We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful and peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Local Pub, The Blue Lion, East Witton
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Childrens recreation area nearby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Spennithorne, Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful and peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I returned to this wonderful little cottage for a relaxing getaway, once again it didn't disappoint.
This cottage is based in a wonderful location, in the rural countryside but just minutes away from the small town of Leyburn, where you can buy any supplies you need. We enjoyed dinner at the pub down the road (3 minutes walk) and discovered some wonderful walks.
Once again I have to say the cottage catered for exactly what we wanted, a well equipped kitchen, cozy sitting room and very comfortable beds after long days of walking. I highly recommend this lovely cottage especially if you're looking for a base to go walking in the Dales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just as lovely the second time around”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time I booked this cottage. As before the owner was very helpful, and the cottage was lovely; peaceful, cosy and very well equipped - especially the kitchen. Lots of good walks, pubs and restaurants within very easy reach. Recommend shopping in Campbells of Leyburn, the Coverbridge Inn, and the Saffron Curry house in Leyburn. All excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
649jan123
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small well equipped comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here, the cottage is quite small but comfortably furnished. The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked a few family meals here without any problem. Great location for visiting the Dales. Please note there is no wifi which would have been appreciated, particularly as we have a 15 year old son! Only thing to mention is parking, if you have a large car don't try to park outside the cottage. The neighbours don't allow you to turn in their space and it's too tight to turn.

We had a great week here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: No wifi. Parking.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a FANTASTIC Cottage”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Where do I start?! This was a beautiful cottage in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales. The location is perfect for a break, as it is in a quiet location with lots in the area to do, including great walks, pubs, local attractions and beautiful scenery. The cottage is perfectly furnished, and sleeps four comfortably. I have already recommended to friends and family and am planning my next visit to this fantastic cottage. Highly, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roamingfr...
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, parking slight problem”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Small 2 bedroom cottage, with kitchen diner and small lounge with stairs at back of lounge. Small bathroom with shower over corner bath.Well equipped kitchen but if intend cooking/baking which require weighing scales take your own. Nicely positioned just outside Leyburn and for ie Wensleydale, Swaledale and Coverdale (recommended). There are bees nesting in eaves above twin bedroom window, but did not cause any problem.
Main problem was parking as in a courtyard in front of the cottages, very cramped, with narrow entrance and next door No 2 also holiday let, and occupants were in large 4x4 so parking was awkward. For ease getting away in morning parked on main road outside church, as next door were late out in morning and back early in evening

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing