We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect honeymoon!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Dos Rios...at the beach!  and, in the rain forest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Dos Rios...at the beach!  and, in the rain forest.
Be prepared for an amazing vacation at Casa Dos Rios! Front lawn and beach beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Casa Dos Rios...at the beach!  and, in the rain forest.
Be prepared for an amazing vacation at Casa Dos Rios!
Front lawn and beach beyond
Enjoy a hammock nap!
Large, open-air living space
The living area.  We have more identical furniture for larger groups.
Living room and shutters showing.
Shiny wood interior, with a tree house feel!
The lay-out can be seen here, with the two upstairs bedrooms visible
The kitchen with its solar refrigerator...a view from the sink to the sea!
A bathroom detail.
Shower has a view of an almond tree outdoors, where macaws congregate.
Enjoy watching monkeys eat mangos...right off the balcony!
House seen through the mango tree.
The yoga deck above the manager house
Toucans love our papayas and are often seen here.
The point at Cabo Matapalo is three miles from Casa Dos Rios and is the end of the Peninsula de Osa.
The Bar-Restaurant just down the beach path from Casa Dos Rios, Buena Esparenza, is a great asset!
The Falls on the Carbonera River are a close walk from Casa Dos Rios
People taking a hike on the Carbonera River to the falls there.
Fishing is sometimes a productive pass-time in front of Casa Dos Rios
Cabo Matapalo is known for great surfing.  This shot was taken three beaches South of Casa Dos Rios.
The front yard, viewed from the kitchen, is great for croquet
A guest is surfing our sea kayak.  Guests use it for free!
A spider monkey enjoys our mango tree right outside the upper house.
Horseback riding is offered in the area
A pink sunrise in front of Casa Dos Rios
A golden sunrise
A magical sunrise at Casa Dos Rios
Capuchins eating our mangos!
Macaws are growing in numbers, seen on our property!
Howler monkeys captured by Laura Wilkerson, photographer, in our gardens!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cabo Matapalo, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rossSavan...
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon!!!!!!”
Reviewed 20 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

“Honeymoon with monkeys!”
Dec 16, 2012 rossSavannahGa
Of all the 5 trips to CR this was by far the best! If it wasn't for Kim and Mell I wouldn't wright this review, I wouldn't want anyone else to know about this gem in the jungle! But the owners are the kindest and most helpful people we have ever met, so here I go.
First off this is in the osa, if you aren't familiar with this then your gunna need to be prepared. You will have animals and bugs in the house. This is more like a luxury tree house. You will also have monkeys, toucans, and scarlet macaws in the tree by the shower in the morning! If you have the money rent a 4x4 and drive it from puerto jimenez. There are many rivers you have to ford, there aren't bridges down there so you will get used to it and it was one of our funest parts of the trip. If you don't there is a collective taxi that runs twice a day for a couple bucks. Make sure you bring more food, beer, and ice than you think you need. You will be eating and drinking more than you think. There is a good bar within walking distance but it is expensive. One week was not long enough, we felt like we were just getting comfortable when we left on the seventh day. Don't bring to much, your gunna be in your bathing suit the hole time any way. Bring more sunscreen and bug repellent than you think you need. Go sailing with Kim and Mell! This was the highlight of our honeymoon! It was so much fun, and if your lucky you might see some whales, dolphins, or a double rainbow!
The owners.
If you are a fun social group, than you will want to hang out with Kim and Mell. They are a lot of fun and very helpful. We wouldn't have driven to carate if it wasn't for there "if you don't go, you won't know" attitude! And just getting to carate was a great adventure. Make sure you have enough time to do nothing for a couple days, if your lucky you mite see Kim's wicked ping pong skills! All in all the house and the new friends made our honeymoon perfect!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WI
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2012
Dear Black Family, We thank you for your great review of our home and environment. The guides will be so happy that you mentioned them. Andy Pruter and Rodolfo Gutierrez have been consistently great choices for our guests. We look with joy toward the day your family returns here and we can enjoy having you be our guests once again. You were so easy and appreciative, it was a pleasure! Melanie and Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2012
Thanks Glenn, we enjoyed the play on words, "Don't go Here!" and we have enjoyed your visits, your friends, and Ann, who has been a great help to me with my knee challenges.
We think that our home was built with people like you in mind. You go for the gusto, the adventures, and you really appreciate this magical nature. Right now I am writing from the yoga deck, watching a trio of bright yellow butterflies flitting around the guava tree. The sound of the waves and the smell of Ilang Ilang make me think that we are doing something good by offering people to this vacation house and amazing environment.
Now six pairs of macaws are flying over and the show goes on! Kim often says, "We live in a Zoo!"
Thanks so much for your kind words. We'll be happy to host you and Ann again and again! Warm regards, Melanie and Kim Norman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing