We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CJSArizona
Scottsdale, Arizona

Very disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 July 2017
The part I loved about Ljubljana was having two nights and days to explore the city and nearby mountains and lakes.The bad part was spending those two nights at this hotel. It was part of a tour package, and this Austria Trend property was the most disappointing hotel I’ve seen in years.
It’s too far away from the historic old town. There is nothing nearby for interesting dining, walking or shopping. (The small local shopping facility adjacent to the hotel is bleak, mostly empty, with just a few unattractive eateries.)
There’s not much in the neighborhood for walking --- office buildings, manufacturing centers, apartment housing, and a freeway. You’ll need a taxi to get you into Old Town, which has nice markets, streets, shopping, and historical buildings to explore.
The hotel lobby gave a nice first impression and my room was larger than average with a sofa, cocktail table and club chair. It went downhill from there.
The bed is the fold-up hide-a-bed type; just a simple platform of wood that lowers from a wooden box in the wall. The wooden platform sticks out 4 inches from the bed itself, which means there are sharp corners to avoid. These corners are hidden under the bedspread and are just the right height to hit your lower legs. After I clobbered one leg, I removed the bedspread from the bottom portion of the bed in order to see where those corners were. Other tour group members said their beds were the same hide-a-bed type. The bed itself is nothing but a very hard platform of foam. I folded two duvets in half and laid them on top the foam slab in order to get any sleep. The pillows were terrible… collections of lumpy foam clumps, too high for neck comfort. I used my soft fleece jacket for a pillow.
The bathroom sink and shower faucets never kept a constant temperature. My showers went from cold to scalding hot. Yikes. There was no bar soap, no shampoo and conditioner (only a general liquid soap) no wash rag (normal for many hotels), and strangely no writing pen, although a small notepad was on the table.
Before dinner I went down to the reception desk to exchange dollars for a few more Euros, but was told none were available. They may have very limited times for currency exchange. The next morning they still could not provide euros.
This was the only hotel on my trip that I was anxious to get out of. Not a good impression, and totally opposite in quality when compared to the very nice Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen in Vienna. If you are an independent traveler, find another hotel in Ljubljana. If you are on a tour package that includes this hotel, then be prepared to use taxis, be careful with your shower water temperature, and watch for sharp bed corners.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$403
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$256
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • InterContinental
    AU$271
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$296
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Pool
OLJU INT
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$220
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis Styles
    AU$271
  • travelup.com
3.0 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Free parking
One66 Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$226
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Ljubljanica river and Zois Palace (Galeria River) behind
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Ljubljana
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
326
423
102
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
423
102
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room nice hotel spa city bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This was our 3rd time staying in Austria Trend hotels. We don't overthink because the service is excelent! Everyone is very pleasant, friendly and great at their jobs. Breakfast is outstanding! Great quality of food and everything is fresh. There is a small parking in front of the hotel. Reservation is needed and its 10e per night, but it's worth it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ancha_bosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LjuKR, General Manager at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear "ancha_bosh", we are so pleased to know you enjoyed staying with us every time and that your expectations were always met when you paid us a visit. Thank you sincerely for taking time to write this review and for keep comming back. We promise to keep our standards high also in the future, so we look forward to your future visits. J Osterman, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We had a family room executive price was 153euro. Nice room, clean and a big bathroom with extra toilet. Minibar not the best I've seen.
Nice staff, the restaurant on the second floor seemed a little bit fancy for us, we had traveled all day by car through Czech Republic and Austria so we took the sports bar on the ground floor, the menu is hamburgers, salads, snack menu etc.
price ok and the food gets 3,5 out of 5.
No pool or anything at the hotel for the family, except a very nice spa for the grown ups in the cellar which also costs extra.
Did not find a children's corner either, had a little problem explaining myself with one of the staff members who did not spoke a word of English, but we did a very good job with gestures and had fun😀.
The kids was a little disappointed at the hotel but I had fun trying to explain to them who all the famous people were who had stayed at the hotel, there is list on the ground floor next to the elevator but my daughters do NOT care about Ben Affleck.
So we went to the BTC mall instead which is only 3000 meters from the hotel, excellent mall👍

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Magnus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LjuKR, General Manager at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear "Magnus O", thanks a lot for taking time to write about your experience with your stay at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana. J Osterman, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Lovely Art Nouveau Hotel in an Upmarket Location.

My wife and I Have some medical issues so I e.mailed ahead to ask for a high quiet room with a shower. They obliged and allocated room 923 on the top floor. Large room with a large bathroom and walk in shower. The breakfast is excellent. Did not eat in the evening so cannot comment on that. All the staff are pleasant and polite. If there is a down side it is the 3 mile walk to the city centre, however, the hotel does have a shuttle bus service that runs at 9 and 11 am into the city not sure about return times as these times didn’t suit us. It is a first come first served basis. We preferred to use the local bus which stops virtually outside the hotel. You can purchase the card for 2 euros at the hotel and load it with any amount. We worked out how many trips at 1.20 euros a trip and loaded it at the hotel with the exact amount. We had a taxi from the airport for 23euros. You could catch a bus for a few euros pp but you would have to get another bus to the hotel and it takes twice as long as a taxi, which took 20 mins. There is a main road outside but not busy, didn’t hear any traffic noise. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Room 923 on the top floor was large and quiet.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LjuKR, General Manager at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear "John W", thank you sincerely for taking time to share your lovely experience with Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and that all your expectations were met. Thank you for staying with us and hope to have the pleasure to host you again sometime soon. J Osterman, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We were in two in we have booked for two nights. We have parked in front of the hotel; with the parking are some troubles, because you don’t get your own parking space. If I remember well you have to pay for parking. Breakfast is diverse and good. They have some Slovenian products but they could have more and more fresh. Because I don’t like elevators I have used steps and remain at the steps because I couldn’t enter at the floor. Those were emergency steps but I wasn’t written. After few seconds of panic I went in to the garage where was open. I said at the reception what happened and that they don’t have sign that those were emergency steps and their response was rude an impolite. Like that it’s normal that steps must be used just in case of emergency. At the end everything was OK, just this reaction was a little bit disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LjuKR, General Manager at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear "Alexina56", thank you very much for taking time to write this valuable review and please accept our sincere apology for the unappropriate attitude of our staff members. Please note that the signs for emergency stairs are placed as per law and since the idea is to use them only in emergency cases and enable an alternative route down to the ground floor and out of the facility they can be "unfortunately" opened only form one side due to security reasons. We are pleased to hear that you had an oveall nice stay with us and we hope to have oportunity to welome you again. J Osterman, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

price, 5/5
food, 4,5/5
place, 4/5
staff, 4/5
service, 4/5

value, 4

+ french balcony in rooms
+ friendly staff
+ free wifi
+ rooms are big and clean
+ good buffet breakfat
- hotel does not dispose of itself parking (short term parking)

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sijared
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LjuKR, General Manager at Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear "Sijared",
thank you very much for your stay and for this short but very detailed and valuable review. Looking forward to your next visit!
Jernej Osterman, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews