We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
115
284
126
50
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
284
126
50
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift irish pub next door great location central location pedestrian street no tea coffee facilities first floor nice clean hotel walking distance elizabeth bridge would stay here again major sites the air conditioning hotel is excellent yogurt main sights star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for all manner of amenities, near to bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. The room had replacement towels provided each day and the bathroom was cleaned well. There is currently a lot of building work taking place outside the hotel and do it is very noisy from 5am onwards. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was ok each of the mornings that we went for it. Not a luxury hotel but good for the price.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sainth545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Situated in a quiet side street in Central Pest, the City Hotel Pilvax is an ideal base for a sightseeing and culinary weekend break in Budapest. The Opera House, St Stephen's Basilica, the Great Synagogue and the Jewish Quarter, the House of Terror (museum of Nazi occupation and the Soviet regime), Parliamnet building and the River Danube, are all within easy walking distance, as is the bus stop from which you can go across the river to Buda and the Castle Hill district..
There are so many good restaurants nearby that you would need to return.
The hotel itself is quiet, small ( c 40 rooms across two floors), and staffed by incredibly helpful pleasant people.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank michaelspencerlee272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

The good reviews of this hotel must be long time ago.
We found the hotel not in a good shape, the shower was very dirty and the room service did not cleaned anything. My wife wear a towel around her hair when she go to bed because there is no hairdryer.
After the room was made the towel was still in the bed.
If you will get room 115 the crumbs at the left side of the TV will still be there if you stay there this year.
Ether the whole regular staff was on vacation or a miracle was happen to us.
Avoid the hotel it's in bad shape the windows does not close properly, the only good thing I can mention was the TV my Sohn never saw a such old TV and was really exited how Tv's where looking in the past.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank ReneM2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelManagement, Értékesítési igazgató at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Rene M,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback about City Hotel Pilvax.

Luckily good reviews are continuously coming, however the critical reviews are also (or even more) important for us how we need to develop our services. The housekeeping management take efforts to maintain required standard of cleanliness and improve where necessary. Due to their hard work in general the cleanliness get the second highest score beside the location. As it is written in the Guest Directory hair-dryer is available free of charge at the reception. We are glad we could show something ""new"" to your Son. Indeed, these TVs are not new ones but serve well, however the change of the entire TV network including the devices is planned.

Truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to prove we are committed to provide good service to our kind guests.

Best wishes,
Kálmán Dénes
Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Very good location nearby everything in boedapest. Very friendly people at the reception, room is clean and big enough, everything is a bit old but that's no problem for us as long its clean. Its also quiet in the night. There is no elevator. Breakfast is oke, enough choice. We will chose this hotel again if we ever go again to Budapest.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank philippeluyckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel was close to everything (shopping, restaurants, metro..) and you can easily walk everywhere. Hotel staff was nice and friendly and we got our room 12:00, even check in was 14/15:00. Breakfast was basic but good. Altough this hotel needs little bit update and If you have big and heavy luggage, be ready to carry it upstairs because there is no elevator!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SiniV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews