We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
344
390
140
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
390
140
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suits of armour medieval theme charles bridge live piano music kampa island old town quiet area mala strana petrin tower few minutes walk good size prague castle hotel is located every morning excellent location breakfast is served hotel is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Pros: Great location, decent sized rooms, working elevator, breakfast included.

Cons: Hardest bed ever, bad ventilation, no tea/coffee amenities in room, breakfast quality very average, polite but rigid staff.

Can't recommend against it, but can't recommend it either.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Arrived around midnight and to be honest was a little unnerved by it's plain exterior and large, closed wooden doors but as we approached the doors opened and we were greeted by the receptionist. The décor inside looked a little odd at first but once we had seen the rest of the hotel and got the Medieval theme it all made sense!!
Check in was very straight forward and the room was plenty large enough with TV (only watched CNN in the mornings, not sure what other channels were available - picture quality wasn't great but was watchable) large wardrobe (shelves, drawers and hangers), dressing table, fridge, safe, hair drier and huge double bed. The fridge was stocked with drinks (water, soft and alcoholic) and there was a selection of snacks, together with a price list. The ensuite was large and spotless (toilet, shower and sink) with shaving point and complimentary body wash, shower caps etc. There was a fan in the room which we had on all night together with open windows and that was adequate for us although some people may prefer air-con. Our room was at the front of the hotel and on the whole was very quiet. I could have done with a couple of extra, easily accessed plug sockets and tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice but we managed ok without.
Breakfast was in a huge banqueting style room with fantastic décor, wooden horses and suits of armour and breakfast consisted of everything from cereal, yogurt, bacon, eggs, fruit, toast, juice, pancakes, cake, fish and more and all of good quality. Just outside the breakfast room was a lovely terrace over looking a small river with working water wheel.
A bridge led from the terrace into Kampa park from where you could walk (5 minutes) to Charles Bridge however there are gates on the bridge which are only unlocked when the hotel bar is open so check what time it closes if you're planning on coming back late as you'll have to go to the main reception (which is manned 24 hours).
The hotel Wi-Fi is free and gave good coverage in our room, the breakfast room and on the terrace.
When I booked the hotel I was a little worried that it may be a bit too far out from the main spots but so long as you're relatively active it's a perfect location for peace and quite after a busy day and evening of jostling with the crowds everywhere else.
We were a party of 4 (late 40's early 50's) and it seemed that the rest of the guests were similarly aged or families with young children - no sign of any stag or hen parties!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BushyBants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Not easy to find by car due to one way system. Check in was efficient. Hotel decor was very 1980s/90s. Needs an upgrade. Room was functional but quite old fashioned furniture. Stains on the bedcover though! Bathroom had been upgraded. Step up - beware of stubbing toes.
Restaurant was cavernous - only used for breakfast which was buffet - fresh pancakes but no egg station. Quite a lot of choice otherwise. However, hot options had been sat around for a while as so few people were at breakfast the day I was ther.
For dinner when I asked for options outside of the hotel, the reception staff recommended local pub (name - mouse something or other??) just 2 minutes down the road - great of them to recommend as it was excellent value food with a good atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank BexterDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Since the reception, the hotel is very peculiar. The room we stayed in was simple, but spacious and confortable with a nice view to Kampa Park and the river. The breakfast hall is spectacular and full of many nice way for starting another day. Staff is helpful. And the location of the hotel is perfect: a small walk to Carlo Bridge, but out of the crazy crowd for ending the day quietly. Truly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rosazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

The hotel is in an excellent location - on a quiet street but within very short walking distance of the 'small town' and the Charles Bridge etc. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants near by. The hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. (I left my phone in the room and they posted it to me the same day and made sure it was carefully packaged!) Everyone spoke perfect English.

The breakfasts were excellent with a fantastic range of food that would suit everyone from the healthiest to the heartiest eaters! The dining room is very quirky - full of armour and swords!

The room was small but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and the shower was very good. The rooms were quiet and you could open the windows for ventilation. The only thing that stopped me giving the hotel an excellent was the fact that the rooms needed a bit of updating. But there again we didn't come to Prague to hang around the hotel room.

Overall I thought this was a good value hotel and we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thescrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews