We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Fat Mama

Fat Mama
Ranked #546 of 3,650 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: USD 5 - USD 18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We are proud to be the first restaurant in Budapest to use Bertha in our kitchen. Bertha is a charcoal oven that creates a special atmosphere in the restaurant. You feel like participating in a memorable garden party and in the hand of a well trained chef, Bertha produces super tasty, crispy food let it be veggies, meat or fish. Fat Mama Eatery is the only restaurant in the city center that has a real smoker pit available 24/7. Our smoker pit was provided by the uncrowned king of Hungarian BBQ, Máriusz Adorjányi. We prepare traditional BBQ food in it meaning long hours of preparation at low temperature. The perfectly cooked, soft and juicy slices of meat can be enjoyed in a cool and easy-going environment.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Portions are good, food is fresh and extremely delicious. The atmosphere is great, for breakfast it is calm and they have both indoors and outdoors-(with heating) seating.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank rana_972018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Fat Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear rana_972018,
Let us first thank you for providing us with the kind review of your most recent experience visiting at Fat Mama. Thank you for your compliments on our lavish breakfast, we hope it was a perfect start of your days. As you kindly mentioned the building has an amazing atmosphere. On behalf of our entire Fat Mama, it was a pleasure to host you during your stay in Budapest and we hope to see you next time as well.

Warm regards,
Fat Mama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 83 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

When your told after 30 minutes that the kitchen is busy by a very nice waitress you think to yourself, at least they told us.
When you receive your plate 10 minutes later you start to anticipate that your starter (yes starter) is not far away.
When after an hour and 10 minutes you have received nothing and other tables around you receive their food (after turning up 20 minutes after us) you tend to think its not going to happen and walk out (we ordered basic food off the menu, nothing fancy)
Can only say, if your THAT busy and cant accommodate the people already in your restaurant, maybe stop taking in new customers and close the door?????????

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Fat Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Simon D,

Let us say thank you for taking a few minutes of your precious time to review our restaurant, we can learn a lot from it. We always welcome guest comment whether it is positive or negative.

We want to say sorry for the inconvenience that you had concerning the visit you did. The things that you described are not typical at all in our restaurant, we always give a flawless service every day to our guests, but you can be completely sure that we will take the appropriate and necessary measures, so that this can never happen again. Please let us apologize for that. It is a top priority to us to give a flawless service all time, therefore we will investigate this matter.

Thank you for informing us about your experience. We would be so glad if you gave us a second chance to prove what we really do day by day.

Kind regards,
Fat Mama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Throughout our dining experience the young girl who served us tried to upsell everything, the wine, the starters etc.....also we were told that the ribs were smoked on the BBQ outside and when they arrived it was obvious they had been warmed up in an indoor smoker....it was a shame as it was a nice setting and the the musicians were excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Fat Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Alexandra S,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant and writing down your experiences.

We are proud of the fact you decided to give a try to our place. We hope that you were fulfilled by everything you ordered at our restaurant. Please accept my most honest apologies for your inconvienences.
Let me thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us, we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Fat Mama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had some absolutely great food, with a lovely atmosphere made by the live music. this is generally a reasonabley priced restaurant if coming from the uk, definitely reccommend!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Fat Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Ms. Katie W,

First and foremost, allow us to thank you very much for leaving such a kind review about our place here, on TripAdvisor. It makes us absolutely thrilled that you stopped by for a meal.
We cannot find the suitable words to describe how happy we are by the fact that our restaurant managed to live up to your expectations! We only work with the best of ingredients, cooking everything to perfection. Flawless meals are a must in our restaurant. Luckily, our chef and team is amazing, therefore we are serving perfection at all times. What could be even more promising for us than the fact that you recommend our place for those who are looking for a place to eat in Budapest.
All in all, it was really heart-warming to read your kind words, it was our pleasure to have you here

Kind regards,
Fat Mama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Stumbled upon this stylish edgy restaurant and so glad we did! Amazing music, service and food. The chicken paprikash is the best!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank sophiah121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Fat Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear sophiah121,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit at Fat Mama restaurant.
Your compliments on the great music as well as on the professional service are highly appreciated. Furthermore, thank you for highlighting our chicken paprikash, please be ensured that your kind words will be forwarded to the kitchen staff for sure.
On behalf of our entire Team, let us thank you for recommending our place to fellow travellers and it would be nice to be at your service again, should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest area.
Kind regards,
Fat Mama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Mama also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fat Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing