We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant with great food”
Review of ES Bisztro

ES Bisztro
Ranked #239 of 3,610 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 60
Cuisines: Austrian, Hungarian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Az ÉS egy laza magyar vendéglő és pecsenyesütöde, ahol a hagyományos éttermi formai megkötésektől mentesen is jól érezheted magad sörözés, borozás, beszélgetés közben falatozgatva. A klasszikus magyar fogások mellett izgalmas falatozós ételeket alkottunk, emellett húsokat, halakat grillezünk. A már ismert monarchiabeli ételek, különleges grillek ÉS falatok mellett izgalmas bor- ÉS kézműves sörválaszték vár. ***Wine bar, beer pub, terrace, bistro, restaurant, brasserie. In ÉS you don’t need to have traditional dishes and follow dining traditions. The menu has three separate parts: nibbles to share, typical dishes of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy and grilled meat and fish. A unique, unconventional wine and beer selection rounds off this delicious gastro experience. Breaking with the formality of dining traditions, i.e., the sequence of starter, main course and dessert, guests can have nibbles while enjoying a glass of wine or beer. Night and day. With friends and family.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Found by accident while running from the rain.
Very friendly, amazing hungarian food served in a professional manner.
Elegant place, ideal for all.
Good price as well compared to the service.

Thank Alessio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at ES Bisztro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Alessio C,

Thank you for your awesome review.
I am thrilled to hear how much you liked our restaurant. Our restaurantʼs goal is to deliver an immaculate experience every day to our valued guests and I am glad to read that we succeeded.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Norbert Kőrösi,
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to Budapest several times over the past few years and we always visit ÉS Bisztró at the Kempinski Hotel! The Hungarian dishes served up by Head Chef Roland Holzer and his staff are absolutely amazing!
Thank you to Kiss Ákos & Krizsán Gyuri at the Bisztró for being so kind and welcoming! Every evening we visited they made sure our experience was memorable! These two gentlemen, along with Chef Holzer, and the wonderful dishes are why we always visit while in Budapest!
I strongly recommend that if you’re in town go to ÉS Bisztró at the Kempinski and experience it for yourself, you won’t be disappointed!

Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at ES Bisztro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Bruce M,

Thank you a lot for your 5 star comment.
I am so glad to see our restaurant was able to check off everything you were looking for. Guest feedbacks are very important for us to continuously improve our service and reviews like yours make us exceptionally happy when we can see the result of our efforts.
Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Norbert Kőrösi,
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The place is located in the great Kempinski hotel in the center of Budapest. There we got a great coctail called Pimms lemonade and the best gulyas soup i have tryed in Budapest served with home baked bread served in a flower pot. The tartar (beef) was made the Austrian way and was tender and tasty. Staff was friendly and nice.

Thank norabaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at ES Bisztro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear norabaksa,

We are thrilled to read your kind words and are hoping to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Norbert Kőrösi,
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This restaurant serves a great buffet breakfast with a wide variety of items. It is also know for game meat and it’s steak.
Reasonably priced.

Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at ES Bisztro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mike D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a feedback and for visiting ÉS Bistro. We are happy to read your kind words and are hoping to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Norbert Kőrösi,
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We ate here one evening for some late night nibbles and wine. It was quite nice, we learned while in Budapest, wait staff don’t like to be asked for ‘tap’ water.....oopsey!
It has a great selection on the menu and it’s a funky place.

Thank caymananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at ES Bisztro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear caymananna,

Thank you so much for choosing ÉS Bistro as well as taking your time to share your opinion with us. Hope your travel plans bring you back to Budapest soon, so we can welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Norbert Kőrösi,
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ES Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to ES Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing