We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant
Ranked #473 of 3,632 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: USD 6 - USD 11
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We picked this restaurant as the information guide said it was typically Hungarian food.
The goulash soup was nice and the staff were very accommodatingin offering me a spiced pancake as a starter whichwas not listed on the menu. However, the main courses of pork chops with noodles and Hungarian goulash stew were very average and in fact the chops werevery tough to chew.
The staff were very good but as an overall eating experience it was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekrozsaetterem, Tulajdonos at Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

I'm sorry the pork was not good, but I'm glad you enjoyed the other meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great food we were part of 8 people and we ordered different food.all tasty and for great price.highly recommended

Thank velikanoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekrozsaetterem, Tulajdonos at Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A no frills restaurant with some great Hungarian dishes - excellent value for money especially on the set menus.We were a party of 6 and all of us was impressed at the quality of the food and speed of service and was the best meal of our weekend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekrozsaetterem, Tulajdonos at Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Booked for 14 people, yes we were all men and a stag do but no louder than any other big table, were fine when we were ordering plenty of food and beer but as soon as we paid they wanted us out before we had even finished, even threatened to call the police if we did not finish quicker. Food would have been ok if it wasn’t for that.

Thank Mattpp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekrozsaetterem, Tulajdonos at Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Your group was so drunk that we should not let you go to the restaurant. The beers were sprinkled everywhere. Rejoice that the manager did not call out the policemen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

An excellent authentic Hungarian restaurant at an affordable price.
The place is not a fancy one but this is its charm.
The food is really delicious. i recommend the "Budapest menu" dish which contains
Meat-soup
Grilled goose liver with fried onion rings and with potatoes puree
Pancake in Blue Rose style (Rum,nut,sour-cherries cream,and with whipped cream).
Don't skip the pancake! it's absolutely the most delicious pancake i have ever tried.Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelingManIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekrozsaetterem, Tulajdonos at Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kek Rozsa ( Blue Rose ) Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing