We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 am - 3:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Central Market Hall
from USD 16.34
More Info
from USD 56.64
More Info
from USD 31.09
More Info
from USD 33.77
More Info
Reviews (8,700)
Filter reviews
8,700 results
Traveller rating
3,026
3,403
1,597
434
240
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,026
3,403
1,597
434
240
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food stalls sausage stalls selling upper floor indoor market leather goods huge market for sale hungarian food goulash beautiful building paprika meats souvenirs upstairs langos tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 8,700 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2019

I very much enjoyed all the vendors in this central market just across the street from the end of a pedestrian mall. The first floor is vendors of meat, especially sausage and spices also interspersed with vendors of liquor and chocolate. The second floor is just about full of vendors of crafts knit goods and great embroidery. It also has numerous souvenir booths little stalls about 2 meters wide. It is hard to bargain here as most seem to have very set prices and very little bargaining. The second floor on one side has a good variety of places to eat local Hungarian food at very reasonable prices with most having stools and shelves to eat at. Now for an additional feature in the basement is an ALDI supermarket with a full deli and bakery and also a good selection of wine and is the central market is served by public transport.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank atravelingsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

My wife and I enjoyed our visits to the Central Market Hall in Budapest. I guess a lot of tourists think that markets are just for them, when the truth is that markets are for locals. People say that there are prices for locals and others for tourists, but I don't know of that in my city, how would that work? We saw lots of locals buying their weekly groceries there. The vegetables looked so fresh and delicious. We bought some cheap bread snacks to eat and a drink. Also we bought some souvenirs of packets of paprika, a fridge magnet and some lacework. The lowest floor seems to sell raw meat and seafood, the ground floor sells fruit and vegetables, bakery, processed meat, wine and the top floor sells souvenirs and fabric goods, as well as a few sit-down food stalls. We have travelled the world looking at markets and this is one of the best ones, with plenty to see and buy. This is one of the historic tourist attractions to see in this city and a visit is highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank MWandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to look around, the stalls are colourful and sell some great fresh produce, not really anything to buy as a tourist in a hotel. If you had an apartment you may find something nice to cook up. Upstairs was just full of souvenirs and over crowded. We grabbed some food from the stalls upstairs thinking it would be cheap and easy... it was hot busy and hard to understand what you were ordering, nothing clearly labelled. We eventually ordered a plate to share and a bottle of coke zero and it was £21.00!! For greasy take away food. When ordering they ask what salads you want and ask if you want certain things all or which are extra however the prices are no where to be seen. This was very very overpriced, it looks great but aimed at tourists.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Hollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Loved this place. It’s colourful, loud and crowded. We made the mistake of visiting at lunch time and couldn’t even get near the food stalls initially let alone find a seat. Eventually got some food and it was cheap and delicious. Oh, and it’s a beautiful building.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019

My wife and I really enjoyed walking around this grand indoor market, especially the fruit and meat stands. It was extremely crowded and many of the things sold were souvenir type of items. If you have the time this adventure is worth your time.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews