We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“U Pava: Cigarette Smoke Smoke Smoke”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel U Pava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel U Pava
Ranked #177 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
dolomites1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“U Pava: Cigarette Smoke Smoke Smoke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Likes:
Beautiful building
Good location
The blonde receptionist is very nice and professional
The hotel room cleaner was friendly and professional
The lady responsible for keeping breakfast, coffee and tea ready did a good job.
They carry AltHous tea, the highest quality tea that I have had in a very long time.
They have a hotel driver that picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. The driver cost us 24 Euro or 600 Kc each way. A bit on the expensive side but worth the cost since we didn't have much time to prep. I heard that AAA taxi is cheap and does a good job.
- If you hang a right out the front of the hotel and follow the cobbled road, there is a beautiful garden/walking path on the left and through a gate. For me, this was the prize of the trip. There is a church made out of stalagtite and is weathered but unique and gorgeous.

Dislikes:
- Our initial room #105, one of the renovated rooms, had a garden view and happened to have a construction worker living in it. Of course he took one of the good rooms! We were "upgraded" to #201, a 2-room with a castle view located in the old section. I believe that all of the castle views may be in the old section. Not worth it but do as you wish.
- The safe door was broken and useless. The door apparently had been prybar'd open.
- The unprofessional, brown-haired and middle-aged receptionist was pre-occupied with indoor smoking, gossiping with friends and buying goods out of the trunks of anonymous persons vehicles rather than focusing on the hotel customers and service. I could deal with all of this, except the smoking which filled the entry hall. This alone, despite everything else, will be why I will not visit U Pava again.
- Our room (#201), castle view, was continually filled with cigarette smoke; absolutely disgusting. It is winter and still the smoke was so bad that we would get up and open the windows and freeze our buttocks off. In the morning, I had to wash the 2nd-hand cigarette smoke out of my hair; this should indicate to you how bad it was. My lungs and sinus cavities were very irritated by the smoke also.
- The castle views have a busy street located on the other side of the wall and the service trucks were loud in the morning. My personal opinion would be request an interior garden view for beauty and silence-sake.

Conclusion:
We paid 138 Euro/$200 for a 1-room for 2 nights. In the new section, I would consider this a good deal. In the old section, despite the "upgrade" we were awarded, you couldn't pay me to stay there again. It is not worth my $100/night much less the $400-plus that they charge the average person per night. This hotel has potential and some good staff but what counts is the whole picture. That picture isn't that great right now. Maybe when the renovation is complete and with a "no smoking" rule, I would visit again. The brown-haired receptionist needs to have a sit-down talk with her boss since she obviously doesn't want to be there.

Remember that the Renovated section is good and the Old section is very bad. Unless you want to save $ on you own cigarettes then you can just get your fix by sitting in your room located the old section.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dolomites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    148
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
38
207
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Hotel staff were GREAT! We booked a two person room, they were able to make it a 3 person room when we showed up. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

The veiw from our room was AMAZING (a view of Prague Castle).

If you don't like/can't handle stairs this is not the hotel for you. We didn't mind the stairs (4 flights to the top floor), but can understand how they are tough for some.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericaninEngland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

What a disappointment, after a lot of research, we arrived at the hotel U Pava. The outside seemed really romantic and pretty, but once inside, we started to feel slightly unhappy. The receptionist was not very friendly and we made our way up to our rooms up the long staircase, which we were aware of beforehand, but was quite a climb with suitcases in tow. Our rooms smelt very strongly of smoke,even though they were advertised as non smoking rooms. The bathrooms had not been cleaned and were left in a most disgusting state. After complaining, the hotel staff said that if we went out for our evening meal they would clean the rooms. We returned after approx 3 hours, to find this had not been done. We spent a very unhappy night in the rooms and left the next morning, to the hotel Kampa. A little more corporate, but clean and very helpful staff. Shame on you U Pava.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff and dirty rooms and bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank joanvenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We arrived VERY early at U Pava (07:15 local) tired and in need of sleep. The staff didn't flinch, despite our booking being in my first name and not my last name which had us worried, they gave us our room immediately and didn't charge us a cent more.

The staff were very accomodating, polite and welcoming.

Our room (207 - on the first floor) was wonderful. It had two individual sets of four steps which would be tricky for anyone with a disability but posed no challenge to us. The ceiling was very ornate, the furnishings perfect. The TV was tiny and had only one English language channel, but if you're in Prague for the TV you're missing a world of culture and history on your doorstep.

A five minute walk from Malastranska metro station and tram stop. U Pava is on the lower side of Mala Strana and is easily walkable, as opposed to a number of hotels on the steep climb to the castle or within the castle walls.

U Pava is a stone's throw from the Kafka Museum, and a two minute walk from the foot of Charles Bridge.

The location is extremely quiet and has a triangular park outside the front door.

Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. Plenty of coffee and juices, pastries, cold meat and cheeses.

Hotel menu was a little expensive for our budget (480 Kr for lamb seems steep) so we didn't take advantage of their quaint dining room in the old wine cellar.

We were never bothered by cleaning staff (in fact, we never saw them).

This is a romantic hotel in a perfect Mala Strana location that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Authenticity - typically Czech
  • Disliked — Hotel menu prices
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank but7_villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed at the U Pava for 5 nights this last month. We booked it through Travelcook.com. We originally booked Hotel Certovka through them because they offered the 5th night free on the website. After booking we were told the 5th night was not free because it is the busy time of year. Well, I see they are still offering that 5th night free on the website. We decided to change our booking to the U Pava. We were told by Travelcook that they would give us a deluxe room. That didn't happen either. They also offered free airport transfer with our booking. We did get that although the driver showed up in an unmarked vehicle and wasn't too friendly. I will admit it was 5am so will give him the benefit of the doubt on that one and he did get us to the airport.

With all that said, we were happy with our room and our stay at the U Pava. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a small window looking towards the Castle. We did have an elevator to our room which not all rooms in this hotel have.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room was pleasant and the food good.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is only a couple of blocks from the bridge in one direction and the metro station in the other. There is a small park in front of the hotel on a nice square. There is also a large park inside a wall across the street from the hotel. It is very quiet in this area compared to the area just a few blocks away in either direction. There are plenty of restaurants just steps away. We did not try the restaurant at the U Pava so cannot comment on that.

If we were to return to Prague we would definately stay there again. I think I would book directly with them and be sure we knew exactly what room we were getting. I would probably request a room on the second floor with bigger windows and facing the castle. For us the elevator wouldn't be an issue except on the first and last day with luggage.

Hope this has been helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readyinredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#148 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#83 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#62 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Pava

Property: Hotel U Pava
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 106/32 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#149 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#179 Family Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): $157 - $1,412
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Pava 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Pava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Pava Hotel
u Pava Prague
Hotel U Pava Prague, Bohemia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing