We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House at the Big Boot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #1 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We absolutely loved our stay with Jan and Simone. After staying in the huge Marriott across town on our first night, the House at the Big Boot had a lot to live up to. However, from the moment we first stepped inside the hotel we were treated with such top quality hospitality that we regretted our time in the Marriott and wished we had booked here for another night instead!

Jan and Simone welcomed up with open arms and offered us a lovely cup of coffee whilst they briefed us on all the local amenities and places to see. This was a wonderful touch and added real value to our trip. Following this, every morning we were welcomed with Jan in the kitchen offering a wide range of breakfast options and lovely conversation.

Finally, the rooms are decorated with Jan's ancestor's furniture which provides a beautiful and comfortable living space.

Absolutely no faults with this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit Prague and see it through the eyes of people who genuinely love the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SairBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    23
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
238
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Dum u velke boty. After being picked up at the airport by Tomas, we were warmly welcomed by Jitka who provided us with a map and a wonderful overview of the area, including restaurant recommendations and local attractions. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with an en suite bathroom. This is a homey, cozy place, not a fancy or formal atmosphere. We enjoyed our morning breakfast, including the hospitality of the hotel staff and getting to know our fellow guests.The location is perfect--it's on a quiet street close to several embassies. It's an easy walk to all the great attractions, including the Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square and lots of restaurants, cafes and theaters. Jacob, the son of the owner, was a delight. He was friendly and set the tone for the great service provided by everyone at the B&B. He assisted us with theater reservations to the opera and a classical music concert, and also helped us find a wonderful private tour guide who walked us around the city and took us to Terezin for a day trip (PragueWalker Tour Guides were great!). We chose the hotel after reading reviews on this site and in Rick Steves' guide book, and it didn't disappoint. We found it to be a great value with wonderful service and a very pleasant stay. We would definitely recommend this B&B to other travelers.

Room Tip: Not sure if they offer this, but our bed was two twins pushed together. If you want one larger queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Following 2 recommendations the House of the Big Boot did not disappoint.What an amazingly beautiful building with flowers cascading out of window boxes. It was so conveniently located within walking distance of the Castle, the Charles Bridge, Lesser Town Square ( with Church of St Nicholas) with its numerous eating places. The Metro was 20 min. walk. I was fortunate to be allocated a small apartment in the building adjacent.It was directly located onto the street front but was quiet, opposite the German Embassy and a short walk from the USA Embassy. The room was enormous in size, very high ceilings, with beautiful antique furniture and an extremely comfortable bed. It was well heated. The Dining area + kitchenette contained another sofa bed. The bathroom was very spacious, white and bright with a bath and separate tiolet.The hospitality was exceptional with Jan and family ready to please and assist. The breakfasts offerred in a cosy, well furnished dining room, were aweome with such choices. Enough food to not need lunch during the day. The restaurant recommendations were excellent exposing one to genuine Czech Republic cuisine. The facility was spotlessly clean and well maintained with infinite detail to everything. It is a safe and secure area to walk both day and night.

Room Tip: As there is very little traffic in this area any part of the building would be quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We booked on the reviews from Tripadvisor. On being collected from the airport by Jan who gave such an indepth overview of Prague and it's history. On arrving at the B&B we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room which was large and spacious and spotlessly clean, with the most amazingingly comfortable beds, which for us is a number one priority. And yes, the breakdfasts were wonderful. Jakub and Jan are wonderful hosts and full of information on where to visit and the best places to eat. We would highly recommend the House at the Big Boot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My boyfriend and I have been travelling all over Europe and this was our 9th B&B in the last month. This place had the best breakfast we have had at any B&B in any country. My bf is still talking about it 2 weeks later.

In addition to the fantastic breakfast the hotel is clean, rooms are large and the shower is great. The hosts are absolutely fantastic going above and beyond to make sure we had everything on our stay. The owner even gave us a ride to the train station and walked us to the platform to make sure we got to the correct train. Although we are seasoned travellers this kind of attention left us with the greatest feeling.

The B&B is a 5 minute walk to the old town just below the castle. If you really want to stay in the old town, trust us, stay here instead and you won't regret your decision.

Thank you for a fantastic stay, we loved Prague and when we come back we would not even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MFBM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Property: House at the Big Boot
Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague
House At The Big Boot Prague, Bohemia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing