We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
457
830
363
101
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
830
363
101
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskgb museumshopping mallold townsoviet timesdirect accessbig hotelbreakfast hallinteresting historytop floorexcellent locationjunior suitewindow sillsame buildingbreakfast restaurantbigger roomfamily roomstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Decent hotel, but obviously at the bottom end of the range. Little money was spent on the latest renovation and the rooms and especially bathrooms look shabby and under invested in. Overall Tallinn can't help giving a "Helsinki on crack" vibe, and the numerous tourist traps make the whole experience a little slap dash.

I don't recommend the hotel, even though the in-hotel museum, night club, and great breakfast make up for a lot.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannela K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are very sorry to hear that you were not totaly satisfied with our hotel. We can guarantee that we are doing our best in updating our rooms and it is an ongoing process. We are though pleased to hear that you were impressed with our breakfast and we hope that otherwise your trip to Tallinn was worth taken. We hope that we will meet you again and during your next stay we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Magnificent views over Tallinn from junior suite on the 21st floor.
We had sauna and 2 extra beds for our children. A bottle of sparkling wine and a box of chocolates were waiting for us in our room. Air conditioning worked well and the room was clean.
Short walking distance to Tallinn old town and shopping center right next to the hotel.
Breakfast time was quite busy with lot of people in the breakfast hall.
This was our 4th stay here and we'll return again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Mrs_Travelling

Thank you for kind review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With my best wishes,
Katrin Järvan
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great location near old town. We had room for three with great view at 19. floor. Room was quite small with extra bed. Aircondition was not so well during very warm days. Breakfast was ok but not very special. I can come again if price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ElinaK794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliise L, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello Elina K,

Thank You for the feedback.
Unfortunately because of the extremely hot days our air conditioners were not working so well some time, but we are fixing the problem as we speak and hopefully that problem will not occur again in the future.
All in all thank You for the kind words and hope to see You soon in our hotel and Tallinn again!

With regards,
Eliise Lumila
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour group. Certainly the hotel has an interesting history. The rooftop KGB museum is worth a visit- but be warned, you can only visit via a booked tour. English speaking tours are few and often full and even as a hotel guest you will still be charged 12 Euros.
As for the bedroom, it was OK size but very limited storage space, no tea and coffee in room and no safe provided. That is very bad for a four star hotel.
Breakfast is complete mayhem with hardly anywhere clean to sit. Food offerings not replenished and a very unpleasant experience. We tried it once only- the next day we decided to go to a coffee shop in the adjacent mall. Truly an awful set up.
There are much nicer places to stay in Tallinn. It appeared to be disorganised, the rooms did have a odd smell and to be honest, we were glad it was only 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hello Narrabeam,

Thank You for the feedback.
We are sorry to hear that You were not completely satisfied with Your stay in our hotel.
Our standard rooms are smaller and do not have a lot of space but it is a possibility to do an upgrade and stay in a Superior class or a Suite, where the rooms are bigger, have coffee and tea kettle in the room, safety box and a safety box.
Also because it is summer time the breakfast room is very crowded and busy. We are sorry for the unpleasant experience and we will make sure that the cleaning will be taken under more control.

With regards,
Eliise Lumila
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel was not so nice, crowded and the room really smelled, you know like where they dump the garbage. I would not recommend! The location is very good! There was a concert in the hotels nightclub, amigo. I dont really understand why this is supposed to be some party place in Tallinn cause its not ! Lot more men and just couple of women.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jomppe2847572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Jomppe2847572



Thank you for your time to give us feedback!
We will draw our attention to your given points and will try to find a solution.
We hope we shall have another opportunity of welcoming you back at Original Sokos Hotel Viru in Tallinn soon!
With kind regards,
Katrin Järvan
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews