We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcolm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
laurajtyl...
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday home”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We're just back from a 4 night break at High Clachan Farmhouse and we all had a great time. The house is perfect for two families, plenty of beds and toilets! We particularly enjoyed the communal kitchen/dining space, perfect for us with four young kids. We took a walk down to the main estate and had a wee play on the swing-set and zip slide. It's a wee bit far for the really young ones (age 2) but great for the 5 year-olds. The weather wasn't brilliant but we managed a day trip to Cream O'Galloway (an hours drive) and we went swimming in Stranraer. The owners were incredibly helpful and always on hand. We did have a minor issue with the feather duvets (turns out our son is allergic) but we now know to organise another duvet next time and the house was so toasty that he slept with just a sheet! We would all recommend High Clachan if you want a relaxing break in the countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We're so pleased both families had a relaxing long weekend in the country. I do hope we'll be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and we'll make sure we sort out synthetic duvets and pillows for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ant T
1 review
“Highly Recommended!!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Whether you are a couple looking for a quiet week away, as we were, or having a family reunion, High Clachan farmhouse would be ideal – there is loads of space! All rooms are large! Entrance is into a large utility room with ample space for boots and coats. The kitchen is large, well equipped and open plan into a large dining area. There is also a large conservatory which could equally be used for meals (or putting the kids in while the adults eat together!!!). The lounge is comfortable with large sofas and a good TV, Freesat and a DVD player. We only had access to one bedroom but it was large and the en-suite was (have you guessed?) large with a comfortable bath and powerful shower.

To the front there is a garden table ideal for dining outdoors with a large, flat lawn which is, again, ideal for kids. There is parking for a number of cars.

We found the house clean and well equipped with maps, games, kitchen equipment, etc. and the walks and areas of interest on the peninsula were wide-ranging.

Angus and Kate took excellent but unintrusive care of us and the whole holiday was extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
We're so pleased you had a lovely week at High Clachan in September and enjoyed all the space both inside and out. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and I do hope we'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always said I'd never go back to a place, but just smitten with this house, the whole estate, and the area.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Whilst High Clachan is my favourite, we have stayed at Garden Cottage and my daughter has just been to Stables Cottage this year, before joining us at High Clachan for a second week. All the cottages are impeccable, facilities for children are great, plus Kate & Angus make you feel so at home. The red squirrels are a delight (mostly at Stables & Garden cottages), hares, rabbits, deer, weasels (no brush on the tail). Beaches to die for, woodlands to make you think you're in The Shire. Great eating, from small cafes, to high end restaurants. It feels like everyone is happy to see you, even in Morrisons. Everything is reasonable. from the Cocoa Bean, Cream of Galloway, to the advice from the fishing shop in Stranraer (free!). A weekday trip to Belfast is £10 return, with a day bus pass thrown in!! Parking at Cairnryan is £5 for the day. I really shouldn't be writing this at all, it should be kept a secret, so don't tell anyone. Promise?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
We're so pleased you all had another wonderful week at High Clachan - it was lovely to welcome you back again and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review with lots of tips for future guests - it's such a help. We're going to take our children to Belfast in the summer hols with the £10 deal - it's a great day out. Thank you so much for coming back to us year after year - it's great to have the support of such wonderful people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you're looking for an amazing family holiday where you can just relax and enjoy nature this is it! Amazing hosts and amazing manor house gardens. Plenty for kids and amazing for dogs! Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
We're so pleased you all had a wonderful week at High Clachan and enjoyed the house and gardens to the max. Many thanks indeed for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write us a review. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High praise without hyperbole.”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

An idyllic escape: just relax and retreat from the world, though the wifi is speedy and freeview is at your fingertips. The countryside around is beautiful as viewed from every window. The house is tastefully appointed, pet friendly and equipped perfectly. Around are lovely places to explore which are listed in the guidebook. Owners are warm, friendly and helpful. My only regret was we could not stay longer. Still, we will return...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for choosing High Clachan Farmhouse and for your very kind words - we're so pleased you had a lovely stay and we do hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing