We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #91 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Federated States of Micronesia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here with my wife, very nice hotel. Good location, helpful staff. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unknownis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel and hope to have an opportunity to have both of you here again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    207
    94
    38
    33
See reviews for
97
276
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is right in the centre of the old town, just a couple of minutes walk from the main square. Plenty of bars, coffee shops and restaurants nearby. And a nice little bakery just up the street.

Our room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but adequate. The rest of the hotel was pleasant - old style furnishings, but with a clean modern feel. Service was very friendly.

Like some of the other reviewers, I'm not sure it's quite 5 star luxury, but nevertheless a very good hotel. Good value too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello, thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that you liked the location and the Hotel itself.

Concerning this part of your feedback:

'I'm not sure it's quite 5 star luxury, but nevertheless a very good hotel..' - first of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us, I would be more than happy to make some changes, just please let me know what in your opinion we can do to make the place more '5 star luxury':)

I look forward to accomodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed here with my sister for a lecture by Norman Davis, the reason we chose this hotel was the great location, it is located very close to the historic city center.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, they showed us to our room and explained all the amenities that the rooms offered.

Like many others have mentioned the hotel has a lot of marble, which helps give it a special atmosphere. Our room was nice and large, as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable, perhaps the view from the room could have been a little better.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to live close to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello, thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I am glad to hear that the house accomodation worked well for you and I hope that you will be back again (we will do our best to find a room with the best view we have).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

When you say ‘The Grand’, you think of luxury and flamboyance. Well, there are many things missing here that you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
That said, it’s plush old style interiors, welcoming staff and cozy rooms make it a nice place to stay. It’s also a pleasantly unique experience.
It’s in the heart of the touristy town square, where all the action is. They have a small breakfast spread, but good eats.
If you have the time, you can simply walk to many of the tourist attractions, like the famous church, the castle, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We found all staff to be friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were delicious and properly presented. Although the room/bathroom were small they were perfectly adequate for our purpose. Towels and toilet paper could have been more luxurious. Dined in the cafe one night as too tired to go out. Nothing out of the ordinary but well cooked and presented. Other nights came back to the Vienna Lounge for coffee and brandy which was a haven after full days of sightseeing and we were well looked after by the young girl who always seemed to be on duty. Were there staff shortages?
Would go back if ever in Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking inner courtyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 259 in Krakow
471 reviews
Hotel Stary
#55 of 259 in Krakow
684 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 259 in Krakow
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,060 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#34 of 259 in Krakow
481 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price range (per night): $164 - $679
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing