We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Vysehrad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vysehrad
Ranked #412 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Hotel Vysehrad although not being close to the city has the distinct advantage of being in close to Vysehrad park where you can spend a few hours walking round ,the park has open air cafes,fantastic views over looking the city and the church of Peter and Paul built around 1885 and many well know nationals are buried there for example Dvorak.
The hotel is classed as four star but i would say it's more two star plus maybe three.
The hotel it's self is delightful and the staff i met are very friendly and helpful full marks there ,i stayed in a single for three nights i have to say any more than three nights i would have preferred m a double room .My bedroom was very small and the air con came on in the evening and was in the bathroom making a terrible noise so i shut the door,and i would then wake up feeling very hot so i did not get a good nights sleep on all three nights.
Breakfast was buffet style and very good .
Would i stay there again oh yes i would .
Reason why? firstly hotel was good just a few minor things like no tea making facilities in the bedroom and single room very small ,but then it was half as much as city hotel.
The metro five minutes walk away ,in a quite part of Prague,a few minutes from Vysehrad park and if you like walking only about twenty minutes or so into the city ,and the walk is very pleasant by the river but remember it's down hill going but up hill coming back
So to sum up if you want a decent hotel at a good price and prepared to be not in the city then i recommend Hotel Vysehrad.

  • Liked — Friendly staff,very clean,quite part of city
  • Disliked — Single room very small .air con came on at night and was noisy,no tea or coffee making facitities
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank severnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
31
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

This was one of the best!! Location was just outside Pragues centre but only by 2 stops on the very regular and reliable metro. The rooms were very clean and of a high standard, maybe a little noisy for some because of the road traffic, but for the price and the standard well worth it. The breakfast was good plenty to eat and a good variety for those that like a little of everything. We would definately use this place again. A group of 4, of us 2 couples, first couple under 40 2nd couple just under 70 and it was good for all of us. Just would suggest that if you arrange for the hotel to book the transfers from and to the hotel from the airport double check they have done it!! we arrived at Prague and they had forgot to book the taxi for us, so we did it ourselves when we got there. When coming back to the airport at the end of the holiday we arranged the taxi through the hotel and again it was never done, so we ended up ringing a taxi 3 hrs before we were supposed to leave. Other than that the staff were helpfull and friendly. Hope this is of use to any thinking of going to this beautiful city.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff, breakfast and rooms
  • Disliked — noisy from roads outside
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DavieboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Having never been to Prague before, I didn't really know what to expect as me and my partner are used to going on summer holidays in big hotels with lots to do and see, but I can honestly say, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel vysehrad more than we did going abroad.

We arrived by taxi from the airport at about 9:30pm (get a taxi, its 700Kc which is about £16 were as a transfer is about £20 each). Once we got to into the hotel we could feel the warmth as it was only about 2 deg outside.
We went to the reseption and was greated by a really nice girl who could not help enough. We went to our room and found that the hotel was really nice and the rooms were big with plenty of storage for clothes etc.
We went back down to reseption to find out were we could go and get some food, again the reseptionist could not help us enough and directed us to the underground, after getting lost we ended up going to a garage shop and buying a few snacks, we headed back to our room were we had a great nights sleep with no noise or any problems.

We got up in the morning for breakfast, which was nicely presented with lotsto choosefrom. Bacon, eggs, toast, fruit, juice, the list goes on. After filling our faces we headed out to exploor and stayed out all day. This hotel is fantastc, all the staff are great and cant help enough.

Prague is a woundefull place to visit and we will be returning very soon to the same hotel. One thing i will say about the hotel is that it is a little bit out of the way but we found that getting the underground, busses and trams are all extremely easy. The nearest underground stop is about 30sec round the corner and you can get this into the heart of prague in about 3-4 mins. Another note is that while you are there, buy a bus, train and tram ticket, they are about £4.50 and this last for 3 days. All you have to do is stamp it the first time you use it and then keep hold of it for the 3 days. We got asked to produce it once on the underground but with no trouble.

All I can really say is that the hotel is fantastic, I could not say a bad word about it. The other people that have commented about it may have had a bad experience but we didnt. I would recomend this hotel and give it 10 out of 10 easy. Try it yourself, you will not be dissapointed, i promiss...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hads1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2007

so bad in fact we cried when we got there and asked our travel agent to change our hotel but they refused. the hotel was small, poky and cold. the TV didnt work properly and the room was tiny our double bed was 2 single beds pushed together and we couldn't walk round them properly. we had to side step to walk about. the bathroom was horrid and red and the room was chintz galore and blue. it looked like a 1950s boarding house instead of a 4 star hotel which we had been promised. totally ruined our honeymoon and we were loved up but miserable there. never stay here.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — everything especially the horrid room
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank catlover167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel because my husband was attending a conference at the Congress Centre, 10 minutes walk away. Hotel was fine, furnished in older style, clean and reasonable size room, and good value for around 100 euros. Great breakfast and friendly staff, especially those who wished to practice their english. Evening meal was o.k, but not cheap and lonely as we were the only ones in the dining room. Short walk to metro, and quickly into town centre.
Best meal and great value at local restaurant, turn left out of hotel and walk straight down road on left (away from main road) to restaurant on corner. Also cheap haircuts in salon next to restaurant!

  • Liked — Close to Congress Centre
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rozmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#272 of 649 in Prague
142 reviews
Praha 4
Oya
Oya
#406 of 649 in Prague
49 reviews
Praha 4
Otar
Otar
#477 of 649 in Prague
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#213 of 649 in Prague
414 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 649 in Prague
440 reviews
Praha 4
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vysehrad

Property: Hotel Vysehrad
Address: Marie Cibulkove 405/29, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price range (per night): $75 - $134
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vysehrad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vysehrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vysehrad Hotel Prague
Hotel Vysehrad Prague, Bohemia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing