We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hospital in the Rock
Budapest Card
153 Reviews
from USD 25.50
More Info
from USD 53.30
More Info
from USD 53.30
More Info
from USD 71.80
More Info
Reviews (4,304)
Filter reviews
4,304 results
Traveller rating
2,676
1,248
275
73
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,676
1,248
275
73
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nuclear bunker cold war wax figures guided tour medical equipment cave system original equipment red cross air raid short film fascinating place hungarian revolution second world war tour starts interesting visit fascinating history english speaking guide
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 4,304 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Very moving and interesting museum. My teenage son loved this tour. The special exhibit of the Sadako Paper Cranes was the best part.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Keswick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We were interested in this tour as one of our party is a nurse and one works in the nuclear industry. We both loved it! Our guide was very informative and spoke excellent English. The wax models were extremely realistic and brought the scenes to life. We found the tour both harrowing and humbling. Would highly recommend going here. My only criticism is the tour behind us was close at times so if you ended up at the back of the group you could hear what their guide was saying were unable to hear your own guide so stay up front.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Loud44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sziklakorhaz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hospital in the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Loud44,

thank you very much for your kind review! It is great to hear you had an unforgettable time at our Museum. We are making plans to improve our services so thank you for the suggestion too!

Kind regards,
Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

At first we weren't sure why they insisted that it was only a guided tour (we like to explore places ourselves), however, we did discover rather quickly, that it is because the Hospital In The Rock is a labyrinth, anyone would get lost. Timi, our guide was fantastic and very informative, always happy to answer questions throughout the hour long tour. Great for those that love their communist nostalgia.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank MandRRoonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

good informative and thought provoking museum.well informed guides and good exhibits.easy to walk round and lasts about 1hour.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My son and I found this one-hour tour of the Hospital in the Rock to be the best of museum visits we had in Budapest (disclosure that we did not end up getting to many museums). What a fascinating story of labyrinths that were connected and turned into a hospital that went into dormancy after WWII and then came into use again to aid the Freedom Fighters in 1956 and then was re purposed into a nuclear bunker in the 1960s cold war era. I had honestly never been to a WWII museum from the Axis viewpoint before...always visited museums in Allied countries. Our guide took a very balanced approach and very much touched on the price Hungary paid for being on the wrong side of history. I liked the narrative arc of the museums message and my 15 year old sone and I both found the experience thought-provoking and interesting. The physical layout occasionally made it hard to hear the tour guide, so keep to the front or middle if you are in a group of more than 15 people. English tours run on the hour so plan ahead to get there about 15 minutes before an hour.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ironchefmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sziklakorhaz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hospital in the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear ironchefmom,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and feedback on our Museum and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are trying to do our best in order to provide high level services so we are glad to hear you had a great time with us.

Kind regards,
Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews