We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I'm looking for in a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Budapest Hostel
Ranked #64 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything I'm looking for in a hostel”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend chose this place based on rating on HostelWorld and the photos provided. It proved to be a success as on our arrival we were stunned by the large double room with a closet, the clean home-style bathroom and a groovy kitchen/common room. But the best was the staff. Kata, the manager is the nicest, warmest and coolest person that makes everyone feel at home and encourages people to talk to each other. All the staff, Rieka, Judith and Peter were characters and very caring, personable hosts (I'm sorry if i've misspelled the names!!!!).
My boyfriend had a birthday during out stay and the staff girls went out of their way to buy a decent size cake and 32 candles to celebrate it! How cool is that!!! :)
The other guests were very cool and we had fun together in and outside of the hostel. Our one week stay seemed to pass way too fast and we were very sad to leave the Big Fish but we promise to come back! :)

Room Tip: Double room was massive and had bedside tables, lights and a closet. It's as good as double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodishpeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here with some mates in March and was very surprised by the standard of the accommodation. I've stayed in hostels before, but none have been as clean and comfortable as this one. The location is perfect for exploring the city; on a main road (second floor) with a tram stop literally a minutes walk-away.

The bathrooms were modern and clean (towels were provided, iron and ironing board also available), the bedrooms were spacious (bunkbeds) and all had lockers with padlocks. The kitchen/living room was spacious too and had a fridge/freezer, oven, microwave as well as a flat-screen TV with PS3 (games also available including FIFA). The staff were very friendly and more than happy to help with directions etc...one of the staff even joined us for a few beers one night (cheers Blaze!).

As hostels go, I doubt you'll find anything as good as this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Kennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, with 11 mates, in 2 different room in mid March.

Great place to stay - safe, central location, friendly staff, clean, nice communal room, decent beds all with a good vibe.

very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

been there for few days: great atmosphere and the staff was very kind. we enjoyed budapest and the position in not far from the main attractions of this beautiful city and we also visited not so touristic places thanks to the suggestions of the staff.
quality of services very good,from rooms to bathroom, as well as the prices , thanks again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is definitly the best hostel I have ever stayed in. We were in the new annex wich was accross the road from the reception and it was spacious, clean and modern. Quite cheap on top of that !
The people were really nice and had good advice on where to go !
Definitly worth stopping by !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare_ahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Avenue Hostel
#33 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bazar Hostel
Bazar Hostel
#63 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hostel One Budapest
Hostel One Budapest
#85 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#95 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Budapest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Property: Big Fish Budapest Hostel
Address: Erzsebet koerut 33 | 11 doorbell, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price range (per night): $17 - $68
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming, small Big Fish Budapest is perfectly located in the downtown, within walking distance to all the main attractions. We offer huge deluxe dorms and privates, comfortable new beds with lockers, lots of freebies, power plugs and reading lights next to all the beds.There’s new bathrooms and toilets with hot showers, a well equipped kitchen, a cosy common room with a game corner, 24/7 reception, free maps, free towels...you will like it!Our LOCAL staff are experienced in tourism and are always happy to inform you about the city, the country or almost anything you need. We can recommend the best places to go, local food and drinks, pubs and clubs.Laundry service is also available with drying.There’s no curfew and no lockout.We have free Wi-Fi and internet, a huge collection of DVDs to watch and a PlayStation3!Meet travellers, share your travel experiences and learn about destinations. Like Verena said: Welcome home. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Big Fish Budapest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing