We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vilnius Hotel”
Review of Hotel Domus Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Domus Maria
Ranked #2 of 75 Vilnius B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel in mid December as a couple for five nights.

Location
The Hotel is approx 10 mins walk from the Train/Bus Stations and a 2 min walk from the Gates of Dawn. It is off the main road, so is very quiet. The hotel is also a 10-15 min walk from Cathedral Square. We arrived by train from Kaunas, which was between €8-13 (one way) for two adults, dependant on class of travel. The trains run frequently throughout the day. We did not fly from Vilnius Airport, so cannot give an accurate time of travel. There are a number of restaurants all within 2-3 mins walk from the hotel.

Staff
Again, all the staff were very friendly and provided us with a lot of information on local sights, travel etc. All the staff also spoke very good English. They all made our stay feel that much more special.

Room
We stayed in Room 424 and were lucky enough to have a free upgrade from a standard double to a superior double. The room was on the top floor and was facing a private driveway, which was very quiet. The room was very big and cosy. It was well heated and also had A/C. You had the option to have the room cleaned on a daily basis. We chose to have our room cleaned twice, which was cleaned to a high standard. There is a kettle provided in the room also. The Wi Fi connection in the room is also very good. There is a lift to the top floor (4th floor).

Breakfast
We found a very good variety and quality of hot/cold foods/tea/coffees. The Dining Room was very clean and tidy with food constantly replaced.

Overall
Vilnius is a very nice city, even in a snowy December. We would like to visit Vilnius in the summer also as it is a 'bright and colourful' place with a lot of history. The transport system within the city is very good. There are a lot of buses and trolley buses which all run frequently throughout the day. A one was journey for one adult would cost €0.80. Definitely worth a visit to the TV Tower and KGB Museum, just to mention a few places. Eating out in cheap to mid range restaurants would cost between €30-40, for a couple.

Highly recommend a visit to Vilnius and a stay in Hotel Domus Maria. Thank you Vilnius.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adm1adm2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Domus Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This was my favorite hotel in Vilnius and I'll stay here when I go there again. The rooms are very simple, clean and adequate. The breakfast is very nice. A friend stayed her for four months and loved it as well. Nice staff.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JoRoOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I'm French citizen and everytime when I come in Vilnius I rent a room to Domus Maria, 'caused the Hotel is in center and to the old town, the staff is very sympathic, and the room is clean and good price. The breakfast is very good and you could have a parking place.

Room Tip: best views, very good room, accessibily is very good, perfect hotel
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krisas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Domus Maria is well located just by the Gates of Dawn. The room was clean, tidy and had what you would expect from a hotel. The staff are helpful with maps and directions to the main sites. Continental breakfast is more then adequate to start off the day and would recommend this as a good base for exploring Vilnius.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here choosing it purely for the location. Easy reach of the main visitor attractions and close to a variety of bars and restaurants. Very good to have free parking as well. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable with a reasonable breakfast choice available. The only criticism is that they could dress the decor up a bit given it is a converted monastery. It has gone through a major refurbishment but it has been left very clinical and rather soul less. But all in all a good place to stay when visiting the city.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.1 km away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#21 of 88 in Vilnius
269 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Eastern City Gate
Best Eastern City Gate
#23 of 88 in Vilnius
251 reviews
0.7 km away
Artagonist Art Hotel
Artagonist Art Hotel
#1 of 88 in Vilnius
119 reviews
0.8 km away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#13 of 88 in Vilnius
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Maria

Address: Aushros Vartu g. 12, Vilnius 01303, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Vilnius
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domus Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DOMUS MARIA is established in the very heart of Vilnius Old Town, in 16th century buildings comprising an impressive architectural ensemble: The Gate of Dawn and the Blessed Virgin Mary Mother of Mercy Chapel with miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary, and the early Baroque church of St. Theresa. Hotel offers 48 rooms equipped in a way that would enable to meet the needs of different guests. All the hotel rooms are established in the former cells of the monastery. Rooms in DOMUS MARIA hotel are subtly furnished and adapted to the needs of modern guests. Guests can choose from single, double, triple, quad or suite accommodations. Hotel Domus Maria has four different-sized conference halls with authentic architecture, ideal for receptions and/or conferences, and can accommodate more than 300 people in total. You can order professional catering services during your event: from coffee breaks, lunches, dinners or banquets, your event will professionally be catered by our in-house catering staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Domus Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Maria Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing