We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is happening in Casa, no.1 hostel in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa De La Musica Hostel
Ranked #43 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I was directed to this hostel when the hostel I was staying in nearby (which was quite a nice place I must mention) could not extend my stay there, and how fortunate was this!! Casa is large hostel with all the usual hostel facilities as well as own bar! and large terrace!! Accomodation is very adequate, you have multiple stay options in differently decorated rooms. You have your clean room, own locker in the room, easy access to showers, wi-fi through whole building, comfortable reception with computers, kitchen you can use, bicycles available for rent, secuity code to get in to the building and secutiy cards to access rest of areas (security is important!), and other essentials you are looking for in a hostel. But what really makes this hostel stand out is its character and its friendly outgoing staff, and these two points make all the difference.

Large terrace is a nicely decorated place, with a bar which opens in the evening and plays nice music, and a small swimming pool (yes you can swim in it!!!!!) which makes it a perfect place to meet your fellow travellers and enthusiastic and interesting Hungarian staff. Hungarian guys who work there have a very easygoing and welcoming attitude, don't hold yourself back with questions about Budapest, Hungary, its culture, people, or any other topic really. You will meet a range of interesting characters who you will have no problem communicating with due to there outgoing attitude and great knowledge of English. Once you meet other travellers and Hungarian staff while having a beer at the terrace you will find yourself preparing for a great night out as Hungarian staff is able to recommend you a range of mainstream and alternative places to go out, and actually has no problem joining you, or bringing you along with them if they have a chance. The atmosphere is truly amazing. It's easy to see that the staff is not only doing their job, but also enjoys it very much.

What else can I say about the hostel? It's a very lively place as I already mentioned, which I loved of course. The terrace bar will shut at 10pm, by that time you will probably move to one of the city bars/clubs with other people staying at the hostel, but if you are having such a good time, or possibly still planning your night out, that you are still there at 10pm, well, make your way down to ground floor to a bar called Roham (you will see it when you will enter the building) which is open until late. It has inside and outside areas, friendly staff, live shows sometimes, etc. Casa is the perfect location to really have fun. Again query staff on locations, Budapest has a whole range of things going on, so I am sure you will find something for your taste, just don't be shy and speak to staff about your preferences and expectations. I am not going to go into detail about what Budapest has to offer as it has to offer very very much, just search for an article on it. So If you are up for an adventure in Budapest you must stay in Casa De La Musica.

Room Tip: Please make sure you book in advance as this hostel is a very popular one in Budapest, in summer tim...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UserN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Casa De La Musica Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you are going to Budapest, you have to stay at Casa de la Musica. It is cheap, the staff is the friendliest that I have encountered in a year’s worth of traveling in Europe, and the beer at the Hostels terrace bar is only about 1.5 euro/pint.

While other hostels charge you for towels, soap, and the like, Casa does not. They always have someone in reception—which is open 24hrs a day—and that person is always ready to help you find what you need. They also have lockers in reception for free.

The location is also great. You’re just about a 5-minute walk to Szimpla, the first ruin bar. It’s a gigantic bar that you must go to, so you might as well get a hostel that’s close so you can stumble home relatively quickly and safely.

Budapest is hot, so it’s great to be able to take a dip in the perfectly cold inflatable pool that the hostel has on the terrace. Seriously, just get up in the morning, get a beer, and recover in the pool. It’s the best way to do it.

Since Budapest is somewhat spread out, rent some bikes also. The hostel has several that you can rent for just 5 euro.

There is really nothing bad that I can say about the hostel. If you don’t stay here, then you are staying at the wrong place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mls915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

First thing; the price. So cheap! The staff are the nicest people you'll Ever meet, there is wifi and a Very nice bar. The welcome drink is the craziest thing Ever though. If you're going to Budapest you Would be stupid not too stay at casa de la musica!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

At first i only wanted to stay for 2 days, but then I spend more than 2 weeks in the Hostel and experienced all ups and downs.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They sometimes go to a party or a Bar with you, when they end their shift.
The cleaning ladies are friendly and there every day to clean the toilettes, rooms, etc.
There are dancing classes and rooms troughout the building, you will hear a lot of music, but will also see a lot of niece girls or boys if you want to.
I was even allowed to make BBQ in the Hostel Bar and serve some people with my food.

After all it is all the time the people who make a good Hostel and not the Hostel itself, and if you are a friendly person, then you will have a good time here. I had i know and i will be back, even if it is just for a beer and some shittalk and jokes with the staff.

What i didnt like was that i had to leave this place, i tend to get stuck in nice places.

And dont forget to visit the Roham Bar dowstairs for a Friss Limonade and if you give them tips, then the drinks will be better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friday69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

One of the best place I ever seen. Class lessons are so funny, this place is always full of music and life. Staying in the pool on the terrace bar was so great ! The center of Budapest is really close, all the area around the hostel is full of locals pubs, restaurants and clubs ! The staff is amasing, so nice, they help you all the time, give good advices (If you go there trz the bike tour, best day you can spend in Budapest to discover the city !!!) and even show you good places to go after their work. You can spend time with the people who work there when they stop working. And you can make barbecue if you're a good cooker ! I'll be back one day and live there Alex !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthurserres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#96 of 333 in Budapest
199 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#37 of 667 in Budapest
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#31 of 667 in Budapest
351 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#24 of 667 in Budapest
215 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Musica Hostel

Address: Vas utca 16., Budapest 1211, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $20 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa De La Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90-bed hostel in the heart of Budapest with 4/6/8/10/12-bed dormitories, female-only rooms and private rooms, all rooms with shared bathrooms. Free WIFI, free coffee & tea, fully equipped kitchen, summer bar and pool, bike rent & tours, free maps, free linen, no curfew or lock-out! Discounts for groups! We are a few steps away from sightseeing hot spots, cultural monuments, ruin bars and party places! The Casa is designed for the curious traveler, come and explore Budapest while staying at an awesome colorful hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa De La Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing