We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
134
50
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
50
7
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed longer apartment luggage pedestrian slovenia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night in October and it was lovely, perfectly located in the middle of the old town overlooking the river.

Room was spacious, clean and warm. Staff very friendly, spoke fluent English and happily advised us on places to visit.

I'd stay here again.

Carl

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarldotYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our holiday in this fabulous old town was marred somewhat, by a distinct lack of accommodation to my partners mobility issues (arthritic knee ). She was frightened to use room booked, due to an unexpected complete lack of any handrails on the stairs leading directly to it. It didn't help that these stairs are contemporaneous with the age of the building, being angled on bends and somewhat uneven. Whilst I accept that these stairs would have been adequate for most people, my poor partner naturally felt totally unable to use the room on the top floor, so we were offered a cheaper room below.
Our contention is that this left us out of pocket by about 300 euros, and no refund/credit was given, ( apart from a very small concession on the tourist tax due), this despite being requested by us..
Noise issues with the bars outside, ( at night ), meant that earplugs were also necessary to get sleep.
Staying in the inner pedestrianised zone would be great for fit and young people, but I do feel that inherent issues make it less suitable for mobility impaired persons. We have realised that staying in accommodation just outside this zone would be preferable for us, at least . A free electric powered rickshaw- style transit service called "Kavalir" is available on demand; indeed can be hailed in transit !, and proved to be very convenient , but one obvious
niggle is that it packs up at 8pm, raising the question of access after that relatively early hour ( the nightlife in the town continues to the small hours of the morning , esp at weekends) if one is disabled ????
Obviously, however, pedestrianisation of the inner city is fantastic for enjoyment of ones holiday, (not having to worry about motor traffic dangers / pollution, etc. ) Cycling in Ljubljana is a welcome revelation too, as one might expect, ( on a par with cycling city of Amsterdam.)
Wonderful place for a city holiday, then, Ljubljana, - but our sense that fair play was not adhered to would definitely debar the Mescanka for us, and friends in future. Our more favourable opinions are that the good points were -some friendly, helpful staff, modern facilities, nice view, plenty of room, - but a shame about the intransigence regarding our problem, which elicited no compassion of the fiscal variety !
Personally, I try to avoid complaining about issues encountered on holiday, but we definitely felt the lack of common humanity towards an older person with mobility problem here, and this very distressing experience would not have arisen had a basic safety feature been installed by the proprietors in the first place

Room tip: the highest floor has less effective sound proofing.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Mr

We are really sorry to read your review that followed just a couple of days after we tried to clarify everything to your partner. You have chosen the non-refundable reservation option which means free cancellation or modification is not possible. We have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay.

As explained we have received a non-refundable reservation from you (we do have an option for a normal reservation with a free cancellation option for you to choose) and we were not informed about your disability. On your arrival we did everything we could to make you feel welcome and to assist you in every way possible. As soon as you made a request to move to a lower floor, we moved other guests that were already situated in other rooms and apartments around the house to make that possible. We are a small business and have only one Superior apartment on disposal and we offered you our Studio with the river view on the first floor to make it more comfortable for you. You made a move on your request and we made it possible right away, despite of having to change reservation for other guests.

We do not promote our property as suitable for disabled or say that we have an elevator, which we would love to have, but due to our location in the old city centre in a pedestrian zone and the type of property unfortunately (protected as cultural heritage) that is not possible. All pictures and plans of the rooms, stairways and the whole property are posted on our website and other sites, so you are clearly informed in advance and you know what to expect.

We are not a hotel, but an apartment/room rental and we offer cleaning every 5 days and changing of towels every 2 days on guest's request depending on the lenght of the guest's stay and we did that for you. We do offer extra cleaning service on guest's request for extra charges. All this information is posted on our page www.mescanka.si and also on booking.com where you made your reservation.


We make sure that all the staff working in Mescanka is polite, open and helps our guests as much as possible. We are glad other guests acknowledge that daily.

Hope you still had a nice vacation in Ljubljana and Slovenija.

Kind regards, Saša, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Superior Apartment we booked was magnificent - but there were no banisters or stairs from the 1st floor to the 2nd, where our Apartment was located! As I have mobility problems and had recently had a fall - the lack of support when climbing up or down was not possible without serious consequences to my health. We asked the Manager, Petra, if she could give us an alternative on the 1st floor (which did have bannisters) but she said there was nothing available, and told us very abruptly that she would not refund our money we had already paid! I really panicked then and told her that we would take a single room (although had paid for 2 rooms and 2 toilets) without payment from them of the differential which was c.300e in total for the 11 days we were there! She "apologised" somewhat aggressively for the lack of bannisters & said she was not aware of this and would repair it in due course??? But she was quite adamant about not giving any compensation for our loss, So we stayed in one room having paid for 2 with 2 toilets and my partner was very angry about this and we went to the Tourist Information, who said that in Slovenia there are no laws about Health & Safety as in England??? \ Her attitude and lack of compassion was something I have not encountered before - and having admitted liability I would have thought at least a gesture of goodwill in refunding some of the moneys we had paid out would have gone a long way into making this a happy holiday for both of us. \ I will tell anybody who goes to Llubljana NOT to stay at these rooms & apartments which is something of an upmarket hostel. Our room was only cleaned once in 11 days - as it is their policy to only clean once each 6 days, and we stayed there for 11. So only had clean sheets and a cleaner in the room once! Shame on you!!! (I will enclose photos after these have been uploaded as only back now for 3 days)..

Room tip: A good place for those under 40 or 50 - or particularly agile and disco-loving people - also for those who don't mind NOISE..
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catlover9cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Ms

We were really sorry to read your review, especially because we have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay.

We have received a non-refundable reservation from you (we do have an option for a normal reservation with a free cancellation option for you to choose) and we were not informed about your disability. On your arrival we did everything we could to make you feel welcome and to assist you in every way possible. As soon as you made a request to move to a lower floor, we moved other guests that were already situated in other rooms and apartments around the house to make that possible. We are a small business and have only one Superior apartment on disposal and we offered you our Studio with the river view on the first floor to make it more comfortable for you. You made a move on your request and we made it possible right away, despite of having to change reservation for other guests.

We do not promote our property as suitable for disabled or say that we have an elevator, which we would love to have, but due to our location in the old city centre in a pedestrian zone and the type of proprety unfortunately (protected as cultural heritage) that is not possible. All pictures and plans of the rooms, stairways and the whole property are posted on our website and other sites, so you are clearly informed in advance and you know what to expect.

We are not a hotel, but an apartment/room rental and we offer cleaning every 5 days and changing of towels every 2 days on guest's request depending on the lenght of the guest's stay and we did that for you. We do offer extra cleaning service on guest's request for extra charges. All this information is posted on our page www.mescanka.si and also on booking.com where you made your reservation.


We make sure that all the staff working in Mescanka is polite, open and helps our guests as much as possible. We are glad other guests acknowledge that daily.

Hope you still had a nice vacation in Ljubljana and Slovenija.

Kind regards, Saša, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Great apartment with easy check in and check out. Clean and extremely spacious. We also liked how central the apartment was, but also quiet with the windows shut. Keep in mind that it's right in the heart of the city so there will be a bit more noise. Loved it!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This quaint and comfortable small hotel is right above a restaurant along the riverfront. We were there for only one night, a Friday, and there was street noise (festive, still noise) until the wee hours. But the windows muffled the sound quite nicely. Charming and a perfect location, central to everything on the riverfront. Motor vehicles are not allowed in this part of the city. There is a company (Cavalier) which provides Old Town transportation in golfcart-like vehicles--and it's free, just don't forget to leave a nice tip. There is also a taxi stand a walkable (even with luggage) five minutes away,.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kazwaz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews