We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Beautiful”
Review of Main Market Square

Main Market Square
Ranked #1 of 265 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Huge 10-acre square, the largest in any of Europe's medieval cities, features the 16th-century Renaissance Cloth Hall and the splendid 14th-century Gothic Basilica of the Virgin Mary.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Around Easter they have a local market in the town center that sells lots of food as well as homemade items. IT was worth the visit. The surrounding area has many churches and historic building that have been around for centuries.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ASHLEY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cloth hall"
in 1,297 reviews
"watch the world"
in 669 reviews
"market square"
in 1,021 reviews
"christmas market"
in 478 reviews
"horse drawn"
in 464 reviews
"street entertainers"
in 151 reviews
"lots of restaurants"
in 293 reviews
"mulled wine"
in 160 reviews
"indoor market"
in 155 reviews
"cloth market"
in 197 reviews
"every hour"
in 293 reviews
"lovely atmosphere"
in 138 reviews
"old town"
in 775 reviews
"underground museum"
in 219 reviews
"stalls selling"
in 183 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 172 reviews
"rynek glowny"
in 154 reviews
Filter

1,698 - 1,702 of 22,898 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited over Easter so they had lots of market stalls , a stage and different street entertainers set up . The horse and carriages are lovely for a trip around the old city.Market place is great for bargains . Lots of drinking and eating places and is a fun place to be.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 860marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This square packs a lot into a relatively small area. You can walk the entire thing easily. There are 100s of restaurants and some very good hotels. I recommend Venetian House in the square. The cloth hall dominates the center of the square and had some neat little vendors. The cathedral is beautiful. We lucked into their Easter Market which was small, quaint, and mesmerizing. Be mindful of the horse drawn carriages, they are plentiful. We didn't ride them; I never do out of principal but if it's your cup of tea, they are available.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The main market square had an amazing atmosphere which literally comes to life in the evening. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting. There are plenty of places to grab a coffee or some food. The variety is immense. We had a fussy teenager with us and we didn't find it difficult at all. We all thoroughly enjoyed our time here

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is the biggest square in Europe and is home to some very beautiful and impressive Polish architecture. Naturally it is packed full of tourists in the summer and the prices in the bars and cafe's that surround the square reflect this. However since Poland is not an expensive country in general, this should not put you off. I recommend going in the early morning to enjoy the square at it's peaceful best, sit and have a coffee and enjoy the surroundings while the rest of the city wake up. A horse drawn carriage around the square may seem like a nice romantic idea, but please spare a thought for the horses who circle this square time and time again in freezing cold and blistering hot weather.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Wroclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Market Square also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Main Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing