We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour with Tina”

Top Ljubljana Foods Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 109.88*
and up
Ljubljana in a day from Nova Gorica - day tour
Ranked #7 of 35 Food & Drink in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Top Ljubljana Foods city tour combines a guided city tour and a delicious food walk. Get to know the history of the people of Ljubljana and taste the most famous traditional dishes. Perfect for short stays and first days! Get familiar with the town and see and hear where to return for a meal, where to shop and which tourist traps to avoid. Dobrodosli v Ljubljani!
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We had a great time. Tina was wonderful in explaining the food and city history. We enjoyed the tour.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Frankbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sausage"
in 10 reviews
"food and wine"
in 6 reviews
"fabulous tour"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 6 reviews
"informative guide"
in 3 reviews
"prosciutto"
in 3 reviews
"local wine"
in 2 reviews
"great insight"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"lovely city"
in 2 reviews
"slovenian history"
in 2 reviews
"tina"
in 25 reviews
"turnip"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 6 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"overview"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Do not think of this as fine dining. This is a tour that showcases what Slovenia has to offer and the various influences that make up its varied cuisine. The food was very tasty and plentiful for the group as was the wine.
The highlight was Tina Harst, our guide, who made the tour a lot more than just about the food and wine. Her knowledge, sense of humor and enthusiasm was much appreciated.
I think the highlight was the sausage stop, Klobassarna, and then the liqueur stop. I unfortunately cannot remember the name but there was no shortage of liqueurs and chocolates to taste. I will be back to buy some for home.
I think the trip was well priced, and not having done the city tour, gave me a great insight into Ljubljana.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Schmee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

It was 4 hours and the money well spent. Our guide Tina was absolutely amazing, fabulous & knowledgeable. She had a great sense of humour and provided so much more than just the food & wine info. The restaurants & food she chose was proudly Slovenian and we walked away very satisfied.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CoretaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Attracted by the many positive reviews, we decided to participate in this tour instead of having dinner in a ordinary restaurant. We made the booking by phone and learned it started already at 4pm instead of 6pm according to the info we had received in a tourist folder. We are familiar with the idea, and you usually encounter places you would not see otherwise. In addition, you get the food selected by someone else.... sometimes for better, sometimes for worse. Our guide Mojca was very enthousiastic and energetic and shared many personal stories with our international group of 10 (perfect size). She was the best part of the tour. We visited 6 restaurants with a variable quality of Slovenian food (sardines, chicken soup, ham (that was nice...), sausage (for those who like it), pasta, fruit pastry) accompanied by wine also quite variable to our liking. So the food and wine would get on average from us a 6 on a scale of 10, we think it can really be better. In addition, we found the value of the food (and the size of the portions) rather poor compared to the cost (50 euro per person). The final stop was The Skyscraper, where we could overlook the city sunset from a terrace on the 12th floor. A great view, which we otherwise would not have found. The total tour lasted some 3.5 hours. Our group was very pleasant and sociable, which added to the succes of the whole tour. But it are more the tour-aspects then the food and wine aspects that made the tour a memorable event.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Arnold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljaž D, Manager at Top Ljubljana Foods Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Arnold,

thank you for your thorough review! I apologize for the inconvenience related to the earlier departure of our food tour. You must have gotten the last year brochure somehow because the 4 PM departure was put in place in September 2017 due to logistical reasons. As brochures are distributed to hotels around Ljubljana we don't have 100% control over what is issued out and need to rely on receptionists instructions and our guests to read the brochure and validity of prices and schedules. We would love to hear where your brochure came from so that we can arrange a delivery of fresh ones. We will also pass your compliments to Mojca, she is a valuable part of our team and a fountain of knowledge. We appreciate your feedback about the tour itself and the group. We believe that good wine and food enhances creation of new friendships that last for a very long time. I am however surprised about your comments on food quality and would really appreciate a short email on that topic. There are 9 samples of food, served as quarter or third servings (normal for a food tour, otherwise people would not be able to taste such a wide selection) which makes for 3 complete courses, accompanied by 4 samples of wine - as you mentioned, large majority of guests found that to be more then enough. All the restaurants have been carefully selected and are checked constantly for quality of the food and are all mid-range restaurants. If you go to their corresponding TA profiles you will be able to see they have a solid reputation. But, as chefs, cooks and waiters are people like you and me they of course do mistakes and have bad days and maybe luck wasn't on our/your side on that day, but in general I stand behind our selection of restaurants 100%.

Thank you again for your booking and your review!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Absolutely superb 4 hour walking tour commencing outside the Tourist Information Centre at the triple bridge. Tina Hrast is an excellent guide and keeps the group attentive at all times with her knowledgeable anecdotes relating to Slovenia's attractive and compact capital city. The emphasis is on the food and wine rather than on the city tour and I am pleased that I joined a 2 hour walking tour in the morning of the same day for an orientation and more complete guided tour. The two tours are both highly recommended and should not be an either / or choice. Back to Tina's tour - we visited 6 eateries in all and at the first five sampled food ranging from sardines and squids, through dumplings, turnip stew with pork, local sausage and prosciutto with bread, each accompanied by a different local wine. The final venue was 'the skyscaper' where we had a local desert - Mora moving layered cake with the option to purchase a Slovenian beer. It was certainly one of the best walking tours that I have ever joined and can be found on Viator under the heading Ljubljana Food and Wine Walking Tour.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Ljubljana Foods Food Tours also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Top Ljubljana Foods Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing