We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I've just spent 4 nights in the Royal Corinthia Budapest. Everything was excellent. Executive room in the inner couryard was spacious and silent. All the people working there are very respectful and strive to make you happy and comfortable. Swimming pool is excellent. The Rickshaw restaurant in the premises is very good. I also recommend the 50 BAR restaurant in 48, Frankel Leo, just five tram stops from the hotel. It's worth the trip! Don't miss the chocolate cake. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,068 - 4,072 of 7,457 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriends 30th birthday based on the many reviews on trip advisor. I think most people when going to a river based city are urged to book hotels directly on the river but please reconsider, this hotel by comparison is good value, grand and beautiful both outside and inside.
My experience of the hotel was on arrival being upgraded to a junior suite, this was located on the second floor at the front of the hotel. There was sparkling wine and fruit for us both to unwind with which was lovely, the check in staff were very helpful and courteous.
I cannot recall the name of the belboy who helped us with out bags but he explained the history of the hotel as we were taken to our room, he along with all the staff we encountered were helpful, welcoming and made a good experience great. There grasp of english was also fantastic and should not be a concern for any english travellers, in addition many staff carry badges with the additional languages spoken by them. I observed German and russian being routinely spoken but I would imagine many more.
The room was large with a front located bedroom with balcony to the road outside, a long corridor with a full dressing area a bathroom and second toilet. We also had a large lounge area at the rear for comfortable seating. The room was clean and tidy with everything we would need along with a turn down service every evening.
My only complaint would be that the heating aspect of the aircon didnt seem to do much and on occasion the room felt chilly to my girlfriend, the room is very large though with high ceilings which may be a factor. Another aspect that may put people off is that the front rooms looking out onto the road are noisey with traffic/trams emergency vehicles etc. The first night we struggled initially to sleep but after all the walking etc we slept perfectly after that and did not notice outside for the rest of the trip. If you are a light sleeper perhaps asking for a rear or internal room would be better.
The hotel also has an exective area which can be accessed by the lifts or stairs, I cannot comment on this as we did not use it.
The hotel has a spar within it premises which we did have access to and consists of a pool, steam room, sauna rooms and two jacuzzis. Staff are on hand for any additional treatments but these are paid for. This area was fantastic and was the perfect way to relax and unwind after lots of sight seeing, you are given robes and slippers to wear from you room to this facility which is nice, seek out the lift on the north side of the hotel to access this without walking through the lobby.
This hotel has several eateries and a bar the only one of which we used was the breakfast room every morning for convienience. We paid for the breakfast deal every morning which gave a buffet experience. The food in my opinion was great with a large selection of options along with coffee's, teas etc. Get there early and you can eat in the open foyer area with vaulted ceilings and wonderful airy feeling, you can see out the glass atrium all the way to the 5th floor.
The cost of food & drink at the hotel will probably be more than you would expect, in my opinion it is expensive as you can find everything locally or with a bit of searching in the city for significantly less money. What i would say is the prices are expensive for Budapest but are no more than what we pay at home, if you want convienience then my experience of food and drink at breakfast time were good and worth the money. If you are on a budget then cheaper options can be easily found.
Some people have complained about the location, please dont be concerned about this. The hotel is not on the river but is still in a convienient location for those who enjoy walking as it is in a more central location, about 15 minutes to the river front or the same if you head to maybe hero square or the shopping centre. If walking is not your thing or perhaps you are feeling less dextrous there are very good tram service's from the front of the hotel which with a map will get you all over the city with ease, also a short walk to the Ocktogon Metro (about 4 mins) will get you access to the metro system which again is quick and clean for getting all over the city.
Dont be concerned about language barriers outside of the hotel either, we had none at all and used the tram and metro routinely. We brought a 24 hour ticket one day (1550huf) from the Ocktogon Metro which was useful and allowed use for that period on trams and metro and buses with out restriction, in retrospect i would purchase a 72 hour ticket about (3500 huf) and use the public system throughout as its clean and very convienient. Having these pases also means you only get it stamped by the seller and dont have to worry about stamping when boarding anything.
Individual tickets require stamping in the oragne/red boxes at stations and on trams when you board, if you dont there is a fine if you are stopped.

All in all our trip was fantastic and made only better by this wonderful hotel. Some people will always find things to complain about but from my experience as a fairly seasoned traveller the problems are insignificant compared to the benefits of this hotel.

Book it, stay here and enjoy.

We certainly did and will return if we go back to Budapest.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter night avoid the front rooms of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trev79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and your girlfriend had a great birthday here. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Grand Hotel is still GRAND! Excellent service and very accomadating.
Well done by keeping up the the high standards & look forward to coming again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you can afford go for the Executive Rooms with all the perks included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for choosing Corinthia Hotel Budapest again. I am happy to read you were satisfied again with ou staff and services. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon .
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel impressed from the moment of our arrival the lobby is very impressive the rooms smart and the breakfast one of the best we have had with enough choice for everyone.
The spa was lovely.The staff were very efficient and helpful, they could not do enough for you.
The position of the hotel was great, most of the restaurants and nightlife appeared to be on this side of the river and very central for sightseeing
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am glad to read that you were impressed by our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and the nice words. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My friends took me to this hotel as a birthday surprise. And it was just that!
Excellent hotel. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment and it was great! We had everything we needed, from 2 bathrooms, to a coffee pot and dish washer.
Staff are very friendly and took us personally to our room.
Excellent spa!
Prime location - a couple of minutes to the main strip with restaurants and a good bar 2 doors down from hotel.
One thing did very slightly disappoint me: the consierge was not very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay again!

Stayed: February 2012
2  Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

I am really pleased to read that you had a great birthday at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest's Royal Residences. Many thanks for the kind words about our hotel and the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,945 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $191 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing