We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location for children and adults a like”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Merton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Location for children and adults a like”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in The Parlour one of four cottages on this lovely farm. The cottage was spotlessly clean and comfortably slept eight. It had a well equipped kitchen and comfortable living room. There was a little welcome gift in the form of scones, jam and clotted cream which was a lovely touch. The location was suitably rural for complete quite and relaxation but is situated just of the A386 making it very easy to access different locations in both Devon and just across the county boarders into Cornwall. We had three young children with us (two seven year olds and a four year old) they were able to play freely and safely in the farm gardens, watch sheep being moved, were introduced to the sheep dog, played tennis on the tennis courts, enjoyed the games room and indoor swimming pool. This meant that the children were well catered for when we were not out visiting some of the fabulous castles, houses and parks that this part of Devon/Cornwall provides. Another benefit was that the farm had a small, if somewhat rocky, path directly on to the Tarka Trail which is great for walkers.
We had a lovely holiday and would definitely book here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: wifi access was very weak - not great as one of our part needed to be in touch with work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieahe...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Speccott Barton for a week in August and had a great time. We are a family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children aged between 7 and 14. The cottage was exactly as described and as a welcome there was a basket of scones, jam and clotted cream along with tea bags, coffee and sugar :-)

The cottage was perfect for our family with enough space for everyone. The children loved being able to pop out of the back door and go to the games room where they spent all their time when they weren't in the pool. And they all made some great friends.

I was aware of the extra cost for electricity however this was only small and we spent less than £10 for the week and that was using the dishwasher everyday more than once. The wifi is poor which wasn't a problem for us as it was good to get the kids away from their tablets/phones (there is a hut where the wifi is ok)

Yes there are some areas that could do with updating however it was a great location, the cottage was great and we had a great week away and a lovely stay.

I would definitely recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space in the cottage and facilities on site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibears
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time at specott and can well recommend a stay at this lovely working farm. The swimming pool was a real bonus on cloudy days. The family that run this little set of cottages were friendly, welcoming and very approachable to answer any querie. In terms of locality there was plenty to do and can well recommend Exeter zoo. Had a brilliant stay. The only negative but not a big deal was wifi connection was poor. Nice break for us adults but our teenager was devastated by this ........ But it did them good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Liked least: Wifi connection
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M
Monkleigh, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utterly outstanding accommodation and owners!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

If you are after a country retreat you cannot go wrong with this place. The cottage was stunning, immaculately clean and like a real home from home with fab facilities. The area is outstanding in beauty with amazing walks and family places to visit.
The owners could not be more accommodating, friendly and helpful...... highly recommend and we will certainly be booking up again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage, facilities, area and hosts
Liked least: nothing we dissliked
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NezSydney
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable but a few things need to be said”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was the most expensive we stayed in during our weeks in the Uk, over $1000 for three nights so we were expecting a lot. However, the grounds need attention, lawns need mowing and gardens need attention. There is a lot of rubbish lying around in the sheds and if children are taken here they need to be watched. We were charged an extra twenty five pounds for heating but the heating was not turned on (would like a refund of this amount please). There was no welcome pack at all (every other house we stayed in had left food for us!), not even tea bags or coffee. We had been there for a few hours when the lights, tv etc. went out. Thinking there had been a power outage we went to see the owner only to be told we had to put one pound in the meter! A bit much when we had paid so much for the rental. After that the electricity went off every twelve hours or so even though we were out for eight to ten hours sightseeing! Not only this but firewood was charged at one pound per basket, one load of washing was one pound and forty minutes in the dryer was another pound!! Also had to pay to play some of the games in the games room. Not good enough when the rental of this cottage was high to start with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pip the little dog!
Liked least: Having to pay for the extras
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing