We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Danube Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danube Guest House
Ranked #35 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Walsenburg, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose the Danube Guest House for its nearness to all the sites...to be able to walk to each place. We were pleasantly greeted and welcomed...our room was emaculate...Our hosts were very helpful in showing us where we were located and the directions to take to see what we wanted to enclude while we were staying in Budapest!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    44
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
105
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Considering the majestic, drab building facade, the uninspiring, cavenous poorly light foyer with marble staircase, what a surprise to arrive at the bright and cheerfully painted, welcoming entrance to Danube Guest House and the hosts, Zoltan and Bob there to meet and greet. One felt immediately 'at home". My room (5) was very comfortable, with single bed, appropriate furnishings and a tall window onto the street.The decor was simple but in good taste.It was adequately heated. The ensuite was small and compact. The entire apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained. There was some street noise experienced, but lessened once the window kept closed. The one negative was not having a bed side table with a lamp for reading.
The hosts were like a walking encyclopedia with their knowledge of the history and local sightseeing places of interest. They were always on hand to assist and ready with that welcoming cup of tea at the end of the day.Nothing was ever too much, giving the impression that they genuinely enjoy what they do.The Guest House was very accessible to major attractions. It was not threatening to walk the streets after dark. Breakfast was a short walk away at a coffe house where coffee and light food was provided.

Room Tip: Request a room on the inside facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in this lovely accommodation in October 2011. Very clean and well decorated with own ensuite bathroom. Zoltan and Bob were a wealth of knowledge and provided us with very valuable information regarding restaurants, tours and the local area. Good location within walking distance to many local sights. Would be my first choice as far as value for money, location and proprieters.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I just stayed at the Guest House for two nights in an extremely affordable single room, which was clean, cheerful, and neatly furnished. It even had an en suite bath and TV. But, what really made the stay great were Bob and Zoltan, who gave way more than just the standard tourist info. When I was running late for a concert at the Bartok Concert Hall, Bob told me which tram to get so I wouldn't have to search for it. When I got a parking ticket the next morning, Zoltan helped fill out the bill and told me how to pay it at the nearby post office (and Bob showed me where to park the car so I wouldn't have to worry about it again.) And, when I dropped my camera and busted my UV filter, Bob gave me the addresses of two nearby photo shops where I could find a replacement. When you stay here, you get way more than just a room: you really are a guest in their home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennebroek
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent hosts Bob and Zoltan, we felt really welcome and they gave us a lot of information about the highlights and special places of Budapest. Don't miss the Thai wok restaurant just round the corner nearby Szimpla. We stayed in room nr. 1 which was very good, big comfortable bed. Great place to stay within walking distance of the city center.
Szeretünk Budapest! Hady en Peter (the Netherlands).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#96 of 334 in Budapest
461 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#92 of 334 in Budapest
458 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Butterfly Home B&B
Butterfly Home B&B
#6 of 191 in Budapest
509 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 191 in Budapest
652 reviews
Njoy Budapest Hostel
#151 of 657 in Budapest
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danube Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danube Guest House

Property: Danube Guest House
Address: Dohany utca 16-18 | 1/2 Floor 1a, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price range (per night): $37 - $88
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in central Pest 50 meters from the Great Dohany Synagogue.You can easily walk to most everything you may want to see!​The hop-on hop-off bus can be boarded at the Great Synagogue 50 meters away.We are 10 minutes walk from the Danube River!One block away is the most popular "ruin" bar, Szimpla!There are number of restaurants and coffee shops in our block.The public transportation system is outstanding and easy to access from Astoria subway stop just one block away.All rooms have quality heating all ensuite private bathrooms with showers, and central hot water system! Free high speed wireless internet (Airport Extreme) if you bring your laptop. Or you can share our Mac.Hair Dreyer in all rooms.Free breakfast LCD flat screen TV in all rooms with cable channelsThere is a full size refrigerator/freezer for guests shared use.We have free maps and brochures and will give you all the directions and help you need.The building has an elevator so you dont need to struggle with your luggage on the stairs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing