We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Hotel near the centre of Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #14 of 339 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel near the centre of Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel. It is located on walking distance of most of the city's attractions and public transport. Service is outstanding. People are friendly and available. At night we had a small jazz band playing some gipsy jazz which made everything marvelous. This comes at a price but still this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcfmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback received following your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,061
    1,087
    244
    91
    35
See reviews for
845
3,531
195
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Grand elegant building, lovely high ceilings and beautifl public areas. Expect excellent customer care and large warm rooms. The rooms remain warm, bordering hot, even with the air conditioning on full blast i'm afraid. The furnishings are good quality and very clean although they have seen better days. Executive lounge is worth paying the extra, a great space with snacks and drinks available all day. Choose rooms over the street rather than atrium as inside facing ones can be noisy.

Room Tip: Definately go for street facing so that you can open the windows. You will almost definately need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Normally our air-condition system provides a good and ambient temperature across the hotel and we apologise if on this occasion this did not work in the room you occupied. I am sorry for this shortcoming. I would like to assure you that the appropriate action has been taken with a view of preventing any repetition of the problems which marred your stay. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We arrived to find that we had been assigned a lower floor atrium view room when we had booked an upper floor Executive street view room. They not only changed it to what we requested, we were upgraded to a suite. It had a large bedroom, two bathrooms and a large sitting room down a hallway. There were large his and hers closets and the rooms were nicely furnished.

If you can spring for the extra amount, by all means book an Executive room. It comes with access to the Executive floor where you will have a separate concierge, an internet room and food and drink available free all day and evening. You can chose to have your breakfast here, lunch, midday snacks and afternoon tea from 12:00 PM to 4:30, a cocktail hour from 5-10 and tea and refreshments thereafter. The breakfast is one of the best around and the additional food items first rate. The staff are friendly and helpful. The whole concept is genius.

I said "almost perfect" because there were a few weak points. The quality of the toiletries was not befitting a hotel of this caliber nor was the bed. The latter was rather board-like with stiff springs and insufficient padding. It wasn't uncomfortable (I like a firm mattress) but not first rate either. Lastly, the door to the second bathroom could not be closed because it was too big for the opening- something that was obvious to staff and should have been corrected. But taken as a whole this sumptuous hotel is absolutely worth its more than fair pricing. Almost perfect.

Room Tip: The atrium view rooms can be noisy. Choose a street view higher up. And get the Ececutive option- it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I am delighted to read that overall you were satisfied with our hotel. Your comments are valuable to us so that we can continue to improve our service and we will investigate the mentioned issues. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future in Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Booked this hotel for 3 nights on a special deal through a hotel booking website. We paid an amazingly cheap 265 euros for room only. We had booked a standard queen overlooking the atrium and the room was spacious and immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom with separate shower- lovely, powerful shower - and bath and again very spacious. Staff were all extremely helpful.

We chose not to eat breakfast in the hotel as we didn't feel we would do justice to the price of 28 euros per person, but we did eat in the Bock Bistro one evening - booking highly recommended - and had a great meal at a reasonable price.

All in all a lovely stay and would definitely recommend the hotel and use it on any future visits to Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primrosejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We are really pleased to read your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed and met your expectation all of our hotel facilities.Thank you for the compliments about our staff and the Bock Bistro. We do hope to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Pros: Grand building and entrance, central location, great shower
Cons: Restaurant-facing rooms mean early wakeup guaranteed, in need of a refresh, expensive

Upon arriving late at the Corinthia Grand, the spectacle was indeed that of its name: grand. The large staircase, the tall ceilings and impressive architecture were a sight to behold.
The room, too, was pretty good. The shower was great, there was plenty of space and a big comfy bed.
So why only three stars for this review? Well, one major flaw: many of the rooms face onto the breakfast restaurant and every single chair pull from 7am sounds like a whale's mating call; each clink of cutlery sounds like a building site; and mild chatter echoes into something altogether more distracting. It's not ideal for a lie in, so you'd better be up and about early. This issue isn't just restricted to a few rooms either - the breakfast restaurant runs the full height of the building, so several floors on both sides are affected.
A shame, as from the outside and the in this is a grand spectacle, if not one in need of a bit of an update in the rooms.

Room Tip: Request one that doesn't face onto the breakfast restaurant - it's an essential if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay at Corinthia Budapest. I have now had the opportunity to investigate the matter with the Restaurant Manager of the hotel.
I am sorry to hear about the problems with the noise from our Breakfast area and indeed this is most unusual as we rarely receive any negative complaints regarding that. I can asure that our procedures will be reviewed and, if necessary, corrective action implemented. In the same time we will find a solution how to protect chair and table legs to avoid any reoccurance of such problems.
For your own comfort it is worth bearing in mind that hotel staff are available around the clock to assist you with any problems you may encounter. In this situation it may have been possible to offer you an alternative room as out of total 414 rooms, only 98 are facing to this area.
We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests and will endeavour to use such feedback constructively. Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your experience with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corintha and better meeting your expectations in the future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#12 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): $181 - $461
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing