We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grand(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bellevue(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 126
Hotel Bellevue
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Penzion Delanta(Cesky Krumlov)(Great Value!)
USD 57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ruze(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 260
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

U Maleho Vitka(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 107
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Svambersky dum Hotel(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Old Inn(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 140
USD 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zlaty Andel(Cesky Krumlov)
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pension Faber(Cesky Krumlov)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
14
8
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
8
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location of the Alchymy is exactly what most guests coming to Cesky Krumlov want to have...in the old town, by the river with castle views. It was exactly what I was after. Being located in a heritage protected area has some downsides which you should be familiar with though. Firstly no cars are allowed in, so if you have big suitcases you will need to phone ahead to get assistance from staff. We needed to carry ours across the bridge from parking lot P1 which may be an issue for those with mobility problems. I am not sure of any way around that though and the effort is worth it.
We stayed in the attic room which was large and had a great view of the castle from the window. It had all the facilities we needed and the wifi was good. Breakfast was in the cafe and was quite good without setting the world alight. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: The large attic room has a great view of the castle.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel, as the name suggests, is right on the river. It is in an old building so don't expect a lift, so bear that in mind if you have large bags or stairs are a problem for you. The room (room 10, atic) was big and spacious, and seemed to have been updated recently. The bathroom was big, with a seperate toilet. The room was cleaned daily, contradictory to what others say here, so maybe they have sorted that issue.

However, the service is non existant. We only saw one lady the whole time, who after taking our details, simply pointed up the stairs and said 'room 10'. I had to ask which floor it was on!
There was no tea or coffee in the room.

The breakfast is terrible. Breakfast is between 8 an 10, but at 0850 there was no tea available, only green tea. The hot option was pre cooked scrambled egg and tinned sausage in a bain marie, that I can only assume had been there since before 0800, so don't come at 1000. The coffee was sitting in a jug, again since 0800, and the bread was stale. Only cereal was cheap nasty corn flakes or chocolate flavoured crap. I have had better breakfasts in a youth hostel.

In summary, nice rooms with no service, and crap breakfast. Would recommend looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Attic room is big and spacious, lots of stairs though.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First trip to CK back in April 2013, so this review is a little dated. Wife and I weren't quite sure what to expect in CK, but decided that it was worth the effort to get there. Booked a driver through CK Shuttle (excellent service) from Linz train station to CK. Booked Hotel Alchemy Riverside after reading reviews here.
CK Shuttle office is right next to Hotel Alchemy, so it's easy to get there.
Emailed the Hotel in advance and the staff was very helpful in answering my questions in a timely manner. Thank you Adelpa.
We loved Hotel Alchemy and CK...should have stayed all week!
Alchemy Riverside is an old building, but the interior has been renovated and modernized.
We stayed on the top floor, river/castle view. There are no elevators, so if you travel with big luggage (not recommended) or have difficulty climbing multiple flights of stairs, the hike to the 3rd floor may be a challenge. We stayed in April, not many tourists, and the hotel was very quiet.
If you are arriving late, you may need to make prior arrangements with them since I don't think the office is staffed late in the evening. It is a small property, but they are very helpful.
Location is great and just across the bridge, off the main street, and across from the castle. CK is a small town, so it's easy to walk everywhere from Hotel Alchemy.
Some day we will return to CK, and Hotel Alchemy is definitely at the top of our list for places to stay. Thanks again to Adelpa who took the time to write down a local recipe for us on our departure.

Room Tip: Top floor, riverside has the best view, however, you will have a 3 floor hike up the stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in room 6 overlooking the river and castle. Huge room with separate loo and bathroom...old furnishings but clean. We were shocked to discover our room hadn't been cleaned at all on our return one afternoon but it was quickly dealt with when someone appeared at the front desk. The desk is not manned much but they give you a 24hr number to call if there are problems. Breakfast very basic but quite adequate for us. Worth noting that they give a 10% discount for cash when you book online which is worthwhile as we thought it was pretty expensive by Czech standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

broken toilet seat, empty soap dispensers, no maid service during stay, worst breakfast ever-anywhere, no staff on site after 7:30, no where to sit outside your room as cafe and terrace locked up and gated at 7:30. dirty floors in rooms. no elevator. dilapidated stairs. no air conditioning. windows didn't open. NO WAY it gets 4*, maybe 2.

Room Tip: stay away.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigshine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews