in Tartu
272 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#7 of 22 in Tartu
238 reviews
4.5 km away
Vikerkaare Guesthouse
Vikerkaare Guesthouse
#11 of 22 in Tartu
18 reviews
3.2 km away
Barclay Hotell
Barclay Hotell
#14 of 22 in Tartu
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Tartu

Been to Starest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starest

Address: Moisavahe 21, Tartu 50707, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Starest 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the best value-for-money accommodation in Tartu and we are proud of our affordable pricing and high-quality customer service. Our team works 24 hours a day 7 days a week to guarantee your satisfaction. Why do we have such great prices? Hotel Starest’s principle is to offer its clients a vacation that does not leave them with empty pockets. At hotel Starest it is possible to rest in comfortable beds, enjoy great food and services – all of that within your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Starest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing