We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel U Pava
Nearby Hotels
USD 200*
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 278*
USD 250*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 234*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 398*
USD 251*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 395*
USD 256*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Galileo Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
USD 215*
USD 165*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
K+K Hotel Fenix(Prague)
USD 205*
USD 197*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 337*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 235*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Well Hotel(Prague)
USD 846*
USD 819*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
165
163
32
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
163
32
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmala stranacharles bridgeprague castlesmall sitting roomgreat locationbigger windowsnice squareperfect weekendold townamazing roomcozy hotelmagical citycomfortable bedfew minutes walkdinner reservationsclose proximityexcellent breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Hotel staff were GREAT! We booked a two person room, they were able to make it a 3 person room when we showed up. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

The veiw from our room was AMAZING (a view of Prague Castle).

If you don't like/can't handle stairs this is not the hotel for you. We didn't mind the stairs (4 flights to the top floor), but can understand how they are tough for some.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericaninEngland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

What a disappointment, after a lot of research, we arrived at the hotel U Pava. The outside seemed really romantic and pretty, but once inside, we started to feel slightly unhappy. The receptionist was not very friendly and we made our way up to our rooms up the long staircase, which we were aware of beforehand, but was quite a climb with suitcases in tow. Our rooms smelt very strongly of smoke,even though they were advertised as non smoking rooms. The bathrooms had not been cleaned and were left in a most disgusting state. After complaining, the hotel staff said that if we went out for our evening meal they would clean the rooms. We returned after approx 3 hours, to find this had not been done. We spent a very unhappy night in the rooms and left the next morning, to the hotel Kampa. A little more corporate, but clean and very helpful staff. Shame on you U Pava.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank joanvenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We arrived VERY early at U Pava (07:15 local) tired and in need of sleep. The staff didn't flinch, despite our booking being in my first name and not my last name which had us worried, they gave us our room immediately and didn't charge us a cent more.

The staff were very accomodating, polite and welcoming.

Our room (207 - on the first floor) was wonderful. It had two individual sets of four steps which would be tricky for anyone with a disability but posed no challenge to us. The ceiling was very ornate, the furnishings perfect. The TV was tiny and had only one English language channel, but if you're in Prague for the TV you're missing a world of culture and history on your doorstep.

A five minute walk from Malastranska metro station and tram stop. U Pava is on the lower side of Mala Strana and is easily walkable, as opposed to a number of hotels on the steep climb to the castle or within the castle walls.

U Pava is a stone's throw from the Kafka Museum, and a two minute walk from the foot of Charles Bridge.

The location is extremely quiet and has a triangular park outside the front door.

Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. Plenty of coffee and juices, pastries, cold meat and cheeses.

Hotel menu was a little expensive for our budget (480 Kr for lamb seems steep) so we didn't take advantage of their quaint dining room in the old wine cellar.

We were never bothered by cleaning staff (in fact, we never saw them).

This is a romantic hotel in a perfect Mala Strana location that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank but7_villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed at the U Pava for 5 nights this last month. We booked it through Travelcook.com. We originally booked Hotel Certovka through them because they offered the 5th night free on the website. After booking we were told the 5th night was not free because it is the busy time of year. Well, I see they are still offering that 5th night free on the website. We decided to change our booking to the U Pava. We were told by Travelcook that they would give us a deluxe room. That didn't happen either. They also offered free airport transfer with our booking. We did get that although the driver showed up in an unmarked vehicle and wasn't too friendly. I will admit it was 5am so will give him the benefit of the doubt on that one and he did get us to the airport.

With all that said, we were happy with our room and our stay at the U Pava. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a small window looking towards the Castle. We did have an elevator to our room which not all rooms in this hotel have.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room was pleasant and the food good.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is only a couple of blocks from the bridge in one direction and the metro station in the other. There is a small park in front of the hotel on a nice square. There is also a large park inside a wall across the street from the hotel. It is very quiet in this area compared to the area just a few blocks away in either direction. There are plenty of restaurants just steps away. We did not try the restaurant at the U Pava so cannot comment on that.

If we were to return to Prague we would definately stay there again. I think I would book directly with them and be sure we knew exactly what room we were getting. I would probably request a room on the second floor with bigger windows and facing the castle. For us the elevator wouldn't be an issue except on the first and last day with luggage.

Hope this has been helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readyinredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My wife and I stayed here over New Years Eve for 3 nights and we really liked this place. Location is fabulous - just a 2 minute walk to Charles Bridge, yet positioned on the corner of a quiet square. Some rooms have views of the bridge, others of the castle and some have fireplaces. Our room had a hallway and ornately decorated ceiling, Bed was large (not a king, but big enough) and comfortable.

We ate in the restaurant, which is located in the basement, and not only was the location great (it's set in a cellar with gorgeous painted ceilings and fireplaces), but the food was excellent and we paid approx. £45 for a meal for 2 (starters, mains, water and wine). The breakfast set-up was a little cramped, but there were many options including omelettes and bacon etc.

Staff were always ready to help and spoke OK English.

Bathrooms were not large, but sufficient and clean. We really enjoyed this hotel - it's not like a good Hilton or a Hyatt, but has its own distinct charm.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews