We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
9
14
22
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
14
22
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taking place on wednesdays outdoor pool centre of town summer cleaners utensils sauna garden castle balaton museum
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was the second part of our summer holiday. We stayed in Budapest for a couple of days (first much better)! We travelled down by train, what a nightmare. Told the hotel was in walking distance from the station we set off walking (it was 38 degs) so seemed a long way) We'd booked for 2 weeks( apparently unusual) and were told the only apartment was on the top floor(no lifts) "and we cannot move". It was awful, like a loft conversion with no proper opening windows. We were in the loft with no air conditioning. We managed a week and had to beg for a move. We were moved over the road to a real apt! Still no air con but an opening window. The whole place was very basic and had the feel of East Germany before the wall came down. The best staff were in the restaurant. The pool area desperately needed some attention and the pool looked dirty. There were never enough sunbeds and several of the ones that were available were broken.
We wanted to go somewhere different, well we did, but won't be going back. It spoilt the holiday.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here in the middle of September in the Z building. The apartment, on the first floor, was basic and clean. The furniture was not comfortable and the lighting was very poor. We did not intend cooking so the kitchen was adequate. We used the wifi in the reception but we did not visit the pool. The restaurant attached to the hotel was usually empty and there was no atmosphere.

The apartments are within easy walking distance of the town and a short distance from the railway station. No information about the area is given but there is a good tourist information office in the town. We found that the Halcszarda restaurant a short way out of town (through Helicon Park) was the best one in the area

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are basically the same from conversations with other guests.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyF135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Club Abbazia has up to 10 properties with the main reception on Erzsebet Kiralnye Utja (Utca: Road) and we stayed in the hotel on Rakoczi Ferenc utca, which also happens to be one of the main throughfare of the town. Keszthely also happens ot be the largest town and capital of the area on Lake Ballaton, largest lake in Europe.

The hotel was in excellent prime location for all the attractions, restaurants and shopping in town with shopping aracde and a 24 hr tesco within 10 minute drive of teh hotel.

The location is 120 miles from Budapest and approxiamately 2hr drive. Most of the properties managed by the chain has its own outdoor swimming pool which is not heated and access to a sauna is also available but at another property opposite to the main reception. The hotel i stayed in was approxiamately 10 minute walk from the main reception with no transfer available and you are expected to make your own way there if you don't have transport.

Free WiFi is available in teh main reception only but we discovered a number of open and free WiFi hotspots.

At the accommodation on Rakoczi Ferenc utca, there is no lift and majority of the accommodation is on first floor. The accommodation was in good clean condition and well layed out. The apartemnt we stayed in was A11, which faced on to the main road and at times it was quite noisy and road traffic could be heard. i can envisage that it would be most uncomfortable during peak season but off season when we went, it was very quiet and a ghost town at times.

However this meant taht it was a very comfortable and an enjoyable stay, excpet for Thursday when there appeared to a fight taking place on teh road, which i presume was an overspiull from the night clun 2 doors away.

The local markets and shops appear to close by 3/4 pm evry day and we wered dependent on Tesco and the local mall.

the only critcism was that the daily service of the aparment appeared to be emptying of bins only with towls changed on Wednesdays. Also when a request was made for the apartment to be serviced, in addition to the bins being changed the floor was swept. the self catering facilities were adequate and are classed as partial kitchen as it is not a dedicated kitchen but what you would find in a bedsit.

The hot water was hit and miss but adequately warm enough to be able to shower despite a call to reception.

Highly recommended for off season break and would probably be a pleasant place to stay during peak season. Noise maybe an issue.

Room Tip: request a room away from the roads
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdul7829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in an annex building of the hotel (the Silver building). Absolutely no staff is available there, except for the cleaners. Although the building has an underground parking garage, actually getting in there is a nightmare: One first has to get the room keys at the main building. Then one should drive to the market place to buy the card for the weekly parking. The trick is, that one cannot get the room keys before 4pm and the parking place closes at 5.30 pm – of course nobody gives you this information before arrival. Your next chance to buy the card is 8am the next day. If you want to park on the street, you have to use the parking meters – which again means having to be up at 8 am on the first morning of your vacation, to start throwing money in the meters. Even when you think you win, you could still be out of luck: I did get the parking card, but by the time I drove back to the hotel and found out that it did not work, the parking office closed – and no staff was available to help.
Having said that, once you get through the hurdles of the check-in, you can have a nice stay. The building itself is well-maintained; the rooms are spacious and friendly. The lack of air conditioning can be a problem on the hot summer days. There is a pleasant little pool area which is especially nice with small children.
The location: It is close to downtown; about 15 minutes walk from the Lake, in a very quiet area of the town. Keszthely and the surroundings have a lot to offer, even in bad weather, so it is a good spot to explore the area from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungarianMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

location in Kezsthely is excellent, reception staff speaks enough english to get things clear.

Otherwise, average and decent. Kitchen equipment are inadequate and poor quality. Pool in the E building is small and shallow.

Price for extra bed was too high compared to hungarian price level (3000 ft/night)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjoksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews