We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week visit to Budapest”
Review of Agape Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agape Aparthotel
Ranked #62 of 682 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We arrived after midnigt on friday ,but got warm welcoming and was in our apartment in very short time.
The apartment was on 4th floor and we had a very small balcony out at the busy street.
Everything about this apartment is great, its clean,its comfortable it is very well situaded we could walk everwhere we wanted. There is a groceryshop 5 minutes away and a lot of good restaurants and pub in the nearest neighbourhood.
The bed was comfortable and the towels changed every 3 day.
The only problem was the noise at night but after we got used to it and closed the window wi slept very well.
We would come back to this apartment if we ever coma back to Budapest.
Thanks for good service and nice apartment.

Room Tip: Just remember if you got a apartment that has windows facing the street close your windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Customer Service Assistant at Agape Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dera Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment about us.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you found our apartment nice.
Me and my team are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Ms Evelin Németh
Customer Service Assistan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at these apartments for four nights from Thursday 24th to Monday 28th August with eight friends ,my travel agent booked four rooms ,three for two people in each and one for three people she was assured by the hotel that we would have a bed each as we are nine males,this was not the case in two of the rooms that were for two people ,it was a double bed and granted there was a sofa bed but this was not made up ,there was only bedding on the double bed as if they were expecting us to share a bed ,in the other twin room two of my friends had to share the double bed as they had no sofa bed in their room just a badly stained normal sofa ,on pulling out the sofa bed in my room the bedding was in storage underneath two badly stained duvet with no covers they were absolutely disgusting badly stained with urine ,excrement,and what looked like period blood ,the apartments themselves badly need renovations,granted the sleeping quarters looked as if they had recently been decorated but the kitchen and bathroom were run down and badly needed renewed ,in previous comments by management the say they are renovating but it's seems rather than do the whole apartment at once and renew everything there only doing minor cosmetics ,also when I pay for accommodation through my travel agent I don't expect to be held to ransom by the hotel and be forced to pay a deposit for the key to get into my room 20 Euro or 6000 huff if you don't pay this then you don't get your key and it's one key per room if you want more you pay another deposit if you lose the key you pay again ,it's also on a road with bars and takeaway shops so the noise in the rooms to the front is relentless right through the night ,the doors to the apartments are heavy duty security doors so you have to listen to the information very carefully regarding how to use the key or you will have bother getting the door open ,there are two lifts but only one was working when we were there and there tiny any more than three people at any one time and it won't work as to much weight so you end up walking up and down stairs,the stairwells could also do with being painted as they are pretty grubby ,staff encountered at reception were friendly enough ,would I recommend these apartments NO,this is my fifth year staying in Budapest and this has been the worst digs yet ,the photos of rooms you see on agape website are nothing like that in real life as my photos show

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Customer Service Assistant at Agape Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Tom,

Thank you for sharing your comment about your experiences. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have been caused. I hope you will be more content next time.

Sincerely,
Evelin Németh Customer Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile


Jet2 claim there is a cafe on site... it is over a kebab shop! ! !
There was only one towel for a double room & I queued 15 mins to speak to reception, only to be told to return later.
Small double bed behind wardrobe.
Shower fixing is at midget height.
Be warned air con €5 per night extra. City tax & key deposit must be paid. Check in takes 15 mins.
Only 1 lift works.
Fridge door bars missing so not good for bottles.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jl0O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Customer Service Assistant at Agape Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment about your experiences. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have been caused. We work hard to make our sevice much better, and do everything as good as we did before.
I hope you will be more content next time.

Sincerely,
Ms Evelin Németh Customer Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This place is a catastrophe. We stayed for 2 nights (2 adults, 2 children: 1
and 4 years). We reserved a highchair for the baby - not there. The apartement was in a disgusting shape: hair in the sink, stains on the sofa, spider webs on the ceiling, dirt on the floor, etc. When I showed pictures of it at the reception and asked for the room to be cleaned again, they apologized and said it would be done. But when we got back, everything looked the same, except the spider webs were gone. I asked the manager the next day, if they were serious about it - if that was their understanding of cleaning. She said: "We did everything you asked us for."
Seriously? No more words needed.
Never again!
Besides: there is construction work in the street in front of the hotel, so it's really loud and dusty.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 831maril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Customer Service Assistant at Agape Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment about your experiences. This mistake is entirely our own and we apologize for the inconvenience it is causing you. We work hard to make our sevice much better, and do everything as good as we did before.
I hope you do give us the chance to make it right during your next stay and you will be more content next time.

Sincerely,
Ms Evelin Németh Customer Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I organised my friends hen do and I booked Agape based on location and cost. It was 10 of us in total so I booked 2 apartments, both 2 bedroom which said they sleep up to 6 people.
The apartment building was quite easy to find, located above shops and bars on Akacfa utca, just above the busy Rakoczy ut. Check in was a little tricky as we had to pay upfront, including the additional 5 Euros per apartment per night for the AC / it was between 36-40 degrees for the entirety of the 3 nights of our trip / and the deposit for the keys and AC remotes. Once we paid we were given our keys and found our apartments, both if which were on the second floor / reception on 1st /. One of the apartments was a duplex, with a large open plan kitchen / diner / living room with 2 beds, also a balcony and downstairs toilet, with a further 2 double bedrooms and a family bathroom upstairs. Very large, clean, with more space we needed - the apartment could have quite comfortably slept 8. The other apartment was on 1 level, with a larger and better equipped kitchen complete with island, sofabed and bed in the living room, balcony and 2 double bedrooms, also a,family bathroom and separate toilet.
All of our party was very satisfied with our apartments, but keep in mind, despite the balcony opening onto the courtyard smoking is not allowed on them and there is a 100 euro fine if caught - they do allow smoking in the courtyard that opens up from the first floor.
Location was absolutely perfect - shops within a few minutes, including 2 large supermarkets, also some of the famed ruin bars / Fogas, Instant / are on the same street as the apartments. Szimpla is about 10 minutes walk, if you walk slowly. Plenty of food outlets as well. We had our opening meal at Menza and we managed to walk to it in about 10 minutes also. I actually had to change our reservation after we arrived, the lad in reception was very helpful and called them up for me to do this.
One complaint - Friday morning we were awoken at around 7am by very loud, relentless banging. There were workmen in the building so it must have been them. Also, we saw those workmen smoke on their balcony. We also had to ask for our kitchen bin to be emptied, as the previous guests rubbish was still there. They did this within a few minutes and as previously stated the apartment was clean otherwise.
Checkout was quick and we got our deposits back within a few minutes.
I would return, I was very impressed with the size, cost very reasonable / just over £600 for the 2 apartments for 3 nights - so between 10 of us just over £60 / , location near perfect.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Customer Service Assistant at Agape Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment about us.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you found our apartment nice.
Me and my team are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Evelin Németh Customer Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 336 in Budapest
709 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,030 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 682 in Budapest
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#12 of 682 in Budapest
292 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Residence
Opera Residence
#35 of 682 in Budapest
311 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Avantgarde Apartments
Avantgarde Apartments
#18 of 682 in Budapest
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agape Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agape Aparthotel

Address: Akacfa utca 12 - 14 | 1st Floor 111, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 682 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $38 - $923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Agape Aparthotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agape is situated on the Pest side of the city in a new block, next to the great boulevard. It is within walking distance to many sights, bars, restaurants, shops. The Opera house, Synagogue or the famous New York Palace are only 5 minutes on foot, and there are plenty of museums pubs, clubs, places of interest in the area. Central location is combined with great prices and good quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Agape Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agape Aparthotel Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing