We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return for sure :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #24 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will return for sure :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

After reading reviews for almost every hotel in Prague we decided to go for the General.

We stayed at the hotel for a short weekend trip.

We were picked up by the hotel driver, always convenient after a flight.

When we arrived I noticed how the posh reception and all the staff were nicely dressed and of course the WHITE GLOVES.

At the hotel, the porter took care of the luggage and the staff escorted us to the bar in which they offered us a drink and told us about things to see and do in Prague. It was excellent and we had a lot of questions in which they could answer all of them.

The hotel room was nice, size was ok for a short weekend. I liked the detail that each room was named after a General (Marshal, Hannibal etc)

The toiletry (see photo) was good.

Since we went on an excursion the first morning and we got a packed breakfast which was really nice :) (see photo)

We also received a complementary wine for a birthday celebration which is really amazing and thoughtful, did not expect.

The next day we had breakfast which was really good. I was not sure if one person could choose more than one meal, I went for the omelette that was freshly made.

Overall, I would return to the hotel. Price and convenience and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcopolworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Marcopolworld,

On the behalf of all hotel General team I would like to thank you for such positive review. It gives a great pleasure to know that our teamwork has helped to make Your weekend trip an unforgettable experience and You have enjoyed Your stay with us.

We thank you once again for your stay and hope to welcome you back at the General soon.

Sincerely,

DOS - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    139
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
174
854
53
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

First of all my sincerest thank you to the staff and management of this truly remarkable hotel. From the moment we stepped foot into the hotel, first impressions count....and these were perfect. The staff attentive and helpful and genuinely helpful, welcoming and knowledgeable. A welcome drink, stunningly appointed lobby, and everything provided to ensure our stay with the hotel was the most memorable. We were graciously upgraded to a stunning set of rooms, which were beautifully furnished with thought and care, though I am sure should we have only had a double room, it would have been beautiful. Any entertainment we wished for was ordered for us, one regret being we decided to eat at the the Bellevue rather than the hotel recommended by the Hotel. We travel a lot in Europe and America and thought we experienced excellence before...but this was beyond excellence. The dining room was once again beautifully decorated, and the selection offered for breakfast was wonderful, everything fresh and tasting as good as it looked. For our next visit we will try to dine at the hotel in the evening.
I cant wait to go back there, its my new favourite place, and when I think of our time there, its with great memories of a perfect anniversary, and a hotel and staff that know how to please. Once again thanks so much.......perfect

Room Tip: Of course, face the courtyard if you want more peace, however the road is not so busy anyway.....Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misspiggy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear misspiggy65,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay with us and such fabulous review. It gives us a great pleasure to know that our efforts towards high quality service and client satisfaction were so highly appreciated. It gives us joy and impulse for further improvement.
We are glad that our teamwork has made Your stay in Prague an unforgettable experience and hope to see you on your next trip to Prague.

With warmest regards from all hotel General.

DOS - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varberg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my wife had 5 nights here end of January. When we arrived at the hotel we got a surprise - we were upgraded to a suite (of course without any cost).
At my wife´s birthday the other surprise were delivered when the hotel gave her a bottle of a fine red wine (and I was not behind this, promise) to drink toghether with me in our suite.
The staff is both friendly och serviceminded, the hotel itself is small and cosy, and luxorious. I am sure I will come back here in a very near future. Prague is very nice, Hotel General (and the staff) is first class.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear esmj (Magnus Johansson),

On the behalf of hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay and such warm review.
It gives us a great pleasure that our teamwork has helped to make your stay and wife's birthday nice and unforgettable Prague experience.
It is great to receive such nice evaluation of our work and we are glad that you consider to stay with us during your next stay in Prague.

Till your next stay in Prague we remain truly Yours,

DOS - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I booked to stay at hotel general for our first wedding anniversary. We based our decision on the fabulous reviews for this hotel and were not dissapointed. We requested the limousine service from the hotel (a lovely Audi A6), which was reasonably priced at approx £24. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a complimentary drink and we were shown to our lovely room. In the room was a complimentary bottle of wine with a lovely note wishing us a happy anniversary - a lovely touch. The room was extremely clean, warm and comfortable - we had the best nights sleep in the comfortable bed. The staff in this hotel can not do enough for you, such as making restaurant reservations to booking taxi's, providing excellent information about the local area. We were extremely grateful to the hotel for allowing us to keep the room on longer as we had a late flight. The location of this hotel isn't central but you can jump on a tram (5mins walk) and get into town in less than 10 minutes. The trams are very a cheap way of getting around and actually quite a fun way to travel - they are also very frequent. For eating out we would recommend he Bellevue restaurant (rated highest in Prague) for gorgeous food and fabulous views of he palace!! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gowst81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Gowst81 (Liz Wadley),

On the behalf of the hotel General team, I would like to thank you for your stay and such possitive review on our provided services.
It is a real pleasure to hear that our efforts towards the greater service made your special anniversary even more unforgettable and your trip to Prague - an unique experience.

Once again I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

DOS - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel last October. The staff were always very kind, friendly and helpful. They welcomed me with a glass of champagne and a lot of helpful information with city map. The room(single room) wasn't so large, but was really clean and cozy with a pair of complementary slippers.
I traveled 16 countries in Europe last fall, above all, I think this is the best hotel I stayed during this journey.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakutaroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear sakutaroh san,

On the behalf of the all hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel General and such positive review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next trip to Prague you will chose to visit us again.

With best regards from Prague,

DOS - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#26 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#30 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): $116 - $263
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague
Hotel General Prague, Bohemia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing