We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
227
48
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
48
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stud farm wine pairing lakeside suite the main house course dinner south africa world class attention to detail head chef breakfast menu beautiful horses copper bath the main reason private pool fabulous food dressing area beautiful setting
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

What an amazing get away. The staff is amazing. The location itself is amazing. Long walks. Fishing. No need to go anywhere. What we really appreciated was that you don't feel as if the place is crowded. They serve a 5 course meal with a wine tasting in the evening. We opted out and just chose our 3 courses from the available menu. Food is amazing and well worth stay in for a dinner. There is absolutely nothing I can fault. Can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zelna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Zelna

Thank you so much for writing to us, we are thrilled and i cant tell you how much it means to this little Team. Its these kind words that truly inspire us and reassure us that we are on the right track, but we still have so much to learn.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

What an incredible place and words can never be able to describe how absolutely perfect in every single shape and form Hartford house is. The food is on another level and have yet to taste any restaurant in the whole of Durban that can even come close to Hartford. The rooms every single one of them are special in their own way! Have been to Hartford many many times and every time is as special as the next! Duncan you truly make every stay at Hartford a memorable one and can't wait to visit my 2nd home again soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 299shaynas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Shayna

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We are thrilled that you loved your visit to Hartford yet again. This little team is very much still a work in progress and with your support and kind words, we know that we are definitely on the right track.

We look forward to your next visit soon again.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay. The breakfast is all home made and very nice. Spa treatment is great and do not forget the food from the chef!! There is no shower in the hotel room in the Hartford house itself, there is a bath.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank de-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Hartford Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit to the hotel. It means so much that you share your experience with us so that we may continue to improve.

My apologies regarding the lack of a shower in the room, we 15 rooms of which three have a bath only facility, I do hope that next time you stay with us we can ensure you have one of the others which have both bath and shower.

I do hope the rest of your stay was memorable and again thank you for sharing with us.

Warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Hartford House near Mooiriver in the KZN Midlands is an extraordinary luxury boutique hotel/lodge. Located in a world class stud farm you are surrounded by rolling hills and fields with beautiful horses. It feels more like a private house rather than a hotel and guests are treated as though they are private guests. It is very intimate. The food in their restaurant where they serve an ever changing fine dining menu is exceptional.

Room Tip: If Wifi is important to you it would be better to stay in the Main House where there is wifi connectivity
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SamanthaLinsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Samantha

Thank you so much for your very kind words on Hartford. The little team are thrilled to have read this review. Whilst we are very much still a work in progress, this certainly affirms to us that we are certainly on the right track.

We do hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We were only registered for one night but had such a wonderful time, we decided to change out flight, and our next night's accommodations to stay another night.

We couldn't have been happier. The place is absolutely beautiful (even in winter) and the staff and meals were far beyond anything we'd anticipated.

We will be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank motherto4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Tanya

What a lovely review of your recent stay at Hartford. We are truly;y thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, it means so much to this little team knowing that they made an impression on you whilst here.

We hope to welcome you back home again soon.

As always warmest regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews