We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant stay at Rose Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard. View across patio towards the lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard.
View across patio towards the lake.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom Two.
Bedroom Two.
The Kitchen/Dining/Utility Room.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The second toilet.
Hazelhurst Farm looking through the entrance gates.
The landscape setting of Hazelhurst Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul W
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay at Rose Cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great time at Rose Cottage this September. My sister booked the cottage as a surprise for a family event and we were thrilled by not only the gesture but the cottage itself.

Christine and Roger were incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The Cottage itself is beautifully presented, clean inside and out and surrounded by stunning views.

If you choose to stay here then your trip will be further enhanced by the added charm of the resident animals who are friendly and sociable.

We would highly recommend Rose Cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage is extremely beautiful, set in the owners grounds and little lake. It is very clean and well furnished. Our arrival was very welcoming. Roger (the owner) had left a bottle of wine, chocolates, some fairy cakes,milk and bread. The kitchen had a few cleaning essentials. We were three couples and since a room in bed and breakfast area was free he allowed us to use the third bedroom. The place is well above expectations. I would certainly come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon o
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Luxury in Derbyshire”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow - where to start? The Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm is such a wonderful place to stay it is difficult to know whether I mention the warm, welcoming hosts Christine & Roger first, or the great location, the view, the accommodation or the facilities...
Let's start with the hosts as the personal attention you get when staying in a Vacation Rental is of vital importance - Roger & Christine are wonderful people and truly love having guests at their place. We were made to feel welcome from the first moment we stepped onto the grounds. A welcome cake and bottle of wine greeted us at arrival and they were both there throughout the stay up to a warm send off as we continued our travels.
Location - can't be beat!!! Settled mid-way between Derby and Ashbourne it is ideal if you want to pop into town for the day or spend it in the glorious Derbyshire Peak District. The property is attached to the main farm house and as such is positioned on open space - the back yard/graden is vast and has plenty of room for kids to run or adults to walk but also offers a spectacular view to just sit in the evening with a chilled glass of wine.
Accommodation/Facilities - can only be described as the epitome of luxury...Christine has done a wonderful job selecting the finishings and touches around the cottage making any stay there a great experience. With two bathrooms and two bedrooms plus a sitting room & kitchen/dining room the cottage makes a great place to stay whether for leisure or business.
We have traveled to many places and stayed in vacation homes and hotels around the world and can easily state that the Rose Cottage is at the top of the list !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - especially the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave so soon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexysimmo...
Stockton-On-Tees
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We (a group of 5) booked Rose Cottage @ Hazelhurst Farm to celebrate our friends 21st Birthday. We were delighted to approach a beautiful, well kept property in the leafy area of Ashbourne. Greeted by the friendly and very accommodating owners Roger and Christine who made us all feel very welcome from the outset. We were all most impressed with the cottage that was superbly decorated, immaculately clean with all the modern conveniences we could wish for. We collected some essentials en route but in fact Christine had already provided tea, coffee, milk, bread and orange juice (all from m&s!) The owners had even kindly provided a birthday cake and bottle of prosecco for us to enjoy! We enjoyed our first evening eating pizza and drinking wine on the patio, laughing and chatting as the sun set over the stunning lake and beautiful grounds! We all enjoyed a very good nights sleep in luxury bedding and fluffy towels. The following day we set off for Alton Towers, which took just over 30 minutes and was easy to find. Christine kindly offered to book us dinner at a local eatery but we enjoyed another lovely evening in the cottage with food that we bought from a relatively local sainsburys (approximately 10 minutes by car). We had 3 more guests join us on the Saturday and we were all more than comfortable having 3 double bedrooms and 2 lounges (one with a sofa bed). On Sunday morning we enjoyed a leisurely stroll around the relaxing surroundings, sitting by the lake watching the carp jump and seeing some beautiful resident horses. We all had a bounce on the large sunken trampoline which was a good laugh! Christine and Roger were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble and there was a perfect balance between friendly interaction and being left to do our own thing. The only thing that I would suggest to make this place even better is a hot tub! Everything considered, we were all very impressed and had a wonderful time, thank you to Roger and Christine for an amazing weekend, I would highly recommend Rose Cottage and I would certainly return. Many thanks from, Rebecca, Hannah, Melissa, Adam, Lynsey, Rob, Vicky and Sam xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALDurham
Durham
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Rose cottage, we didn't want to come home! The luxury cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished throughout,whilst feeling homely. The gardens are beautiful, it was lovely having the freedom to wander around the grounds with no other guests there. We walked down to the pond several times a day to feed the ducks,then onto see the horses. We had the pleasure of meeting Basil the little dog, our little girls new best friend! Christine & Roger were the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing