We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at the Kempsinksi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Ranked #22 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Excellent hotel with a great room and comfortable bed. Not quite as good as the Kempinski in Moscow. Good and helpful service with knowledgeable concierge. Well located for access to the shops, river and basilica.

Biggest shortcoming was the Spa and Pool. The pool was small and the facilities could not cope with the number of guests at prime time.

Restaurant facilities and menu were limited but fantastic Sunday brunch made up for this. Excellent breakfast.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,255 of 3,234 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2008

Was hoping that by paying that little bit extra for a 5 star hotel on New Years Eve 2007/8 in Budapest that we would get something a little bit special for our money !
Well we did !!
We could'nt get a bath or a shower so i suppose that could be construed as being a little bit different !! Truthfully i was fuming ..
We arrived at the kempinski late afternoon after a great flight in on Ryanair from Liverpool , easy peasy Taxi journey into town with Zona Taxi's - a set rate for different districts from the airport into town so no rip offs there .
Hotel looks pretty impressive in a modernist way .
Great setting for the sights , close to the basillica , chain bridge shops , Danube etc but although a pretty plush foyer it was nothing mind blowing like the Four seasons - Now thats what you call something special ....a truly fantastic building .
Check in was fine , could not fault the staff initially ...however i had forgotten my credit card and even tho the hotel had been andpaid in advance they were not very happy about not being able to swipe said plastic to pay for a mini bar that no one in their right mind would touch nevermind pay for £8 for a bottle of Evian ...your having a laugh Kempinski !! get a grip ....Your posh but not that posh ...anyway we got up to our room which was on the 8th floor ...supposedly a deluxe ....well it was cosy , with great furnishings and a fab view of the basillica roof tops and a nice square below but the room was very small as we were up in the rafters ... it was almost attic style .
Our friends had a room on the 3rd floor which was twice the size and their bathroom was superb compared with ours. they had a seperate shower , bath etc . In our room we had a small bath with a shower over it but and a big BUT the shower fittings were only 18 inchs above the rim of the bath which meant you could only shower sitting in the bath or standing holding the hose above your head or in my partners case up to his chest as he is 6ft 2inchs standing and the hose was very short . So i was pretty disaponted with our bathroom but worse was to come .
obviously on New years eve everyone wants to get dressed up , have a nice shower or bath before changing , particurly after flying ...well it was a total no go ...we had no hot water it was -6 outside and who in their right mind wants a cold shower or bath . we reported it was told it would be sorted no one came near our room ...after waiting for over 2 hours my partner went to reception and complained again ..by which time it was 9pm ...a joke ...we were told the hotel was full 800 plus people , all needed to bathe and shower and as we were on the 8th floor it was all used up by the time it got to us !!! ie first floor first served ...this was for real
.... i was apalled , simply not good enough and i nearly choked the receptionist who smiled thru her pearly whites and said " you will be ok for shower tomorrow " Nuff said ..complaint has gone in lets see what happens
Anyway enough of the moaning lets get on with the sarcasm ...Kempinski breakfast 30 euro's per person...again a joke we only paid 30 euro's each for our rooms in the Normfafa hotel
( see my review ) and that included a fab breakfast .....
Mini bar extortionate , bar and resteraunts extortionate and to top it all off the Spa was Tiny , choker block , tiny steam room and sauna , swimming pool tiny and it was bleedin freezin...i mean this is a big hotel 800 people plus and you would be lucky to get 5 people in the sauna's comfortably ...and they have locals who use it too ....ok it was new year i understand it may have been busier and i did manage to get in their when it was empty..ie 7am new years day !!! but the place is still too damn small ...i would'nt stay here again .. simply put great location , too expensive and unreliable service ...i have stayed in a few Kempinskis and frankly i was miffed at my experience in this one
and personally i thought the whole set up lacked any atmosphere or personality ..2 nights and i was bored ridgid ...
to think we paid buttons for our next 2 days stay in the Normafa hotel and it blew the Kempinski hotel away !!!!
We shud have spent our 4 day break for new year in that hotel to be honest the corvonious is not all its Kempinskied to be !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank judithchalmers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Visited Budapest for 4 nights, leaving on Christmas Eve. Kempenski Hotel was absolutely ideal. Only complaint was the swimming pool which although it was heated felt cool and couldn't tempt me after battling against -4 degree weather all day. Still lovely spa though, good steam room and saunas - beware nude bathers! We visited the State Opera House and saw The Nutcracker and would recommend a visit, it's a wonderful experience. Open top bus was good - closed top in winter very welcome! Only downside to hop on hop off bus was that bus stops weren't obvious and unless joining at the Inter Continental, it was difficult to see where the bus might stop along the route. Not many stops either so it might be better to take the 2 hour bus ride which you can't get off along the route but it's a lot cheaper. Do the night river trip, the floodlit buildings are very impressive. We recommend the Cafe Kor just off the Basilica Square for a fantastic atmosphere and excellent Hungarian food. We will return to Budapest and definitely stay at the Kempinski.

Stayed: December 2007
6  Thank CCAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

We chose to go to Budapest for a long weekend, primarily to visit the Christmas market. The hotel was immaculately clean and was perfectly situated for Vorosmarty Sq, where the Christmas markets are held, only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Stayed in a deluxe room which, once again, was immaculately clean and tidy with everything you needed for a weekend stay. The staff at the hotel were very polite and friendly, recommending places to see (or places to avoid, such as Statue Park apparently), arranging taxis etc; they couldn't do enough to help. A word of warning on their taxis though.... when we arrived, a taxi from the airport to the hotel was 4200 HUF and the return journey back to the airport with one of the hotels taxis was 7500 HUFs!!! As with all hotels, bar prices are a little steep but the cocktails and the ambience of the bar are well worth it!
Budapest itself is a wonderful city with lots to do. The local food and wine are lovely. Cafe Gerbeaud is a great spot for breakfast; Karpatia restaurant just off Vaci Utca is very nice with live music most evenings (although a little pricey); and Spoons restaurant / boat is just lovely for a romantic dinner, with views of the Royal Palace and the Chain Bridge all lit up at night.
All in all, a fantastic stay and I would definitely return and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RedHeadTraveller-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel over the weekend. It was highly recommended to us by our Hungarian friends. And it was definately a good choice. We booked a deluxe room. At the arrival we got an upgrade to a suite. Very clean and pleasant room (number 800) and awesome view. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Make sure to check out their piano bar with the live music every night...
Very good location as well.... about 5 min to Basilica of St Stephen, 10 min to the Chain bridge, about 15 min to Parliament building. Do check of the thermal baths in the thermal hotel on Margaret island.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Yuliya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,511 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,450 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $230 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, right at the city center. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing