We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Szentendre
from USD 73.22
More Info
from USD 4.60
More Info
from USD 52.73
More Info
from USD 94.40
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
97
34
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
34
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews famous hungarian ceramic museum chronological order english subtitles out of the way fell in love coffee shop guided tour works art sculptures hungary clay collection techniques style beauty
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

I love ceramic art - and Margit Kovacs work is fascinating - she worked over so many years and was such a pineer. I enjoyed the pure beauty of some pieces, the uniqueness of others. I was accompanied by someone who is less interested in art and museums than I and this person found it well worthwhile.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had a guided tour which made it easier to understand the artist. Her pottery is very unusual and one would have to have the right home and furniture to display any of her works, although it is quite likely that none of them are on sale now. The video we saw of Margit Kovacs making the pottery was extremely interesting. Her technique and artistry is very clever and she she certainly was a very gifted, talented and accomplished potter.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank 802pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum) - I have been to several museums in the city but this one really stood out with its collection. Loved it.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Tripletor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Margit Kovacs, a famous 20th century ceramic sculptor (190271977) well know for her typical Hungarian folkloristic art has reached recongnition throughout Hungary and abroad. Historic rustic art, paintings and sculptures, a collectiion you should not miss when visiting Szentendre; a small Dependance can be also found in Györ (Western Hungary) at the Kresza House. Medieval atmoshpere.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is one of my favorite towns in Hungary and my most beloved museum. I highly recommend it to anyone, even if you are not a big arty-fan. It is just adorable. This visit I was pleasantly surprised by part of collection - about 6 art-pieces that are touchable with braille names next to them - well isn't that just astonishing ! I love the artist, she did absolutely unique job.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank 978alenkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews