We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply incredible ”
Review of Hartford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mooi River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartford House
Ranked #2 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Hartford is simply amazing. The hotel and food are world class. If you looking for an incredible dinning experience, you must visit Hartford, the tasting menu is out of this world. The staff are fantastic and attentive to your every need. The world class stud farm is stunning and the property is steeped in history. The whole experience was phenomenal. We will definitely be back asap.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Kai & Kirsty

I must apologize for the delayed reply to your review. How wonderful to read your kind words, its so encouraging for us as a little team to know that our patrons appreciate our efforts, but also it tells us that we are going in the right direction, whilst we still a work in progress, this truly means a great deal to everyone. Thank you for affording us the priveldge of serving you and we so hope to see you in the near future.

As always warmest regards
Duncan & the Hartford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

What an amazing get away. The staff is amazing. The location itself is amazing. Long walks. Fishing. No need to go anywhere. What we really appreciated was that you don't feel as if the place is crowded. They serve a 5 course meal with a wine tasting in the evening. We opted out and just chose our 3 courses from the available menu. Food is amazing and well worth stay in for a dinner. There is absolutely nothing I can fault. Can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zelna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Zelna

Thank you so much for writing to us, we are thrilled and i cant tell you how much it means to this little Team. Its these kind words that truly inspire us and reassure us that we are on the right track, but we still have so much to learn.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

What an incredible place and words can never be able to describe how absolutely perfect in every single shape and form Hartford house is. The food is on another level and have yet to taste any restaurant in the whole of Durban that can even come close to Hartford. The rooms every single one of them are special in their own way! Have been to Hartford many many times and every time is as special as the next! Duncan you truly make every stay at Hartford a memorable one and can't wait to visit my 2nd home again soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 299shaynas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Shayna

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We are thrilled that you loved your visit to Hartford yet again. This little team is very much still a work in progress and with your support and kind words, we know that we are definitely on the right track.

We look forward to your next visit soon again.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay. The breakfast is all home made and very nice. Spa treatment is great and do not forget the food from the chef!! There is no shower in the hotel room in the Hartford house itself, there is a bath.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank de-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Hartford Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit to the hotel. It means so much that you share your experience with us so that we may continue to improve.

My apologies regarding the lack of a shower in the room, we 15 rooms of which three have a bath only facility, I do hope that next time you stay with us we can ensure you have one of the others which have both bath and shower.

I do hope the rest of your stay was memorable and again thank you for sharing with us.

Warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Hartford House near Mooiriver in the KZN Midlands is an extraordinary luxury boutique hotel/lodge. Located in a world class stud farm you are surrounded by rolling hills and fields with beautiful horses. It feels more like a private house rather than a hotel and guests are treated as though they are private guests. It is very intimate. The food in their restaurant where they serve an ever changing fine dining menu is exceptional.

Room Tip: If Wifi is important to you it would be better to stay in the Main House where there is wifi connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SamanthaLinsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Samantha

Thank you so much for your very kind words on Hartford. The little team are thrilled to have read this review. Whilst we are very much still a work in progress, this certainly affirms to us that we are certainly on the right track.

We do hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
14.3 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
228 reviews
27.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
14.6 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor
#3 of 8 in Mooi River
231 reviews
10 km away
Sycamore Avenue Treehouse Lodge
26.7 km away
Silver Hill Lodge
Silver Hill Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mooi River
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford House

Address: Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River 3300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range: $139 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peering through one teakwood door at Hartford House, you face an historic world. Opening another, the distant sounds of an ancient people at work lilt across the silent landscape, a country of great space, spectacular mountains and big skies. This place commands a headland between the world of traditional cultures and the splendid style of the 1800s. It is the resolution of all South African safaris. The journey’s exclamation point, a retreat from the hubbub where you make sense of a fast life and its senseless details. This is where we learn to redress ourselves on a first name basis. There are too many luxury hotels these days offering the same: a chocolate on the pillow, canned romance, and cuisine called “haut” because it’s spelled in French. Hartford stands apart for its integrity; its architecture and its views, its sounds, its scents and its colours; its racehorses and its people are all exhilarating surprises, unique to this Zululand, this culture, to Africa. Yes, you come here to be pampered, but at Hartford luxury is the journey, not the destination. The truth is, Hartford just happened. A home, and a grand one at that, which grew into a hotel. A community looks to it as its watering hole, its nexus of entertainment, its fountain of gossip. In so many ways, it’s gained and regained inspiration from the cultures it celebrates. It is life’s exception, a place at the same time comfortable beyond dreams, yet innocent of pretence. Moulded by its people, their vibrancy and their enterprise. And driven by a wish to be remembered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing