We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 73
View deal
Booking.com
USD 61
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
USD 61
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUSD 61
Agoda.comUSD 61
TravelocityUSD 73
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
17
26
17
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
26
17
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Hotel is in a fantastic location. Could not be better placed for exploring the town. Breakfast was fine - exactly what you would expect. The hotel has secure parking which costs extra. Externally the hotel is very well kept. Unfortunately the room we stayed in needed refurbishing, particularly the bathroom. Room was clean but a few hairs in sink and in bed - probably from cleaner.

Room tip: The hotel is in a very quiet part of town
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina K, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Susan C,

thank you for the feedback! Unfortunately, we cannot provide our car parks for free, as they are available in a limited number, but our rates are much lower than the cost for downtown parking areas. Purity is very important to us, so we will pay more attention to these problems in the future. We would like to renovate the bathrooms soon. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Sopron and you will return to our hotel.
Best regards,
Hotel Palatinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

Rating is Good.
Receptionist seemed scared of customers. Whispers when talking and lack of basic courtesy. Maybe because she was too young and unexperienced.
Language was a problem: “Is there an elevator/lift?” In both English and German was not understood.
Location is perfect, in old city centre but in pedestrian area. No direct access by car.
Small parking was full. Closest parking approx 300 m away.
No elevator in hotel. Room had enough space and was clean. Good wifi and power socket at bed head end, to charge your mobile. Air conditioning had been limited and could not cope. There was smell of cigaret smoke while our window was closed (via a/c?). Bathroom has too little space for storing your stuff. Bit outdated.
Breakfast was complete and ok but not memorable. Fruit juices were fake and overly sweetened. Serving real apple and orange juices will not cost the world and will make your customers much more happy.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019 via mobile

Right at the centre of the city, right by the church of szent istvan is a quite small hotel situated, the main thing that was recognized about it was the great beds! The standard was ok, everything was fairly clean and the breakfast did the job.
3,5 for a good visit!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank itslit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

Comfortable hotel on a street where cars are restricted. Large, comfortable family room which can sleep 5: one queen sized bed, one twin, and a fold out sofa. Several restaurants nearby. About 12-1,500 krons for a taxi to/from the train station.

Plenty of choices for cereals, etc., but the “hot” part of the breakfast left much to be desired. The scrambled eggs were cold and looked like they had been sitting for hours. The bacon looked more boiled than fried.

The staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Nice hotel. Clean, comfortable. Excellent breakfast included. The hotel was hard to find due to construction on the street recommended by GPS route. Eventually had to call the hotel to get directions on how to approach. Then the front desk could not find our reservation which had been booked months ago through Hotels.com. After 1/2 hr. or so, the reservation was finally found. Seemed to be short staffed as front desk fellow was also responsible for setting up and clearing breakfast food. The location is in the old part f the city, very close to the center, other scenic and historic sites and within walking distance of Sopron University. I would stay here again.

Room tip: No elevator, but our room was on the first floor so not a problem lugging our suitcase up one floor.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews