We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hostel, great location, not ideal for a single room”
Review of Baroque Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baroque Hostel
Ranked #106 of 654 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hostel, great location, not ideal for a single room”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was my first hostel experience. The staff were very helpful and the location couldn't be beat. The hostel is located close to a train line and across the street from the awesome City Park. As noted there were plenty of bathrooms (although they were all off the kitchen, which was unfortunate) and showers. There was a computer with internet connection in the main room and many guide books and resources.

I'd reserved the single room, which is across from the reception desk. It was noisy due to the doorbell and people coming and going. That would have been tolerable since I'm a heavy sleeper, but the configuration was problematic. The room shares a wall with one of the dorm rooms. There are windows in the shared wall which severely limits privacy, especially since the curtains and operation of the windows is controlled from within the dorm room. I checked in and went to my room to get changed, but couldn't because the windows and curtains were open and I couldn't close them on my side of the wall. That was my biggest complaint.

If you're looking for a cool space with dorm beds and friendly staff, this is a great hostel. If you're looking for a single room with privacy, you might want to reconsider.

Room Tip: May want to go for a dorm-style room instead of the single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOD_Northwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
19
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was a completely enjoyable hostel. The beds, kitchen, bathrooms, and showers were all clean. There's a cosy living room with a tv and a laptop (with a camera card slot!). The hostel is great for meeting new people. The staff is very friendly and will enjoy it if you attempt to speak even a tiny bit of Hungarian. With showers: when you turn them on, beware of the spigot turning and spraying you and your dry clothes. It happened to me just once and it was a funny surprise. The shower on the far left is the best. Shower temperature is optimal when the handle is in the middle. With bedrooms: I shifted through a private room, 6-bedroom and 4-bedroom during my stay. 6-bedroom was the best dorm, and, well, the private room was the best private room... There's a nice little gift cabinet in the hostel, with items from 50c to 10 euro. The best thing about the hostel? It's a 15 minute walk from the Széchenyi baths. Spend 5 hours at the thermal baths for only 3200 forints = 11 euros = 15 dollars.

Room Tip: The 6-bedroom is more roomy than the 4-bedroom. What happens in a private room will be heard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The dorm room in which I stayed was more cramped than average when the place was running full. Plenty of bathroom facilities available. Excellent kitchen and lounge facilities. Good location, right at the end of Andrassy Avenue by Hero's Square. Friendly, helpful staff. Try the Paprika Restaurant a few blocks to the east - seriously good food!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legionayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

the private single/double room is not really so private because the room is inside the dorms(which is not informed by the hostel in the hostelworld page), so you have to go in the dorms to go to the room, situation that is not confortable; the room don’t have a lavabo inside and you can hear almost everything from the dorm because the wall is thin and the windows room is inside the dorm and don’t close.
positive points: friendly staff, free internet notebook, relatively good location around 20 to 30 min by foot from city centre and 8 min from metro station, it has a bus stop very next too
In general, is a good choice to people that want a dorm but not so good to who want a private room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besancon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Baroque Hostel is easily one of the best hosteling experiences I've had in my life. The rooms were all immaculately clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly, helped us find our way around, and recommended great restaurants nearby. The location was perfect for us - right near Hosok Tere with its great museums, and it was walking distance to the Szechenyi baths. The hostel itself is beautiful. You feel like you're staying in a 19th century pension! There is a very clean kitchen and a comfortable couch, not to mention wireless, a laptop, and television. One of the staff had a little dog with her, which I loved but some people might not. All and all, I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamplemousse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Mirage Medic Hotel
Mirage Medic Hotel
#84 of 334 in Budapest
115 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#24 of 654 in Budapest
212 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#45 of 654 in Budapest
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#26 of 654 in Budapest
338 reviews
Terézváros
Home Made Hostel
Home Made Hostel
#71 of 654 in Budapest
160 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 654 in Budapest
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baroque Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baroque Hostel

Property: Baroque Hostel
Address: Dozsa Gyoergy ter 80/A, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 654 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price range (per night): $19 - $86
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baroque Hostel is a familiar accommodation in the heart of Budapest which offers you quality hospitality in a youthful environment at affordable rates. The flat was previously owned by a Baron’s family and the original baroque-bohemian style has been preserved with a fresh, modern, minimalist design. Baroque Hostel is located near the City Park (Városliget), where you can find some of Budapest’s most famous sights: Hero’s Square, the Museum of Fine Arts, the Art Hall, the Széchenyi Thermal Bath and the Skating Rink. A short walk from the hostel you will find many typical Hungarian pubs and restaurants.Dive into the real Budapest using the Baroque Hostel as your base for exploring our lovely city!We welcome you in 3 snug lofts with double beds, 2 twin rooms with two single beds, or in 4, 6, or 8 person dorms.Facilities: free Internet and wifi access throughout the hostel; guest kitchen; cable tv; DVD’s, books; common room; reading light; washing machine/dryer; 24 hours security; towels rental; hairdryer rental; free parking on the street. Additional amenities include: ironing board; tours desk; 24 hour reception; garden; tea, coffee, snacks, breakfast; sports in the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Baroque Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing