We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“middle of the road - good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Ranked #109 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“middle of the road - good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had a weekend stopover in Beautiful Budapest, the Hotel facilities were good value for the price. There are a couple of things to note. the first is don't get a room in the adjacent building as this means you have to go up one elevator get out and transverse the overpass to get in another elevator - this is a real hassle for people who just want to get out and explore the city. The room was way too hot and no amount of air cond made it comfortable, and the windows are locked. The rooms aren't huge and the safe is tiny. The Metro outside the hotel door made for an excellent low cost stay, close to the Danube.

Room Tip: get a room in the same side of the building as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicardoAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear RicardoAust,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.
You are right, our hotel has two wings - rooms are located in both buildings, and these are connected by a bridge which has a unique panorama of the busiest square in the city. Rooms in "B" wing have also advantages for example swimming pool and sauna can be found there.
Next time if you give us this preference at time of the reservation, you will be accommodated in the main wing.
Regarding the windows, I would like to kindly inform you that because of safety reasons, only the windows of the garden-side rooms can be opened by the guests.

Thank you again for sharing your comment, I hope we can welcome you in our hotel soon again!

With my best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    980
    531
    196
    76
See reviews for
331
774
186
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I recently stayed for 1 night at this hotel for business. I was delighted to find I had been upgraded to a privilege room , with breakfast too. As I arrived late I just had a toasted sandwich in the bar which came with fries , and the bar man was very attentive and helpful. A good night sleep in a quiet room, and the next morning I was given clear direction and map to my meeting by the excellent reception staff. I would certainly stay here next time and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RWHLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear RWHLiverpool,

Thank you for your great comment on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to read you had a great time in our hotel.

Hope to see you soon again!

With my best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel might be excellent if not for two issues.

The bed was really bad. Inclined so you slid aside while sleeping. Sleeping so, nights were not refreshing.

The safe box in the room was tiny, and they don't have any safe deposit facilities at reception. Had to carry my notebook on me at all times.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear AndreyC,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments at the Mercure Budapest Korona. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.
I would like to kindly inform you that next to the reception there is a safe deposit room where you can put even a laptop in a safety box. Our colleagues at the desk are more than happy to help you in this case. An other solution to try the Privilege room which is an upgraded one, where beside other facilities, the safety box is bigger than in the standard rooms, and there is a much softer mattress called "My Bed".

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel soon again.

Best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#113 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#67 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Property: Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Address: Kecskemeti utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): $91 - $195
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing