We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique idea, special birthday surprise, wonderful location”
Review of Botel Matylda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botel Matylda
Ranked #84 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Superior room was a very high standard with wonderful shower and very good breakfast on boat behind. Great central position

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanna1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Botel Matylda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

Booked here for our wedding anniversary dinner and couldn't fault the welcome, service, food and wine. Because I am claustrophobic we asked when booking for a table as close to the outside as possible but not on the terrace in case the weather was poor. We got exactly that just inside the double doors to the terrace. The food was really good and the setting was perfect with swans visiting every few minutes. We had two courses, Octopus with pesto and a greek salad to start with and duck for me and steak for my husband. Including the bottle of wine this came to about £90 and we thought it was well worth the money. Thank you to everyone for a very special evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Great location!! Very special hotel! Different atmosphere due to the hotel being a house boat! The rooms have a o.k. size but who needs a gigantic room anyway? Therefore, we would give the room a 4 out of 5 but only because there was no aircon and it was super hot in July (around 38 degrees). Great location - close to everything! Clean rooms, international programms on TV, every room had a fan and nice, clean bathroom with great shower! We slept like babies, not noisy at all.

I would truely recommend a stay there! -- ABSOLUT EMPFEHLENSWERT

Cheers & have fun

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

First of all be aware this is actually two boats now, the original was Matylda and now moored next to it, is Klotylda but you book it as if it were Matylda.

This hotel is basically 2 converted barges moored on the Vltava river by the Mines gallery and on the junction of the Jiraskuv Most bridge. Klotylda is brand new and was not quite finished when we stayed. When we were there the Air conditioning was not yet wired up and the first two days it was stifling with the outside temp around 24 degrees C, if it were not for the breeze it would have been unbearable and stuffy. I would advise checking if it is fully working before you book.
.
We stayed in one of the Executive Double rooms (no 17) which was on the walkway side unfortunately, so did not get a river view. The rooms are very small and cosy and I do not think great for more than a few days. As we had to have the windows open due to not having the air con it was quite noisy during daylight and evening as the constant traffic and police ambulance sirens went by.

Its location is good and outside of the very expensive central areas, yet the no 17 tram stops right outside and for 26KC (£1) you get into town in about 8m. I would advise buying the 100kc ticket from the local underground stations as this lest you on bus, train and trams all day for the equivalent of £4 !

However for all its failings this was a great place to stay, easy to get to, pleasant and comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was the best we had in Prague (but also the most expensive) and the surroundings were good. I recommend this for its quirky way and being so unusual. It is not the best place we have stayed in but far from the worst and I would recommend it as being good value for money and easily accessible without the madness of the central nightlife. 8/10

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t16tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I had an very pleasant and quite unique stay in Prague for 4 weeks in February/ March 2010. I stayed at the Botel Matylda, or to be more specific at the sister ship Klotylda. The boats are moored next to each other on the Vltava river in the middle of Prague next to the "Fred and Ginger" house designed by Frank Gery and only a five minutes walk from the National Theatre. As I was staying for a longer period,I had booked a junior suite on the upper deck of Klotylda. . It is one of the most charming hotel rooms I have ever seen. The old river boat has been beautifully renovated with emphasis on quality. From my room I had a direct view to the Prague Castle. I was a bit worried about the temperature, as it was bitterly cold when I arrived. However the boat was warm and comfortabl. Even though the boat is moored in the center of the city there was no traffic noise. The only sound you could hear was the ducks and swans in the morning. The cabin (room) did also have a small private deck, where I was given a table and two chairs when spring finally came. The breakfast was served in the sister "ship" Matylda which had one of Prague's best Italian restaurants. The staff (crew) on both boats were exceptional and did everything to make my stay a pleasant one. It was a privilege to stay in Prague under such conditions and I give my warmest recommendations toi this very special hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 648 in Prague
681 reviews
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#257 of 648 in Prague
238 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#310 of 648 in Prague
637 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 648 in Prague
2,372 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#33 of 648 in Prague
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Matylda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Matylda

Address: Masarykovo nabrezhi 36, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#74 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#116 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $111 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botel Matylda 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Botel Matylda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Matylda Hotel Prague
Botel Matylda Prague, Bohemia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing